No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Dower House & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
48 Bond End, Harrogate, HG5 9AL
Dower House Hotel - dating back to the 15th century - is set in 1 acre of gardens in the traditional market town of Knaresborough in the heart of Yorkshire - This 31 bedroom hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome to business and leisure guests alike - The AA Rosette awarded Restaurant 48 offers an excellent range of dishes and wines served in comfortable and relaxed surroundings and is one of the finest restaurants in the area - The Corniche Health Club has an indoor pool and whirlpool - sauna - steam room and full gymnasium and offers guests the perfect place to relax after a busy day at work - walking in the Dales or wandering around Harrogate and the antique shops of York - Together with our lounge and bar - both with crackling fires in the winter - and our garden and terrace in the summer - the Best Western Dower House is the ideal base for your trip to the Harrogate area - It is ideally located for access - being just 3 miles from the A1-M1 motorway and half an hour from Leeds Bradford airport - the major seaport of Hull is just 1 hour away - and the town of Harrogate is just next door - The hotel also offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 70 people -
Picture of BEST WESTERN Dower House & Spa, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended!
A very last minute booking but what a find! Just lovely - all I wanted and more. The spa is small but perfectly formed with all the things you need to unwind. The staff were brilliant, on hand when needed, helpful and polite. Room luxurious and very comfortable. Well done Dower House Team!

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty window
The front staff were great but the overall room I was given was not to my standard and when the sliding sash window wouldn't shut this kept me up all night it was all a very cold room.

Reviewed by
M SMITH

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable stay
I arrived with a colleague quite late but we managed to get an excellent meal in the restaurant. We each had a comfortable double room although they will need refurbishing soon. Free wifi is available but is not very reliable unless you ask for a "box" from reception. Breakfast was also excellent.

Reviewed by
C Fish

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight business trip
Booked this a few days earlier. Wanted a gym and spa for a good price as my company were paying- this hotel was a few minutes from where I was working, easy to find, clean and friendly. The gym was small but had some good equipment, I didn't use the spa in the end.
I had room service and the food was excellent, the service was quick and efficient.
Excellent value and will definitely book again

Reviewed by
A Willis

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value, warm and friendly staff

Reviewed by
marguerita d

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stand.
Although i was only there for one night i can honestly say it was a very pleasurable experience, and would have no fears about booking a room again. Only small complaint was there was no salt and pepper on the breakfast table and had to ask for them. Seriously though, an excellent little hotel.

Reviewed by
E Fleming

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in the country
Nice, friendly and clean hotel that will meet most travellers expectations. The hotel is idealy located in the heart of the village with great views of the countryside.

Reviewed by
Carl W

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday away
on arrival hotel looked the real country house hotel a good start for me. reception staff very helpful had someone take my bag to my room another plus for me room was very clean and furnished in a modern theme .enjoyed a rather nice dinner in the restaurant a modern and imaginative menu to choose from a first rate meal breakfast the following morning was another good meal overall a very good stay will hopefully book a xmas stay thank you very much

Reviewed by
Colin Oman

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Country Hideaway
Situated in a small rural village the hotel is quite large and offers much more than you might expect.
There is a large relaxation area with pool, jaccuizi, sauna and gym - all kept in good order.
The breakfast was very good.
The room was clean and confortable but there is a problem with noise, especially at night - creaky floors, loud plumbing and thin adjoining walls spoils this otherwise good hotel. To be fair, this may only apply to certain rooms.There needs to be some maintenance and upgrading done in this respect.

Reviewed by
M Bond

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly
The hotel was well situated for us, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was adequate and clean, slight problem with hot water but this matter was resolved by the staff, quickly and without fuss and to our satisfaction. The dining area is a little dated but the breakfast was very nice and the staff were attentive and well mannered. I would stay here again for transit purposes.

Reviewed by
Sam A

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next