No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Imperial Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
First Avenue , Brighton & Hove, BN3 2GU
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove, mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. It’s ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with it’s uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns.

This functional, exceptionally good value Hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its
still, calm ambience. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions.

Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £7.00 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business!
Available FREE WIFI.

Picture of Imperial Hotel, Brighton & Hove at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 226 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location cheap and clean

Reviewed by
w flanagan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing.
I stayed at this hotel when running the Brighton marathon. To be honest, I only booked it because it was the only central hotel with any vacancies, and I can see why. The bed was clean and comfortable enough, but the state of repair of the room was terrible. My friends had a room near the lift and were woken every time someone went to or fro. Despite being full of marathon runners keen to get their breakfast, the hotel started breakfast late, and in a somewhat sleepy manner; it was like they had no idea what we were all doing there. The reception staff gave some very unhelpful (and wrong) advice about local taxis - luckily I saw through it and made my own arrangements - others were left stranded.
This is not a hotel that I will be visiting again.

Reviewed by
Andrea J

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

See below
I wanted to have a rest for a couple of days just to get away, and when I checked in the receptionist was so nice and gave me a very large room and i had only requested a single room! The guests that were staying in the opposite room were in and out of they room half the night banging they door! I politely asked them to not do that and they apologised! Since during the night they continued to do so, and I am not in the habit of complaining! Having a night with broken sleep I just wanted to get out of they! the receptionist offered me a complimently english breakfast and I ate a little bit, having a terrible headache I just left and I would not go back and why should have to waste my time and engery speaking to a Night Porter complaining when nothing would have been done anyway! I wanted to stay for a further night, and I did ask for the Receptionist to get a Manager to contact me and nobody has bothered! NO I WOULD NOT STAY THEY AGAIN, THE BATHEROOM WAS FREEZING COLD AND ALSO THE ROOM, AND I HAD TO ASK FOR A HEATER AND THAT DID NOT WORK!

Reviewed by
L Weston

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lighting
The hotel was great and staff very accommodating, however the level of lighting in the room was very poor and really needed a main ceiling light.
The breaks on the bed were also not great and I did fall down the middle a couple of times!

Reviewed by
E Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

deceiving
pix & write up are deceiving. Our double was v dated (80's) with peeling wallpaper and paint flaked off the windows, v worn carpets etc Made it feel unclean, which it wasn't. I would doubt v much that the discount from £170 to £43 was genuine, that wasn't even great value. but lovely staff

Reviewed by
Kirsty M

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disgusting hotel
Is this the worst hotel in Britain? I hope it is because I cant think of anything good to say about the place. I fled home at 3am in the morning rather than get in their bed and sleep there. Horrible room, service, everything. Especially bad as I am disbled and they seem to 'go out of their way' to make everything even more difficult for me physically than 2 bags on crutches up shiny steps in the rain - all by myself.

Reviewed by
s harrison

From East Molesey, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single traveller staying at Imperial Hotel night before Half Marathon
I booked a single room with ensuite. The rooms are dated, carpets have faded around furniture/sunlight, wallpapers had been torn. My room was literally 2 foot from the main stairwell on the 1st floor, noise throughout the night, light from beneath the door, and a constant drone from the radiator by the bed. It was not a great stay. The lady on reception was very polite. Parking charge was £12 for 24hrs, and only 4 car park spaces. Sorry, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
J Seath

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

consistent good value
I've stayed here several times and each time it's been a similar experience. Quiet, clean, good facilities - competent service.
Not high on the list of things I care about but for completeness, I don't bother with the hotel breakfast, it passes the ordinary and acceptable test but there are many cafes in the area that serve better coffee.

Reviewed by
Gerry G

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was cold all the time, I asked for extra heating and was told it was not cold. They disregarded me. There were only net curtains in the bathroom which faced onto the street. Overall a dismal stay. I will not visit again.

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was lovely and clean large bathroom everything you needed .reception staff were excellent

Reviewed by
pamela holmes

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next