You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

4

149 Kings Road, BRIGHTON, BN1 2PP

Price From 467.31 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (28)

43% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kate G

  • January 2016

I was very disappointed in my stay.

We arrived and were checked in, went up to our room, only to find that we had been given a room that was already someone else's. There were bags and belongings in the room already. We then returned to reception, where we had to wait a long time to deal with the problem as there were not sufficient members of staff to deal with the people waiting to check in. We finally spoke to the receptionist and were given another room. I did not feel that the receptionist was as apologetic as he could have been. Our new room was not as nice as the one we were given accidentally. I returned to reception and asked if we could change room to a nicer room. The lady at reception told me there was another room available. When I asked if the room was nicer than the one we were in, she replied that she didn't know if it was nicer, as she didn't know what I would like.

  • Nigel H

  • December 2015

Very disappointing

I travel a lot and don't usually write reviews but this hotel is so over priced I want to warn people.

There is no way this is a 4 star hotel. The room we had was small and shabby. I am used to staying in older hotels and understand the challenges involved, it's not normally an issue. This hotel is very tired and the room we had was dated and small. There was a tiny shower room which only seemed capable of producing cold water. If this had been a budget hotel I would have been a little disappointed but would have shrugged it off. Having paid over £300 for I felt cheated. Also there was a function on and I understand the hotel can't be held responsible for the noise of the guests but the thumping of the music was making the room vibrate and we were on the 2nd floor. If you decide to ignore this warning and do stay at this hotel please, please, please, don't take the breakfast option. The line to get a table on Sunday had about 30 people in it. We went to a nice café down the road and got a great breakfast that was a lot cheaper too. Loved Brighton though!!

  • K Rees

  • November 2015

Nice hotel, bit pricey

The price seemed a bit steep for what was offered.

The room was good quality and great location. What isn't mentioned/advertised is that there is £25 fee per night for parking which is not included in what you pay beforehand. Was undergoing a renovation at the time of visit which meant the whole place stank of paint but that wasn't too much of a problem after airing the room out.

  • J Hall

  • August 2015

Nott a 4 star hotel

No air conditioning, could not leave the patio door open, as it was a communal balcony.no safe or fridge facilities.

The room is very tired, in need of a complete overhaul.

  • S Spear

  • July 2015

Overpriced, unfriendly and brusque staff, Noisy room but lovely view

We stayed at the mecure for one night to celebrate our anniversary and decided to push the boat out a little to get a room with a sea view.

Great view but room price did not even come with breakfast which would have been an additional £40. Woken at 6.30 am by a constant banging below our room, which we thought must have been a door into the kitchen or dining room, it was in fact the front door of the hotel, positioned next to the reception, heavily banging with anyone that passed through it. How staff could not have noticed this and done something about it is beyond us. Either fault to the door or a fault with the staff, but either way the staff were barely apologetic. Basic customer service seems to be sadly lacking in the younger generation, one would assume it would a pre requisite in basic training when working within the service industry, but we felt like they were doing us a favour by allowing us to stay. Our check out was at 12noon but we had maid service banging on the door at 10am to clean the room. A very disturbed morning sleep and no offer of compensation or apology. We will avoid next time we are in Brighton.

  • A Abeykoon

  • July 2015

Avoid this hotel

This hotel is ridiculously overpriced.

My girlfriend and I paid roughly £250 + £25 parking for one night. Room was seriously old/run down/worn out. Staff were brilliant, very helpful/kind. Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Clint Trigg

  • June 2015

Beautiful Room and outstanding views

Paid extra for a sea view but did not expect the wow factor we got upon opening the door.

Absolutely beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the beach and promenade. The only downside (which was minimal) was that the room being on the first floor suffered mildly from outside noise both from the road and from the hotel bar and reception area however that did not impact on our experience.

On a wider note it has been a long time since we have weekended in Brighton and we were a little dismayed to find that the city centre and especially the lanes has become a haven for rowdy stag and hen groups which is a bit of a shame.

  • Bruce S

  • April 2015

rip off parking

One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because they advertise on site parking, it costs £25 per night.

Anyone wishing to stay here and park needs to add this to the room rate.

  • c linehan

  • April 2015

All good

Would stay again.

  • Bruce M

  • April 2015

General standard

For a 4 star hotel, the general standard of fixtures and room quality was not to the level I would have expected.

Some refurbishment is needed in various areas, not least the dining area. The hotel staff were friendly and professional, although the little things do irriate when you are paying £ 200 a night, e.g at breakfast not getting any milk for our tea. When only two couples in the dining room, this is sloppy. When I asked, the staff I spoke with pointed at the cereal milk!.