No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Umi Hotel Brighton Seafront

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
64 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 1NA
Brighton Centre and Lanes shopping area is virtually next door so the hotel so we are ideally situated for business and leisure travellers. Just 15 minutes walk from Brighton’s main railway station with its regular service to London Victoria taking just 60 minutes. The famous Royal Pavilion is a 5-minute walk and The Sea Life Centre is just 500 metres away.

Our rooms are decorated in a fresh contemporary style, each have a flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, FREE Wi-Fi and FREE access to The Lanes leisure club and pool. Most rooms also offer an in room safe and trouser press.

Room service is available and nearly half of our rooms have breath-taking sea views where you can watch the world go by.

We are proud to offer Coffee Republic on site which offers full-strength espresso's to keep you awake during your long day of sightseeing to luscious lattes to linger over, there’s also a great variety of food to choose from too.

Theatrical décor sets the scene for your evening at the Little Bay Brighton, the restaurant’s first branch outside London. Beautifully framing the stunning sea views with decadent drapes, the restaurant has a fabulous atmosphere which is more than matched by its eclectic menu and great service with live Opera 7 days a week.

Discount parking is available at the Russell Road NCP Car Park, located 4 minute walk from the hotel. Guests pay £15 per 24 hour period making this the cheapest place to park in the city.
Picture of Umi Hotel Brighton Seafront, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here 1 Saturday night in November, in a 3-single-bedded room. This turned out to be on the back of the building, room 321. It was extremely cold - they don't turn the radiators on until 7pm!! The duvets weren't very thick and the requested blankets had apparently all been given to other guests.
The room also had single glazed sash windows - we noticed afterwards the front and side of the hotel all have double glazing - so as well as the cold, these let in the overnight noise, which included a lot of loud shouting and banging etc. There is a night-club behind the hotel. Whether this was the source of the noise, or whether from the street, we were too tired to investigate, but it kept us all awake.
In the morning, I noticed the radiators were still cold at 6.15. They did come on later, but were cooling again when we left the hotel, about 9.30.
We would say the staff tried to help, and at one point they offered an electric heater. By that time the radiators were on so we didn't take up the offer.
Watch out for the parking in the NCP. They charge £24 for 24 hours and the UMI gives a discount ticket which reduces this to £12. However, if you stay there a minute over the 24 hours, you get charged for another 24 hours!! If you are only staying a couple more hours it would be cheaper to move your car to the Car Park round the corner, which charges by the hour at cheaper rates to the NCP.

Reviewed by
Sue B

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazin stay at the Umi Hotel
Beautiful hotel, helpful, kind, staff, great location, parking close by with a discount. We had a stunning room with an outstanding panoramic view of brighton pier and the georgous sunset.definalty recommend this brilliant hotel. Lovely resturant attached which is really quirky, again amazing staff, really happy and friendly with delicious food. We will be back next years thank you for a great stay.

Reviewed by
Donna Warburton

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
I was in room 312 it was very noisy n extremely hot we did not sleep well at all.

Reviewed by
S Niven

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have very good experience with UMI before. However, this time I was staying in one of the smaller room at first floor, outside my window was some sort of boiler or machinery, which nake the room vibrates all the time.

Reviewed by
k ling

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bang on the seafront; bang on the money
From friendly greeting to 'fond farewell' we basked in the hospitality offered by the front desk staff. The room overlooked the sea and was very spacious. The bed afforded us a very good night's sleep. The presence of a Little Bay restaurant in the hotel was a major bonus. We loved the food, the service and the entertainment we got there, especially being serenaded by a soprano singing Italian opera while we savoured three excellent courses accompanied by a lovely chianti (of course!).

Reviewed by
Chris I

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three nights in a box room
I have no complaint about the staff, they were great or the food also great. My Comaplaint is that we had room 116. There were 2 of us but reallt the room size cried out single. There were no drawers a tiny wardrobe and no views from a window. I did wonder as we booked through LateRooms.com and got the room cheaper whether the full paying public got the bigger rooms.

Reviewed by
ANTHONY LEONE

From TAVERHAM, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service but beware of noise!
I've rated this highly for cleanliness, good service and good rooms. Do be aware, however, that Brighton is full of nightclubs - even the pubs turn into nightclubs - and sleeping here can be an issue if you're looking for an early night, especially at the weekend.
I stayed (for a second time) here on a Monday night which should have been fine. Unfortunately, it coincided with freshers night which grew in volume as the night progressed. The hotel moved me immediately to another room - it wasn't soundproof but it was much quieter. So I was really impressed that they did that.
Make sure you know what to expect and you will have a lovely time here.

Reviewed by
N Brown

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good valve option in Brighton
Clean spacious rooms, good service, excellent location, quirky adjouning restaurant. Parking concession with nearby NCP.

Reviewed by
adam n

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient accommodation
The hotel was chosen because (a) it was close to my conference venue and (b) it proved to be value for money.

Reviewed by
John Story

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The man on reception was very short with us, almost seemed a bit rude but after a few seconds he turned it around and was very funny and even offered us an upgrade to a sea view room (I had requested this when I booked, but its the thought that counts...I guess).
The room was a little disapointing compared to the photos online, and the walls in the bathroom were mouldy.
And we only had one towel.

Reviewed by
Bianca S

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next