No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Horse

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
High Street , Rottingdean, BN2 7HR
The White Horse Hotel Rottingdean near Brighton is located in the East Sussex town of Rottingdean on the outskirts of Brighton. The White Horse hotel is ideal for visiting Brighton and Hove, Newhaven, Brighton University, Brighton racecourse. Dramatically located on the cliffs, the White Horse Hotel has spectacular views over the sea. It is located on the edge of the South Downs During the 18th and 19th centuries, Rottingdean was a smugglers' village - a time
recalled by Rudyard Kipling's "A Smuggler's Song": "If you wake at midnight, and hear horses' feet, Don't go drawing back the blind, or looking in the street... Five and twenty ponies, trotting through the dark - Brandy for the Parson, Baccy for the Clerk." Today the hotel is a favourite holiday location. A good base for exploring the South Coast and surrounding area only a few miles away from Saltdean, Peacehaven. The hotel also has function/conference facilities with disabled access
Picture of White Horse , Rottingdean at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very freindly and helpful. Good food available.

Reviewed by
K Weeks

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff
Very spacious room and was very clean and tidy!

Reviewed by
K Cudmore

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My weekend
The staff were very pleasant.
The room was very comfortable (especially the bed!) - but it was stuffy and I made the mistake of opening the window........and as my little single room looked over the bus stop and a cross roads, it was terribly noisy.
I really would have liked a bar of soap to shower with rather than that inferior stuff you supplied, which had no perfume and by the time you got it anywhere near your body, the water had washed it off your hands.!
However, breakfast was great and no big gripes!

Reviewed by
Susie H

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel decor
Hotel decor a little tired - however the Kipling suite is very atmospheric and has good views. We enjoyed the ambience and the staff were very friendly

Reviewed by
David Rogers

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

decorating
Being the only hotel in Rottingdean and not far from Brighton The room was very dark needed better lighting and the bathroom had mold around the bath /shower
for such a busy hotel it needs to be refurbished .

Reviewed by
j thomas

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant for the price !!
Got a good deal for single room incl breakfast for £45. On arrival staff pleasant and helpful. Got to room (118) to find it had a window with no view !!. Blanked out as it overlooks the external fire escape. Ok I can put up with that for a night not a problem. Room clean.Shower curtain could do with replacing as rather grubby.Décor and furniture rather dated throughout. No desk to work on if you wanted to use a laptop etc. Used restaurant for evening meal which was very good I thought. They then actually changed the menu the following day so cant comment further,however the breakfast was excellent. Morning a bit of disaster as no hot water throughout the hotel so it was a cold shower !! On checking out there was no apology forthcoming, or indeed asked how my stay was,so a bit disappointing.The location however is lovely with a nice walk along the foreshore to Brighton highly recommended as it was a mild and sunny day . Overall if I was in the area again and needed an overnight stay I would stay there again yes .....far better than sleeping in the rear of a van !!

Reviewed by
K RONALDSON

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OKay
Tired looking hotel in need of refurbishment. it's a shame that not all Old English Inns have the same standards... Overall nice location, clean room, good breakfast, attentive staff. Choose a room with sea view.

Reviewed by
R O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely stay in the White Horse, Location is superb. Staff is very friendly and forthcoming.

Reviewed by
Adriana K

From France
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful & efficient reception service. However, the bedroom was in the centre of the hotel with no view except for overlooking a central fire escape. Breakfast service was very slow and interrupted by what sounded like a cement mixer but turned out to be the staff emptying the numerous gaming machines. A great location but overpriced.

Reviewed by
NORMAN F

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sea view with balcony
excellent room, with sea views and balcony, good size and clean with nice bed linen.
evening meal quality could have been better.

Reviewed by
David D

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next