No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sheephouse Manor

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
SHEEPHOUSE MANOR, SHEEPHOUSE ROAD , MAIDENHEAD, SL6 8HJ
Set in the tranquil gardens pf a 16th C farmhouse, we offer a friendly welcome and a home from home stay.
All our en-suite B&B rooms have recently been tastefully renovated with complimentary Wi-Fi, tea & coffee, TV.and comfortable beds.
There is use of a private kitchen/dining room for our guests to use with TV.
All off street parking,
Close to gourmet Bray village, pretty Cookham Village and River Thames.
LEGOLAND and Ascot only 15 minutes by car.
Kids playground.
We also offer six self-catering cottages sleeping from 2-6 people.
48 hour cancellation policy for B&B.
Pets and cards accepted
Picture of Sheephouse Manor, MAIDENHEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Agreed a time to book in and on arrival room wasn't ready. Dirty towels, stains on bedding, do it yourself breakfast. Very noisy room however fantastic situation, lovely setting.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am very sorry you were disappointed, we take all comments from our guests very seriously. Regarding the laundry, the matter has been forwarded to our commercial laundry supplier, and to our inhouse Hosekeeping. These situations are very rare, and we always take pride in our high housekeeping standards. The buffet breakfast is advertised a Continental Buffet Breakfast, and I am sorry this is not what you were expecting. Our buffet usually comprises; fruit juices, youghurts, cereals, fresh fruit, fruit compots from the garden when in season, cold meats, selection of cheeses, free range eggs from our chickens, toast and croissants, selection of jam and marmalade, homemade jam from the garden, a selection of teas , freshly brewed coffee. We do try to accommodate early check ins where possible, unfortunately on this occasion it was not possible due to an unforseen problem, and I apologise for the inconvenience. I am glad you found the location convenient, we are close to a host of famous foody restaurants in Bray and Marlow. If you wish to visit again I am sure you will be happy with your stay.

Reviewed by
Beth H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight business stay
We selected Sheephouse Manor because of it's position relative to two business appointments we were attending and encouraging reviews.
Although we received a telephone call as we travelled up from Devon it was strictly "find your own way" on arrival. We did not see the host that afternoon nor evening. Our allocated room was 'Cookham' which on the website is clearly shown as a double with the bed situated with plenty of circulation. Imagine our disappointment when we found another single bed crammed into the room with the double bed pushed up hard against a radiator and wall. It was a case of complete misrepresentation and we would certainly not have chosen to stay there had we been told. The room is not that large and with a second bed became very uncomfortable.
Bathroom OK and on a positive note the morning greeting was bright with a hearty breakfast.
If the room had been as advertised and we had been greeted on arrival, I'm sure that we would have given 5s all round.

Reviewed by
John G

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and charming country style accomodation close to London
converted country cottage, with pretty and well appointed room and very comfortable bed. only downside was hot water ran out in morning and no remote control for TV. Breakfast was good but not freshly cooked, Caroline the owner was very helpful and welcoming, called us a cab for going out in the evening. a pleasant overnight stay

Reviewed by
lesley b

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely retreat
Relaxing and quiet. Lovely service and I was well looked after for breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Constable

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For us it literally was a bed for the night and breakfast before we dashed off again. The room had all the facilities and everything that we needed, but one slight comment is that it was a little on the small side. That's the reason I've marked it down slightly, at the full rate, otherwise all good. Breakfast excellent, including fresh eggs, and lovely host.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Harpenden, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Great room, great location, a bit pricey especially as there is no cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
M Williams

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
They gave me a holiday flat with lounge bedroom bathroom and kitchen. I was OK and would have been nice in the summer with the doors open to the garden. The heating was electric fires but they worked OK. I used the kitchen instead of eating out.

Reviewed by
david k

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect in every way.
Very pretty cottage and in quiet location. Made very welcome and cottage accommodation was cosy, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with fresh eggs from chickens and lovely home made fruit salad. Perfect! Couldn't ask for more!

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful B&B on the edge of Maidenhead and ideal of any business traveller in the area. Clean, comfortable rooms with continental-style breakfast and helpful, pleasant owner. I was there on business but it always feels like a mini-holiday when I stay.

Reviewed by
R Thompson

From Nr Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accomodation near river - convenient for M4 motorway
Stayed at end of September 2013.
Upon arrival I was informed that I would be staying in one of the cottages;
this turned out to be well decorated room in the annex buildings, complete with ensuite shower room and small kitchen facility (where the mornings breakfast items were stored for best convenience).
Wifi was free but a little weak in the room, and could be easily improved - but this is not a big problem and - I definitely recommend it for a short stay in the area.

Reviewed by
b evans

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next