No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
31-38 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 1NR
The Old Ship Hotel is one of Brighton's most impressive venues. The Old Ship is located on the sea front and overlooks glorious beaches and famous piers. There are bustling cafes, bars, antique shops and boutiques surrounding the hotel, and it is only a short distance from the historic Royal Pavilion.

The Hotel has 154 en suite bedrooms some with sea views.. You'll find them extremely comfortable, well equipped with just about every thing you'll need. The Old Ship has a fantastic restaurant called 'Steak on Sea".This informal brasserie style eatery blends sophistication into an airy and relaxed atmosphere. With mouth-watering dishes, superior wines, and idyllic sea views,Steak on Sea easily compares to any fun loving society cafe.
Picture of Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good!

Reviewed by
Steve H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasantly Surprised
I have never stayed overnight at the Old Ship before, but have visited on several occasions for group functions and dinners. I have therefore only previously experienced the Paganini Room and its adjacent reception room, both of which I have always thought a little 'tired' and with limited atmosphere due to the high ceilings. It must be said that I hadn't visited for several years and the refurbished hotel was a revelation. I had booked what I hoped would be a romantic Valentine's stay with my partner as a treat for her, but had decided to eat out because of my previous opinions. When my acknowledgement of booking arrived, however, it advertised a Valentine's dinner which I decided to try (hoping it wasn't in the Paganini Room!) In the event, the hotel surpassed my wildest expectations. Our room was spotless and very spacious (there was even a brass telescope to look out to sea!) The bed was enormous and very comfortable, and the en-suite was superb. I don't know how long ago the refurbishment was carried out but I was very pleasantly surprised that an hotel of this age could provide such immaculate surroundings. We had ordered dinner for 7 o'clock which proved to be a mixed blessing. We were the first to arrive but had the choice of tables (we took one overlooking the seafront) Although we were on our own for the first half hour, we had the rather romantic benefit of being serenaded by the superb lady singer all to ourselves. The food was very good and the service fabulous. I don't know if the room prices reflected the special evening, but I thought that they were quite high for one night's stay (although the dinner, including an introductory glass of bubbly and a full bottle of wine, was very reasonable considering the service, ambience, and entertainment) I really enjoyed my meal and my partner said her steak was cooked to perfection. I would certainly consider staying at the Old Ship again but, unless it was a very special occasion, probably not at the price.

Reviewed by
Mike Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and not up to standard
Room was dated, quite small and walls thin hence hearing all the noises ( talking and other things !! )
Room service limited and not too efficient
Breakfast was a full buffet - help yourself to everything - surely that is for travel lodges not a 4 star hotel - even most bed and breakfast establishments cook to order !
Won't be returning

Reviewed by
A Morris

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old ship hotel
This place could do with a tidy up on the face of it looks fine but look closer and you'll will see that every door and wall needs a lick of paint and the room furniture was dated. In the bathroom we had a chipped bath rusty bath curtain rail and metal fixings and red raw plugs everywhere it made the premier inn we stayed in the night previous seem luxurious!, also the noise from outside was nearly as loud as the noise from the room next door coming from the bathroom vent! Wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
matthew w

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in Brighton

Reviewed by
Caroline B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!!!
Absolutely loved our weekend away at The Old Ship Hotel!! Was so impressed with members of staff and how we was treated! Would definitely go back!!

Reviewed by
Beth C

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single Night Stay
On arrival the reception staff seemed totally confused and could not find our booking, they then asked me to produce my booking confirmation, luckily I it on my phone. we only stayed bed and breakfast for one night. we chose this hotel because it had a higher star rating than the others locally, however, once you get away from the lounge, bar and reception the hotel is tired and shabby. The room we had and that of our friends were also tiered and shabby and not as good a quality as the budget chain hotels so don't book this thinking it's 4 star as Laterooms imply because it definitely is not. The TV alarm had not been reset when the room was serviced meaning having got to bed at circa 2.30am we were rudely awoken by the TV at 6.30am.

Reviewed by
S Roper

From Battle, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay but attention to detail
My room was spacious in the main room but the bathroom was claustrophobic.
The breakfast was good and extensive but the hotel itself was severely overheated and made me feel uncomfortable

Reviewed by
j coulias

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent location. very nice to stay in.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Comfortable and great location. Our room even had a sea view which wasn't advertised. Negatives were the incredibly poor water flow and filthy windows. But staff were great and we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Tanya G

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next