You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel


149 Kings Road, BRIGHTON, BN1 2PP

Price From 136.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (29)

38% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • DAWN B

  • September 2016

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

The hotel was a real disappointment.

I regularly stay at The Mecure in Sheffield and was expecting the Brighton one to be of a similar standard, how wrong I was. The room I had was a classic standard but it was probably one of the most depressing rooms I have ever stayed in. The room felt grubby and tired: the carpets looked unclean, the decor was shabby, the kettle had black specks of something in it and the shower head had looked as if it had never been clean so as a consequence I did not use the kettle or the shower. The room was hot and the windows did not open and there is no air conditioning (although there was a fan in the wardrobe). Plus points: the toilet and sink were clean and the staff on reception were pleasant. I couldn't wait for the morning to come so I could check out,luckily I was able to cancel the second night I was booked in for as I couldn't have faced two nights. I do appreciate the hotel in Brighton is an old building but I was expecting much more for a 4 star hotel. I for one will never be staying there again.

  • j buchanan

  • September 2016

The worst 4 star hotel I have ever stayed at

The room we had was grubby.

the dust on the radiator was that thick, it looked like it had never been cleaned. The entrance was dirty. staff smoking on front steps.

  • A Bajjon

  • August 2016

Not great customer service, expect llong wait to check in and out

The rooms are basic with no air conditioning.

Shortage of staff, at least 40 minutes wait for any thing in reception. Only ONE person on reception over the whole Bank Holiday weekend with hotel that is full packed. Not a great experience. I will definitely not use it again

  • L Slavcheva

  • August 2016

First - reception was really dusty

Second - room 115 it will be great if you put more ventilation in bathroom

Three - for me like a vegetarian, breakfast ( £11 per person) was very, very poor, disappointed

  • E Darroll-Brough

  • August 2016

fell short

very dirty not up to standard disappointed bath room not even serviced when we got to our room, had to move rooms second room was better but still not up to standard!.

room need a pick me up looking very old. not quite as described but the is from the hotels side.

  • Louis Boyce

  • June 2016

Lovely hotel

Hotel was lovely, very central.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, room was very good and clean.

  • M Harmer

  • June 2016

Sadly disappointed

We booked this hotel for my parents-in-law 65th wedding anniversary after visiting and being kindly shown around by a smashing chap.

It wasn't cheap (pretty much London rates) but we felt confident that it would be worthwhile because of the lift facilities and mobility challenged awareness. We arrived to find that our stay was room only despite booking B & B through Late Rooms. The reception staff basically just shrugged and said nothing they could do. The lift was a nightmare to make work and in fact once we just gave up and had to step by step get our elderly parents down the stairs. The room locks sometimes wouldn't unlock but again a lovely member of staff showed us a 'trick' to reboot the electronics. That evening we decided to eat in the restaurant and after nearly an hour and a half gave up and complained at reception. Others in the dining room had been waiting even longer and then we were told by a hugely embarrassed waitress that almost half the menu was unavailable. Actually when the meal arrived it was VERY good. The following day (Sunday) my wife and I came down to the car for a relaxing drink after a hard morning pushing wheelchairs to find no bar staff for 20 minutes. Then a chap arrived and couldn't serve us alcohol "unless you have a beer!" (?) A couple of ladies had ordered a cream tea and were laughing about getting no milk for the tea, no butter or jam for the scones. Really!. In the end we felt that we had to confront the manager on Monday morning, bringing down an electronic copy of our booking showing we DID book B & B. After a 20 minute session the manager did waive the parking charge (that would have been another £50) and agreed that we did not need to pay for breakfasts. This weekend was a shambles. Lovely staff who were badly managed (too typical we are finding). At £150 a night we would expect our original issue with the booking to have been taken up by the Hotel, not have to mess about trying to prove our own case. It turned out the barman was sick (SO SAY SO!). The chef that evening was an agency chef. (Not our problem and no excuse for leaving one waitress carrying the wrath of all the clients). The electronics at the hotel obviously need sorting out not just shrugged at. Such a shame because the rooms were lovely, clean, excellent beds and pillows. Breakfast was very nice and the basic staff faultless and did all they could to be helpful but this hotel needs managing properly and a sort out. You want to charge this level of money you have to provide the service!

  • Miriam M

  • May 2016

NOT going the extra mile

For, what I consider a vast amount of money, this hotel was of average décor and poor customer service.

From being told the kitchen was open 24/7, we tried to get some bar food at 4pm to be told that the kitchen was closed due to them dealing with "a party of 30 upstairs". The lift did not work and we were on the third floor. The remote control for the TV in the room did not work. The curtains did not fit the windows properly. We had to leave at 7.30am and, because breakfast did not start serving until that time on a Sunday, I asked if we could possibly have ours a little earlier, perhaps in our room, because of the fact they have 24 hour room service. We were told "no" but the guy on reception would check with the night staff. He did not. So I checked again with the night receptionist who said that would be fine and I just needed to complete the room service card and hang it on the door handle. We chose 7am for the breakfast time. At 7am we received a phone call from the receptionist (another new one) who said this wasn't possible because the breakfast wasn't served until 7.30am. He was actually quite rude and said we'd ordered "all this hot food so how do you expect us to do this early?" . What happened to going to extra mile for the customer. With a chef on duty 24 hours a day, I do not see how starting breakfast for two people slightly earlier is a huge problem. Would not stay here again.

  • H Rule

  • April 2016


Décor was old, dated and furniture scuffed and stained arm chair.

Bathroom was not clean and had a smell which filtered into the room. Reception was traditional, however, the general hotel was tired and definitely needed a refurbishment.

  • A Cornwell

  • April 2016

Enjoyable Stay

We stayed in the superior sea view room on the first floor with balcony and two double doors which was lovely.

The room was big and spacious and the bathroom although a little bit small was clean and nice too. The room came with a coffee machine which was a bonus and a lovely birthday card and flowers was put into the room. The only downsides was that I agree with other comments, the room was very hot at night but there was a fan in the wardrobe which we used and opened the balcony doors (one of the balcony doors didn't open nearest to the bed which was a shame) and noise can be heard from other guests, especially above. Breakfast was provided to the room, was warm and exactly what we ordered. Overall enjoyable experience.