No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Horse

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
High Street , Rottingdean, BN2 7HR
The White Horse Hotel Rottingdean near Brighton is located in the East Sussex town of Rottingdean on the outskirts of Brighton. The White Horse hotel is ideal for visiting Brighton and Hove, Newhaven, Brighton University, Brighton racecourse. Dramatically located on the cliffs, the White Horse Hotel has spectacular views over the sea. It is located on the edge of the South Downs During the 18th and 19th centuries, Rottingdean was a smugglers' village - a time
recalled by Rudyard Kipling's "A Smuggler's Song": "If you wake at midnight, and hear horses' feet, Don't go drawing back the blind, or looking in the street... Five and twenty ponies, trotting through the dark - Brandy for the Parson, Baccy for the Clerk." Today the hotel is a favourite holiday location. A good base for exploring the South Coast and surrounding area only a few miles away from Saltdean, Peacehaven. The hotel also has function/conference facilities with disabled access
Picture of White Horse , Rottingdean at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay and so close to Brighton
Stayed in a deluxe room, with balcony and sea view. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was superb. Struggled to get wifi, which was very intermittent but other facilities in room were good. Hotel could do with a 'handyman' to fix sticky doors and toilet doors that had dodgy locks but the staff were all very friendly and made us very welcome.. Breakfast was very good, although drinks in the bar were a little expensive. Enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
The white horse hotel was the first place we have stopped at in the Brighton area for 20 yrs
The staff were friendly and helpful food was good but limited main meal choices, excellent breakfast,room was clean and comfortable and close to the sea front in all a very enjoyable stay
Tom Robinson Redditch ,worcestershiref

Reviewed by
THOMAS ROBINSON

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Staff and location
Really enjoyed the sea view room and location. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The decoration of the hotel generally was a little tired, but this was not a problem to us. The staff were attentive hard working and dedicated, Greene King should be proud of the people they employ here. Really enjoyed the meals we ate here including breakfast and the service was second to none. Will be back to stay as soon as possible.

Reviewed by
Keith Higinbotham

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sea view with balcony
Really nice room with balcony overlooking the sea. Nice staff, very helpful and good breakfast.
Really powerful shower. Only downside was the balcony door handle which had fallen off and proved very difficult to open.

Reviewed by
Mary S

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great room and friendly staff
We stayed for 2 nights and were instantly welcomed. Our room for 2 adults, a 5 yo and a 2yo was massive. It had a queen size bed with 2 singles for the kids, 2 x 2 seater sofa's, coffee type table and dressing table and chair and there was still enough room for the kids to play. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated throughout. I cannot fault it at all and would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
S Lee

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
The staff were really fantastic. Kevan and Audrey were lovely and all other staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were of a very high quality, with quick and attentive service. Our room was very large with amazing sea views. The hotel is right on the sea front and well placed for all the village amenities. The free parking and wifi were greatly appreciated.
Unfortunately, the hotel is in desperate need of a complete refurbishment. Our room was clean but the bathroom door handle was broken, and I was nearly locked in. There was plaster coming off in one corner, worryingly near a electric socket. The sofa and chairs in our room looked worn. The mattress was extremely soft and it my opinion really needed replacing. The public areas were also in desperate need of refurbishment as carpets were wearing thin, walls scuffed and a general feeling of "tireless".
It is good value for money if you can live with the general poor state of the decoration. The staff are clearly trying their best but I do think that Old English Inns need to refurbish this hotel as a matter of urgency. Would stay again but wary to do so until a refurbishment has taken place.

Reviewed by
Emma B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall
Excellent service

Reviewed by
john B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

classic old english hotel
near the sea, fantastic undercliff walk

Reviewed by
Viera J

From Slovakia
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and friendly
The staff were extremely friendly and supportive - they made sure you felt comfortable throughout the entire stay. Only negative point was the toilet did not have a lock but when staying on your own that doesn't bother anybody!

Reviewed by
A Page

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ill be popping in again
booked up to have a rest after taking my mother to Gatwick which always stresses me out . arrived at the Whitehorse a nice lady booked us in, took two minutes went straight to our room, everything lovely and clean bed and bathroom which is very important to me , added bonus a balcony over looking the sea and the village life. we did have lunch else where but we enjoyed a lovely dinner at the hotel which was catch of the day also I must say the staff where so hospitable and so smiley it was a joy to be there . I forgot to mention the breakfast , it was most enjoyable the sausages were very good as everything else , thankyou Whitehorse

Reviewed by
marina hall

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next