Reviews - Umi Hotel Brighton Seafront


64 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 1NA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (105)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Matthias F

  • November 2014

Excellent place with seaside view!

Got an upgrade from double to quintuple, great room, great view, great staff, thanks.

Also used the spa facility nearby which had an excellent quality.


  • October 2014

Nice Hotel Right Near The Sea

Very Nice Hotel right on the seafront near all the nightlife (but not noisy in the room) with lovely big bedrooms, decent free internet and comfortable beds.

I have stayed in many Brighton Hotel and this is one of the better ones with a lovely breakfast and dinner room. Could not fault this hotel and would recommend it to anyone, as with all Brighton hotels it is far more expensive on a Saturday.

  • Debbie Davies

  • October 2014

One night stay

We were on the 5th floor with a view of the old pier - pretty impressive.

Nice clean room, comfy beds with all facilities expected. Warm welcome from staff on arrival. Breakfast was pretty average, buffet style with shell in the scrambled egg. Breakfast room was a bit strange. Mad hatters tea party came to mind with elaborate fringe around the table.

My biggest issue was out of the hotel's control. We found out later that on the same corner as our room was the largest nightclub in Brighton. I Was kept awake until 4am, double glazing didn't help.

Previous comments alluded to stag and hen parties staying. I should have known.

  • Kathryn S

  • October 2014

Triple room

Our first night was in one of the triple rooms at the back of the hotel.

We got very little sleep because of noise from the street behind the hotel. We phoned reception at 1am to complain (on our mobile phone because the phone in the room didn't work) and were given rooms at the front with a sea view for the second night. We later learned that there are earplugs at reception but we were not offered these at 1am. The room was single glazed- we were told the front rooms have single glazing because it is a listed building but this doesn't appy to the back. Even more concerning was that we noticed that the door to the fire exit next to room 221 at the back was padlocked. If there had been a fire we would have been unlikely to escape since the alternative was a labyrinth of corridors or doors.

  • A Fanner

  • October 2014

Umi Brighton

On arrival on a very wet day being told "we have a room upgrade for you" and getting a sea front room with a vast king sized bed was very pleasant.

The gym and sauna were excellent as well, the only let down being that the bar, although with friendly service, was ill stocked and imposed a reality TV show. The restaurant was a welcome haven!

  • Jessica M

  • October 2014

Great staff

Kind, helpful, considerate staff.

Gave me a room upgrade for free and directions to my interview. The room was a bit damp but I would imagine this would be similar for any building of this period and it was really reasonable for the price I paid. The shower was good, good water pressure and warm. Car park close by, expensive but again this is the same anywhere you stay in brighton and the hotel offers a discount with this. Good selection of fresh food at breakfast, plenty of choice.

  • jane batson

  • October 2014

great stay with our older children!

we stayed because the location was so near to the Brighton Centre where we saw Caro Emerold.

The receptionists were very helpful, we had 3 rooms booked and all of them exceeded our expectations. I'd like to say a extra thankyou to Steph who was very helpful and friendly We will return Many Thanks.

  • Joanna P

  • October 2014

Very good

A little dated but charming.

  • Mark J

  • October 2014

Late Rooms Bargain

The full price for this room would have been over priced.

Breakfast venue had an interesting decor reminding me of a lap dancing club. Good stay, great service and discounted parking.

  • Victoria I

  • September 2014

Great value for money, friendly and helpful staff.

For the price paid, it was a decent room.

The bed was very comfy and clean. Room was quite warm but the window opened and there was a fan in the ceiling. Good sized shower and bath with plenty of hot water. My room didn't have a sea view, but I don't really think that matters so much. I mean, the seafront is two minutes outside the door, I valued being able to fall asleep in peace and quiet instead. Wifi worked fine, and there was tea and coffee in the room which was nice. All the staff at reception were lovely and could help with anything. I recommend visiting the creperie just round the corner left outside the door - fantastic interior and amazing food!