No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
48 Bond End, Knaresborough , Harrogate, HG5 9AL
Best Western Dower House dates back to the 15th century, and is set in 1 acre of gardens in the traditional market town of Knaresborough in the heart of Yorkshire.

This 29 bedroom hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome to business and leisure guests alike. The newly appointed Storm Restaurant offers an excellent range of dishes and wines, served in comfortable and relaxed surroundings and is one of the finest restaurants in the area. Imagine Health & Spa has a number of facilities that are free to our guests including, indoor pool and whirlpool herb sauna crystal steam room and full gymnasium, we also offer a wide range of spa treatments at an additional cost.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yorkshire experience
I would have scored more highly but the TV remote was missing and although we asked for a replacement, it never arrived.

Reviewed by
D Longden

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel with friendly service!!
Really pleased with my stay here. Good food, excellent service, room satisfactory. I didn't get a chance to use the gym/spa this time around. Will definitely consider staying here again.

Reviewed by
NICK C

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best
My wife & I stayed in room 18 for two nights, the room was well below my expectation given that we were charged £243.00 for room only accommodation, not only was the wallpaper peeling off the wall, there was mould on the ceilings, the blinds were broken allowing light through at crack of dawn, the bottom of the bath was badly marked, the towel rail in the bathroom was broken & kept dropping off the wall, a sofa in the room had had a cover thrown over to hide the mass of stains all over it & most importantly the bed was worn out the springs were none existent & my wife had to use the spare duvet to lie on to gain any kind of comfort, & all this for £243.00 not good I'm sure you would agree. On the Friday evening we ate in the hotels restaurant the food was well below standard & the lamb main course was left mostly untouched, when asked by the waiter why we had not eaten it we told him it was not very nice to which he responded that he had sold 8 portions previously & no-one else had complained!! On retiring I tried to take a shower, this was more of a trickle than a shower & the water was only warm. We booked breakfast at a cost of £12.00 per person & this was satisfactory not great but not as bad as the evening meal. We will be regular visitors to the area but will give the hotel a wide berth unless major improvements are made.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr & Mrs Nuttall, Thank you for taking the time to discuss your experience further with me this week, I do hope that I have restored your faith in the Dower House and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kindest of Regards, Nick Kilmartin, General Manager

Reviewed by
M NUTTALL

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional Hotel in lovely Knaresborough
Nice hotel with spa facilities by a busy road if you are unlucky to be staying at the front of the hotel.
The spa if a little small was good with the treatments provided being excellent and good value. Good breakfast but very little choice with a set menu evening meal and a little pricey for the portion sizes.
We had a number of problems with our room all of which were rectified by the friendly and helpful staff.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent feedback through Laterooms.com, and thank you for your kind comments as a whole, I do apologise for any issues that you had with your room, and I am delighted that the staff dealt with them accordingly. Kindest of Regards, Nick Kilmartin, General Manager

Reviewed by
A Wood

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of refurbishment
The hotel is in need of a refurb, the bathroom had been renovated but the room was very tired and old fashioned.

ManagementResponse

Hello and thank you for your feedback. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment plan in all areas, with this in mind I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Dower House in the near future. Kindest of Regards, Nick Kilmartin, General Manager

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Possible Wedding Venue
We were looking at venue for our wedding in the area. But were very disappointed with the location to start with, the room we were allocated could only be described as claustrophobic and had to pay for an upgrade. I must say though that the staff were friendly and especially the night porter was really helpful and informative

ManagementResponse

Dear Mark E, Many thanks for your recent feedback through late rooms.com regarding the Dower House Hotel & Spa in Knaresborough, may I take this opportunity to apologise to you regarding your recent visit to the Hotel, and that the room was not to your expectations, we have recently refurbished 50% of our bedrooms and are currently working on the remainder, this week all carpets are being taken up and being replaced as with ongoing refurbishment and the restaurant has just received new furniture this week and now looks stunning. I would be delighted if you gave us the chance to host your wedding here and discuss in greater details what we can offer, with this in mind if you could kindly call me to hopefully discuss your requirements further, once again my sincerest of apologies. Nick Kilmartin, General Manager.

Reviewed by
Mark E

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New year 2013/2014
After a quiet Christmas, on Boxing day!!, we decided to book a hotel for a few days over the New Year. We used a LateRooms.com booking site, and found Best Western Dower House Hotel and Spa in Knaresborough. Knowing the town and area as we regularly visit Yorkshire we took a chance and booked for 4 nights. What a welcome we had by Ken the manager and his reception staff. He even contacted us before our visit to see if we wanted to have a table for the Gala New Year dinner. They were friendly from the start. The hotel also has a spa attached which we used including Spa treatments. Initially we had reservations re the dinner as we felt it was quite pricey, but after eating in the restaurant the first evening we took the plunge and reserved a table for New Year!
What a night! The attention to detail was brilliant, welcome drinks canapes, a super meal followed on by a disco. We danced to the small wee hours. What FUN!!
The hotel staff were clearly very well trained and lead from the front by Ken, they were professional at all times but friendly too. We would have no hesitation booking in the future! Well done Dower House and Happy new year to you all!!

Reviewed by
F Nottage

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended!
A very last minute booking but what a find! Just lovely - all I wanted and more. The spa is small but perfectly formed with all the things you need to unwind. The staff were brilliant, on hand when needed, helpful and polite. Room luxurious and very comfortable. Well done Dower House Team!

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty window
The front staff were great but the overall room I was given was not to my standard and when the sliding sash window wouldn't shut this kept me up all night it was all a very cold room.

Reviewed by
M SMITH

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay
I arrived with a colleague quite late but we managed to get an excellent meal in the restaurant. We each had a comfortable double room although they will need refurbishing soon. Free wifi is available but is not very reliable unless you ask for a "box" from reception. Breakfast was also excellent.

Reviewed by
C Fish

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next