No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
48 Bond End, Knaresborough , Harrogate, HG5 9AL
Best Western Dower House dates back to the 15th century, and is set in 1 acre of gardens in the traditional market town of Knaresborough in the heart of Yorkshire.

This 29 bedroom hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome to business and leisure guests alike. The newly appointed Storm Restaurant offers an excellent range of dishes and wines, served in comfortable and relaxed surroundings and is one of the finest restaurants in the area. Imagine Health & Spa has a number of facilities that are free to our guests including, indoor pool and whirlpool herb sauna crystal steam room and full gymnasium, we also offer a wide range of spa treatments at an additional cost.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight business trip
Booked this a few days earlier. Wanted a gym and spa for a good price as my company were paying- this hotel was a few minutes from where I was working, easy to find, clean and friendly. The gym was small but had some good equipment, I didn't use the spa in the end.
I had room service and the food was excellent, the service was quick and efficient.
Excellent value and will definitely book again

Reviewed by
A Willis

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value, warm and friendly staff

Reviewed by
marguerita d

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stand.
Although i was only there for one night i can honestly say it was a very pleasurable experience, and would have no fears about booking a room again. Only small complaint was there was no salt and pepper on the breakfast table and had to ask for them. Seriously though, an excellent little hotel.

Reviewed by
E Fleming

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in the country
Nice, friendly and clean hotel that will meet most travellers expectations. The hotel is idealy located in the heart of the village with great views of the countryside.

Reviewed by
Carl W

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday away
on arrival hotel looked the real country house hotel a good start for me. reception staff very helpful had someone take my bag to my room another plus for me room was very clean and furnished in a modern theme .enjoyed a rather nice dinner in the restaurant a modern and imaginative menu to choose from a first rate meal breakfast the following morning was another good meal overall a very good stay will hopefully book a xmas stay thank you very much

Reviewed by
Colin Oman

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Country Hideaway
Situated in a small rural village the hotel is quite large and offers much more than you might expect.
There is a large relaxation area with pool, jaccuizi, sauna and gym - all kept in good order.
The breakfast was very good.
The room was clean and confortable but there is a problem with noise, especially at night - creaky floors, loud plumbing and thin adjoining walls spoils this otherwise good hotel. To be fair, this may only apply to certain rooms.There needs to be some maintenance and upgrading done in this respect.

Reviewed by
M Bond

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly
The hotel was well situated for us, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was adequate and clean, slight problem with hot water but this matter was resolved by the staff, quickly and without fuss and to our satisfaction. The dining area is a little dated but the breakfast was very nice and the staff were attentive and well mannered. I would stay here again for transit purposes.

Reviewed by
Sam A

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'll keep going back here
"nd time I've stayed here. Great value, lovely town too and the Spa great. I'd stay here even for a lovely weekend

Reviewed by
Justin T

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
I would definitely stay here again. It was nice to get into the sauna and steam room after a long journey. Good setting - Knaresborough is quite a pretty town. Food is OK, Breakfast was good, evening meal was OK. Had a Cheese Souffle starter that was cold in the middle but tasted good.

Reviewed by
J Towns

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2