Reviews - Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4

31-38 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 1NR

Price From 174.41 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (71)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • MERVYN P

  • March 2015

birthday treat for wife

staff friendly and efficient.

Paid extra for superior sea view room and did not get a nights sleep due to the proximity of an all night club which turned out noisy partygoers until 5.00.a.m. Hot element of buffet breakfast very poor. Food had been cooked early for opening and left to dry out and overcooked during service. Easily rectified if smaller regularly replenished amounts were cooked instead. Car parking very expensive at £23.00 per night. Management aware of my complaints and dealt with them appropriately.

  • Steve H

  • February 2015

Very Good!

  • Mike Lewis

  • February 2015

Very Pleasantly Surprised

I have never stayed overnight at the Old Ship before, but have visited on several occasions for group functions and dinners.

I have therefore only previously experienced the Paganini Room and its adjacent reception room, both of which I have always thought a little 'tired' and with limited atmosphere due to the high ceilings. It must be said that I hadn't visited for several years and the refurbished hotel was a revelation. I had booked what I hoped would be a romantic Valentine's stay with my partner as a treat for her, but had decided to eat out because of my previous opinions. When my acknowledgement of booking arrived, however, it advertised a Valentine's dinner which I decided to try (hoping it wasn't in the Paganini Room!) In the event, the hotel surpassed my wildest expectations. Our room was spotless and very spacious (there was even a brass telescope to look out to sea!) The bed was enormous and very comfortable, and the en-suite was superb. I don't know how long ago the refurbishment was carried out but I was very pleasantly surprised that an hotel of this age could provide such immaculate surroundings. We had ordered dinner for 7 o'clock which proved to be a mixed blessing. We were the first to arrive but had the choice of tables (we took one overlooking the seafront) Although we were on our own for the first half hour, we had the rather romantic benefit of being serenaded by the superb lady singer all to ourselves. The food was very good and the service fabulous. I don't know if the room prices reflected the special evening, but I thought that they were quite high for one night's stay (although the dinner, including an introductory glass of bubbly and a full bottle of wine, was very reasonable considering the service, ambience, and entertainment) I really enjoyed my meal and my partner said her steak was cooked to perfection. I would certainly consider staying at the Old Ship again but, unless it was a very special occasion, probably not at the price.

  • A Morris

  • February 2015

Dated and not up to standard

Room was dated, quite small and walls thin hence hearing all the noises ( talking and other things !.

)

Room service limited and not too efficient

Breakfast was a full buffet - help yourself to everything - surely that is for travel lodges not a 4 star hotel - even most bed and breakfast establishments cook to order . Won't be returning

  • Caroline B

  • February 2015

Staying in Brighton

  • matthew w

  • February 2015

Old ship hotel

This place could do with a tidy up on the face of it looks fine but look closer and you'll will see that every door and wall needs a lick of paint and the room furniture was dated.

In the bathroom we had a chipped bath rusty bath curtain rail and metal fixings and red raw plugs everywhere it made the premier inn we stayed in the night previous seem luxurious!, also the noise from outside was nearly as loud as the noise from the room next door coming from the bathroom vent. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Beth C

  • January 2015

Loved it!!!

Absolutely loved our weekend away at The Old Ship Hotel!.

Was so impressed with members of staff and how we was treated. Would definitely go back!!

  • S Roper

  • December 2014

Single Night Stay

On arrival the reception staff seemed totally confused and could not find our booking, they then asked me to produce my booking confirmation, luckily I it on my phone.

we only stayed bed and breakfast for one night. we chose this hotel because it had a higher star rating than the others locally, however, once you get away from the lounge, bar and reception the hotel is tired and shabby. The room we had and that of our friends were also tiered and shabby and not as good a quality as the budget chain hotels so don't book this thinking it's 4 star as Laterooms imply because it definitely is not. The TV alarm had not been reset when the room was serviced meaning having got to bed at circa 2.30am we were rudely awoken by the TV at 6.30am.

  • Stuart M

  • December 2014

excellent location.

very nice to stay in.

  • j coulias

  • December 2014

Nice stay but attention to detail

My room was spacious in the main room but the bathroom was claustrophobic.

The breakfast was good and extensive but the hotel itself was severely overheated and made me feel uncomfortable