Reviews - Umi Hotel Brighton Seafront


64 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 1NA

Price From 110.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (127)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Tracey L

  • May 2015

Tiny room but central

My room was tiny (the size of the single bed with about 2 foot round the sides), which for the £107 I paid seemed hugely overpriced...

however it was spotlessly clean and they put me on the top floor so it was quiet. I didn't need to spend any time in the room at all, apart from sleeping so it was fine.

  • Timothy B

  • April 2015

Great location, good price, shame about the shower

  • Isabelle H

  • April 2015


Our stay here was very disappointing.

The bathroom was dated with cracked tiles. The receptionist was kind enough to upgrade us from a sea side view room to a front sea view room upon arrival, however her kindness was the only redeeming point of our stay. The lighting in the room was awful. The rooms are overpriced and did not look or feel (carpet) as if they had been cleaned properly. The TV was tiny and the remote control was grotty. Breakfast was a further disappointment with overcooked grey looking meat and lukewarm yogurt. I will not be returning and I certainly won't be recommending this place to a friend. In hindsight I wish I had spent a little more than the £88 for a midweek double room with breakfast and had paid £20-40 more to stay somewhere satisfactory rather than a place I found unclean and therefore unfit to stay in.

  • Joss C

  • April 2015

Just what I wanted

Wanted a weekend away with the missus.

The room was lovely, huge, quiet and had a view of the seafront as promised. The location was pretty much perfect for us. The staff were really helpful, and able to provide every single service we asked for. Would definitely recommend

  • emma d

  • April 2015

Not impressed

Washbasin was chipped

Hairdryer was very ancient

Breakfast was worst I've had in a long time

  • Eleanor Kane

  • April 2015

Very good hotel for the price

I guess this is a budget hotel, but it's one of those ones that leaves you feeling seriously impressed by the high standard.

The location is excellent (right on the seafront in the centre of Brighton) which is not a cheap place to stay; the hotel staff are terrific, the room was really good, though small, and in the middle (so the window looked out onto a service area). But hey - we were only there to sleep and eat breakfast, and have a shower - there's a great en suite bathroom and the shower was pretty powerful. We could have had baths, too. You get a discount on the NCP Car Park, and can have access to the sauna, swimming & gym at the nearby Queens Hotel (we didn't use it but we will next time if the weather's not great). Also, the restaurant is extremely quirky and we loved having breakfast there - might go there for dinner too next time. The bed was very comfortable. They could do with some good pillows though (please get the John Lewis ones, I love them!).

  • James J

  • April 2015

Umi Brighton Review

Hotel was great.

Room was big and clean, only downside was the noise of people outside but this isn't the fault of the hotel or its staff.

  • L King

  • April 2015

Room very small, view of side of building.

Lovely clean bathroom with huge shower. Stayed for one night so perfect for brief mid week visit as only slept there. Take ear plugs - the seagulls are noisy throughout the night. The breakfast was buffet style-not freshly cooked-next time I'll pay a bit more and go out.

  • L Sprigg

  • March 2015


I was very disappointed with the quality of the room.

There was wall paper falling down, a huge chip in the bath and everything looked a little shabby

The bedding was lovely, and the bed comfortable

  • a edwards

  • March 2015

seen better seen worse

the hotel staff were friendly and helpful the room was ok ive stayed in better and ive stayed in worse