Reviews - Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection


31-38 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 1NR

Price From 193.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (75)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Caroline B

  • February 2015

Staying in Brighton

  • matthew w

  • February 2015

Old ship hotel

This place could do with a tidy up on the face of it looks fine but look closer and you'll will see that every door and wall needs a lick of paint and the room furniture was dated.

In the bathroom we had a chipped bath rusty bath curtain rail and metal fixings and red raw plugs everywhere it made the premier inn we stayed in the night previous seem luxurious!, also the noise from outside was nearly as loud as the noise from the room next door coming from the bathroom vent. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Beth C

  • January 2015

Loved it!!!

Absolutely loved our weekend away at The Old Ship Hotel!.

Was so impressed with members of staff and how we was treated. Would definitely go back!!

  • S Roper

  • December 2014

Single Night Stay

On arrival the reception staff seemed totally confused and could not find our booking, they then asked me to produce my booking confirmation, luckily I it on my phone.

we only stayed bed and breakfast for one night. we chose this hotel because it had a higher star rating than the others locally, however, once you get away from the lounge, bar and reception the hotel is tired and shabby. The room we had and that of our friends were also tiered and shabby and not as good a quality as the budget chain hotels so don't book this thinking it's 4 star as Laterooms imply because it definitely is not. The TV alarm had not been reset when the room was serviced meaning having got to bed at circa 2.30am we were rudely awoken by the TV at 6.30am.

  • Stuart M

  • December 2014

excellent location.

very nice to stay in.

  • j coulias

  • December 2014

Nice stay but attention to detail

My room was spacious in the main room but the bathroom was claustrophobic.

The breakfast was good and extensive but the hotel itself was severely overheated and made me feel uncomfortable

  • Tanya G

  • November 2014

Nice place

Comfortable and great location.

Our room even had a sea view which wasn't advertised. Negatives were the incredibly poor water flow and filthy windows. But staff were great and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Phillippa I

  • November 2014

Hotel was lovely great location.

Shame we had no view but no big deal. Room a little tired but was what we needed. Friendly and efficient staff

  • N Cross

  • November 2014

Deluxe Rooms Worth Paying Extra For But Eat Breakfast Elsewhere!

We had previously booked Saturday night direct with the hotel website but decided to stay an extra night and this was far cheaper to book on Laterooms.

The Hotel is an old building so you would expect certain areas to look worn but on the plus side it has character, is right on the seafront and within walking distance to the shops, etc. Parking is expensive and limited so we booked with JustPark and paid £12 per night instead of £25. Breakfast was included with the first night and it was absolutely dreadful - would thoroughly recommend café just round the corner which was far better value for money and cooked to order. Our room was absolutely lovely, we had a sea view and it was very clean and well stocked. The staff are all very professional and happy to help - they are a real asset to the hotel. I would certainly visit again but wouldn't pay more than £80 for deluxe room only.

  • Chris G

  • November 2014

weekend break