No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Horse

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
High Street , Rottingdean, BN2 7HR
The White Horse Hotel Rottingdean near Brighton is located in the East Sussex town of Rottingdean on the outskirts of Brighton. The White Horse hotel is ideal for visiting Brighton and Hove, Newhaven, Brighton University, Brighton racecourse. Dramatically located on the cliffs, the White Horse Hotel has spectacular views over the sea. It is located on the edge of the South Downs During the 18th and 19th centuries, Rottingdean was a smugglers' village - a time
recalled by Rudyard Kipling's "A Smuggler's Song": "If you wake at midnight, and hear horses' feet, Don't go drawing back the blind, or looking in the street... Five and twenty ponies, trotting through the dark - Brandy for the Parson, Baccy for the Clerk." Today the hotel is a favourite holiday location. A good base for exploring the South Coast and surrounding area only a few miles away from Saltdean, Peacehaven. The hotel also has function/conference facilities with disabled access
Picture of White Horse , Rottingdean at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Stayed on the 28th December. Very good value for money, polite and friendly staff and very relaxed. Yes the room was a little tired in decoration but good size, comfortable bed, great breakfast and most importantly we enjoyed our stay. It's being refurbished soon so should be really good when it's done. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Nick W

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest review of the White horse
Upon arrival a friendly welcome,room decor very tired but being refurbished in2015.extrmely large and comfortable super king bed.small balcony with sea view. Breakfast was excellent both in quantity and choice and most important of all , the staff that we came into contact with were great ambassadors for this hotel.

Reviewed by
P Martin

From Pevensey, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Sea View, Clean
Rooms are a touch dated.
However the room I had was spacious and clean.
The Sea View and balcony are a highlight.

Reviewed by
Nick B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Horse
Staff was very helpful room needs some paint.

Reviewed by
david hoskin

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff rooms will look better after the work next year

Reviewed by
d hoskin

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel Situated Beside the Sea in Wonderful Sussex
Hope to return to the White Horse in the New Year - Spring or Summer.
Will highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Susan Allan

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very freindly and helpful. Good food available.

Reviewed by
K Weeks

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff
Very spacious room and was very clean and tidy!

Reviewed by
K Cudmore

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My weekend
The staff were very pleasant.
The room was very comfortable (especially the bed!) - but it was stuffy and I made the mistake of opening the window........and as my little single room looked over the bus stop and a cross roads, it was terribly noisy.
I really would have liked a bar of soap to shower with rather than that inferior stuff you supplied, which had no perfume and by the time you got it anywhere near your body, the water had washed it off your hands.!
However, breakfast was great and no big gripes!

Reviewed by
Susie H

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel decor
Hotel decor a little tired - however the Kipling suite is very atmospheric and has good views. We enjoyed the ambience and the staff were very friendly

Reviewed by
David Rogers

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next