No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
31-38 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 1NR
The Old Ship Hotel is one of Brighton's most impressive venues. The Old Ship is located on the sea front and overlooks glorious beaches and famous piers. There are bustling cafes, bars, antique shops and boutiques surrounding the hotel, and it is only a short distance from the historic Royal Pavilion.

The Hotel has 152 en suite bedrooms most having sea views. You'll find them extremely comfortable, well equipped with just about every thing you'll need. The Old Ship has a fantastic restaurant called 'Location 3'. This informal brasserie style eatery blends sophistication into an airy and relaxed atmosphere. With mouth-watering dishes, superior wines, and idyllic sea views,Location 3 easily compares to any fun loving society cafe.

Please note scaffolding will be in place to the side aspect of the hotel from 3rd June for 5 weeks.
Picture of Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay on Brighton over the bank holiday
Great hotel, great location. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
A King

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unimpressed
The 'deluxe' room was rather small, and the décor was drab. One morning, whilst I went to get a hot meal, my table had been cleared and my newspaper (open at the page from which I'd been reading) had been disposed of (the cooked breakfasts were often lukewarm). Later in the day, I was sitting on a sofa at the hotel's front, on the edge of one of the large parasols. Winds were high. One of the heavy metal discs that are supposed to be attached to the top of the parasols landed beside me, missing my head by inches.
On a positive note, the room was very clean, but I won't stay here again. The hoteliers need to be more transparent about what they mean by 'deluxe'.

Reviewed by
martin m

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel in Brighton
A perfectly satisfactory couple of nights, although the room was noisy and too hot (pneumatic drills outside, as advertised). The staff were helpful and polite.

Reviewed by
Robert Mash

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, shame about the bathroom....
All of the staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room was generally clean, however the window leaked when it rained hard and the carpet was threadbare in places. The main disappointment was the bathroom which was not up to the standard I would expect of a four star hotel; several of the floor tiles were cracked, the toilet pedestal was cracked, the shower pressure was dismal and the temperature of the shower couldn't be altered from barely scorching. The tiles aound the bath could also do with a good clean.

Reviewed by
M Speller

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
The hotel is in a good location for seafront and lanes just behind. Nice seating area to the front of hotel. Double room on 5th floor with sea view was comfortable but only complaint was toilet system not working properly which we let the font desk know about on leaving.

Reviewed by
charles n

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Impressive
I was extremely impressed with our room at The Old Ship Hotel. We where told it was one of the best in the hotel, and we where certainly not disappointed. The room was beautifully decorated, all the necessary amenities where available, such as an iron, hair dryer and television. Bottled water and a range of different tea & coffee was provided which was lovely.
Everywhere was immaculately clean, including the bathroom. The provision of ear plugs and a note apologising for the noise on the street (as it was gay pride) was a nice touch.
The beach view was exceptional, slight disappointment on not being able to open the balcony door fully but we did realise this was a safety issue.
On calling for room service we where informed we had to go down again to reception to register for an account for room service, which slightly defeated the point of calling room service. This could have been avoided by asking us if we wanted to do this on checking in to the hotel. We then where slightly put out by the attitude of the whoever we spoke to on the phone when we informed them we had decided not to bother and go out for food instead. After registering later on for room service so we could receive breakfast in bed the next day, no breakfast arrived, and only did after we had to call down to them and remind them.
However, this was a minor bother to our overall lovely stay at a beautiful hotel. I was extremely impressed, and we would love to stay here again, and definitely plan on in the future.

Reviewed by
B Dobson

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staying at the old ship hotel
nice hotel, but plumbing needs looking at, needs coffee facilities in room. breakfast good but evening meals not so good especially the salmon which my wife said was dry.

Reviewed by
john hillsdon

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week end break to attend a wedding in Brighton
We had a lovely weekend at the hotel. The staff where very helpful and friendly.The weather was very hot , although the room had a fan it was not very effective the rooms would benefit from having additional fans or aircon.Overall we really enjoyed our stay.The hotels location is perfect and in easy reach of the shops and the lanes.

Reviewed by
m holgate

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place good value
This is a decent hotel and offers better value for money than the other nearby hotels. It was also surprisingly quiet considering it's location on the seafront. Only issue is very expensive parking, but this is quite normal for Brighton.

Reviewed by
Greg T

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next