No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Umi Hotel Brighton Seafront

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
64 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 1NA
Brighton Centre and Lanes shopping area is virtually next door so the hotel so we are ideally situated for business and leisure travellers. Just 15 minutes walk from Brighton’s main railway station with its regular service to London Victoria taking just 60 minutes. The famous Royal Pavilion is a 5-minute walk and The Sea Life Centre is just 500 metres away.

Our rooms are decorated in a fresh contemporary style, each have a flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, FREE Wi-Fi and FREE access to The Lanes leisure club and pool. Most rooms also offer an in room safe and trouser press.

Room service is available and nearly half of our rooms have breath-taking sea views where you can watch the world go by.

We are proud to offer Coffee Republic on site which offers full-strength espresso's to keep you awake during your long day of sightseeing to luscious lattes to linger over, there’s also a great variety of food to choose from too.

Theatrical décor sets the scene for your evening at the Little Bay Brighton, the restaurant’s first branch outside London. Beautifully framing the stunning sea views with decadent drapes, the restaurant has a fabulous atmosphere which is more than matched by its eclectic menu and great service with live Opera 7 days a week.

Discount parking is available at the Russell Road NCP Car Park, located 4 minute walk from the hotel. Guests pay £15 per 24 hour period making this the cheapest place to park in the city.
Picture of Umi Hotel Brighton Seafront, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 179 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of the room not as shown in the hotel's picture gallery
Stayed on B&B basis. Although the room had a sea view, you clearly pay a premium for this fact alone.
Room decor was in need of some TLC, stains on carpets, cracks in the ceiling etc. Hotel has recently updated and decorated some of their rooms but you have to request these when booking according to their website. Bedding was crisp and visible areas were nice and clean but I dropped something under freestanding cupboard and it clearly hadn't been cleaned underneath for some time. Bathroom was a hygienic standard, but the bath was tiny and the water when showering went from cold to scalding and back again. Food was adequate for a buffet breakfast, but steer clear of the cheap and nasty sausages!
Thought this was an expensive hotel for what it was and though I may have been unlucky as had very noisy drunk guests shouting in the corridors in early hours the two nights I stayed, it's location on the seafront means loud drunk groups shouting outside the hotel too after rolling out of the local clubs.
Umi's saving grace was it's staff who on reception were very welcoming, pleasant, cheerful and helpful. Housekeeping staff were busy but friendly as were the staff at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location
We had a very enjoyable stay here, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable, the hotel is right on the seafront and near the Lanes, and guests have the advantage of being able to use the Health Club at the nearby Queen's Hotel

Reviewed by
Elizabeth N

From Cranbrook, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Umi
We found that while the initial checking in was a bit slow, the staff were very friendly. We had a double room on 5th Floor overlooking the sea. The standard of the room was very good and comfortable. We were both very happy with our stay, so much so we got up late and decided to miss breakfast.

Reviewed by
Gerry M

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Issues promptly dealt with
Some issues with accommodation that were quickly dealt with. Staff happy to change our room as strong winds causing high pitched whistling during the night. First room close to nightclub. Second room very good with sea views but noisy other guests caused some disturbance. Breakfast was buffet style but okay.

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, pleasant room
Nice decorated clean room with good sized bed and bathroom inc. bath. Very good value for money, would definately stay again!

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning
The room was beautiful with a stunning view of the sea, staff we're welcoming and the food and resteraunt was lovely! Diddnt want to return home after being there for our 2 day stay. So close to shops and cinema and not far from the peir and other resteraunts. I would deffinatley recommend this hotel and if saying in Brighton again I would stay at the UMI Brighton.

Reviewed by
Katie-Louise Ball

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views but
A very average hotel. Room clean, good bed and good temperature. Shower a bit on the small side and cheap toiletries. The corridors needed a good hoover and walls a bit thin. Woke up Friday morning to the sound of our neighbour throwing up.
Hot drinks were just tea or coffee and when I asked they had no other tea varieties . There was a great coffee republic off the lobby though.
Breakfast was served in a tacky restaurant next door- again no choice of teas but found green tea for me when I asked. Unfriendly server first morning but great guy the second day. But on the scond day the coffee and eggs were lukewarm. Probably worth what we paid but would not pay full price. Best thing was the fantastic location.

Reviewed by
Pat K

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very happy
Well happy with hotel and room was nice and clean staff very helpfull . would rebook and rebook again

Reviewed by
shelley h

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Post-Christmas stay
I hadn't set out to book anything special, and just wanted a good deal. So I was pleasantly surprised by my spacious, freshly decorated room. There was a stunning side view of the sea front and a comfortable bed. We were on the fourth floor but inevitably heard noise from outside - I don't think you can avoid that on the sea front. However, there was no noise from our fellow guests. I would stay here again and it was great value for money.

Reviewed by
Katie M

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, good clean accomodation
Great place! Staff are friendly, helpful. Rooms are bright and have everything you need for a comfortable stay.
I enjoyed my breakfast immensely, good choice and variety!
I would stay there again!

Reviewed by
John S

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next