No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Imperial Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
First Avenue , Brighton & Hove, BN3 2GU
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove, mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. It’s ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with it’s uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns.

This functional, exceptionally good value Hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its
still, calm ambience. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions.

Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £7.00 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business!
Available FREE WIFI.

Picture of Imperial Hotel, Brighton & Hove at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 235 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
I really liked this hotel. It was no nonsense but the room was large, clean, warm and comfortable. The only negative was the creakiness of the floorboards, but it didn't really detract from the positives. I was expecting the worst, given some of the reviews on here. Yet, in light of its affordability, I do think that the Imperial ticks enough boxes to make an overnight stay a pleasant enough experience.
It is an old house, and perhaps I overlooked certain 'flaws' (such as the curtains not quite drawing close) as I liked the charm of a character property. Yet, the one modern facility that they've wisely invested in is the excellent (FREE!) wifi available throughout.
Will definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Namrita B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful aroma smells
On arriving in the area we were a little put off with the surroundings, not the ideal place for a boutique Hotel. The hotel is situated bang in the middle of a Chicken fast food establishment and an Acrylic Nail shop, the hotel also looked like a shop front and easily missed.
We honestly had to disburse all those thoughts once we entered the premises. It was very deceiving and we were pleasantly surprised. The aroma smells coming from the spa was wonderful, the décor very beautiful, the staff extremely friendly. We couldn’t check in until 3pm having arrived at noon but it didn’t matter they locked our luggage away and we headed to the westend, a short journey on the 176 buses.
We arrived back at 2:30 and they allowed us to enter our room. Here we were a little disappointed again, very small room, but guess that’s how you get away with the term boutique. The room needed a lick of paint; no mattress cover on bed and sheet ill fitted and wouldn’t say on mattress. Shower very powerful but tiny and sliding doors not fitted correctly. Having said all that for £100 including a very good breakfast we would return.

Reviewed by
L Platt

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic Day/Night Out Stay
We went there for a romantic day/night out, had a room with a view to a sea and really enjoyed the stay. Thanks!

Reviewed by
V Vysniauskas

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Imperial Hotel, Hove
The accommodation was comfortable enough, but the rate charged was for room only. To be fair the Duty Manager was quite obliging and helpful.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Barnes

From Brandon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel
Was staying during the hurricane we had in october visiting my friend , the hotel is warm all through , the single room was very big with two rooms really but needs painting iam a decorator and you just need to paint the woodwork to make a difference but room ok, breakfast was fine ,and bar area was warm and clean , i got a good deal so cant complain its a nice hotel needs some work to it but its an old hotel so got to expect that so if you want a reasonable hotel this is fine.

Reviewed by
R Petch

From Enfield, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Imperial Experiance
Not sure if the photos on the web site are from the imperial. If they are they were not of our rooms.

Reviewed by
Steven H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel Situated absolutely ideal for requirements, close to the beach but very quiet not like staying near the pier in Brighton, which we did last time and got no sleep with the drunks and party goers.
All the staff were nice and helpful, would recommend it highly
Also there is a great Malay Bistro more or less opposite, try it Fantastic too

Reviewed by
Alan R

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dont stay here
The room was filthy and damp..enough said

Reviewed by
A Baker

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for the money
Stayed saturday night in single room. Room was clean and tidy as was the shower room . Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. A fifteen minute walk or £5 taxi ride from the main shopping area so quieter neighbourhood. Couldn't ask any more for the price. Stayed here before, not posh but reliable accomodation.

Reviewed by
john l

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Imperial Hotel
The Imperial is tired and is crying out for investment in new carpets, doors, paint etc. Both the room door and bathroom door had had the bottom 3 inches sawed off by someone who didn't own a level. That said, our room was a decent size and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was in trays over burners, so the food was either dried out or (once the burner went out) cold. Location is good, just off the seafront and really close to Western Rd where you can get a bus into town if you don't want the 20-25 minute walk.

Reviewed by
J Lane

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next