Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4

31-38 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 1NR

Price From 151.21 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (84)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • G Gould

  • October 2013

Ship inn review

Excellent facilities very accommodating staff.

Very helpful and friendly.

  • James Good

  • October 2013

old ship hotel brighton review

All the staff were friendly and helpful at all times and the food was first class for both breakfast and evening meal and good value for the price paid.

  • D Williamson

  • October 2013

Friendly staff, clean room

The room was clean and in good condition.

The staff friendly and helpful. 11am check out is a bit too early. Could do with a bit of modernisation.

  • t wilkins

  • October 2013

Helpful friendly staff comfortable bed. room well furnished and decorated.

Historic building set on sea front and in the heart of the lanes shopping area.

  • L Piotrowski

  • September 2013

Warm Welcoming, comfy and ideal location

We booked this hotel following the London to Brighton bike ride, and it was everything we needed, comfy beds, hot showers and a great location, staff were very helpful and welcoming.

  • J Lee

  • September 2013

Not so 'superior' room

We stayed in an upgraded 'superior' room and can't help but say how disappointed I was.

Where to start. There were no bedside lamps, this was because the electric sockets around the bed were the round pin 5 amp style socket. So not only was my electric equipment redundant (phone/camera charger, radio), so too were the hotel's as they couldn't be bothered to retro-fit the correct plugs to anything to utilise the plugs of yore. There was also no main light in the ceiling, so this meant that the only light came from the window during daylight, or one of the 2 lamps placed opposite the bed (one of which was sacrificed to make way for other electrical equipment). Returning to the hotel in the dark became a joke really. Good thing we had the TV to light the room up. Due to the lack of practical sockets using the ironing board turned the room into an obstacle course as the only sockets were right opposite the bed and the room wasn't huge. The bathroom - the screen for the shower was fitted incorrectly, so every time one of us showered the floor got flooded. To wipe this up we used the towels, but as the bathroom didn't have a window or extractor fan the bathroom then smelled damp. In fact the whole ventilation problem had other consequences following on from any....ahem...... toilet activities. Along with the door handle being broken on inside this just made the whole thing pretty shoddy. We should have complained when we first arrived but were tired from the travelling, and I didn't want to try another room to find it had the same problems. This was an expensive room, rated 4 stars by the AA apparently, and although the decor was nice the functionality was awful. In all the superior room isn't superior, unless it's superior to a room from the 1930's, I dread to think what the standard rooms are like.

  • joe c

  • August 2013

musings of an old gasper

We stayed at the Old Ship following review on Trip Adviser for a night in Brighton before a family wedding.The Ship fully lived up to review but did not fully exploit potential in terms of the unique historical narrative it has.For example it has rooms /cellars with history that it references in sales blurb but does not offer even fleetingly as part of the casual guest experience any experience of them.

It has a laminate history it puts in rooms but has no reinforcing communications/experiences across the hotel.So the Ship for a stay I would reccomend but the ship as a business with entrepreneurial acumen I woud question.So the Ship could do far better if it cares to.........but maybe location makes it feel no need....shame!!!!!!!!!!

  • Jeremy B

  • August 2013

The Old Ship Hotel

The receptionist was unsmiling & not particularly helpful.

Having never before stayed on the side of the hotel on which my room was situated I did not realise that there was a separate lift and staircase to that area and would have appreciated the advice. The room was newly and tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately, the operating mechanism for the plug in the sink failed leaving the plug stuck in, my shower was cold and the bathroom door difficult to open as the leading edge at the bottom was sticking,The street outside was very noisy until about 06.00 making sleep difficult to come by. At breakfast I did not appreciate the lady checking names repeating my full name back to me in a very loud voice so that all could hear exactly who I was, the food for the English Breakfast was not hot. A bit of a disappointment for a 4* hotel.

  • Antoinette Parker

  • August 2013

The Old Ship otel Brighton

We spent just one night at this hotel and must say it was in an excellent location and was a lovely old hotel.

It was a bit noisy at night but it is in a vibrant town and their are lots of bars and restaurant. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and the staff were very accommodating.

  • Amy G

  • August 2013

Only book a seaview...

overall impression of the hotel was really good, great location for the pier and the lanes.

the garage was full when we turned up but The Lanes carpark is right next door to the hotel and turned out to be cheaper and very secure. Sadly the first room we were given was horrible, very small and dark with a tiny window.

upgraded to a seaview room which was lovely, annoyed had to pay £20 extra though when the hotel wasn't at all busy. fair enough i paid 'late room' price but the £75 for a cupboard sized dingy room with no breakfast is ridiculous.

I cant comment on the food as i didn't pay extra for breakfast and instead went next door to the American Diner for breakfast, pancakes are AMAZING. definitely recommend it over getting a b&b rate at the hotel.