No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
31-38 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 1NR
The Old Ship Hotel is one of Brighton's most impressive venues. The Old Ship is located on the sea front and overlooks glorious beaches and famous piers. There are bustling cafes, bars, antique shops and boutiques surrounding the hotel, and it is only a short distance from the historic Royal Pavilion.

The Hotel has 152 en suite bedrooms most having sea views. You'll find them extremely comfortable, well equipped with just about every thing you'll need. The Old Ship has a fantastic restaurant called 'Location 3'. This informal brasserie style eatery blends sophistication into an airy and relaxed atmosphere. With mouth-watering dishes, superior wines, and idyllic sea views,Location 3 easily compares to any fun loving society cafe.
Picture of Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel with atmosphere
I have stayed at the Old Ship about 6 times. The rooms do vary because of the nature of the building, so there is no actual standard room. In general, I am happy with the hotel and when I can get a good deal, choose this one over others in Brighton. One big advantage is the location - right next to The Lanes and sea facing. I like the lounge, especially when it is nice weather and they open the doors so you can sit inside or out and get a sea view. The breakfast is good and the staff helpful and friendly. A big advantage is that now they have free WiFi access in the rooms. It can be awkward getting to your room because of the very old building and rather confusing layout. Also, the lifts are small and old.

Reviewed by
Helen N

From Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ship inn review
Excellent facilities very accommodating staff. Very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
G Gould

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old ship hotel brighton review
All the staff were friendly and helpful at all times and the food was first class for both breakfast and evening meal and good value for the price paid.

Reviewed by
James Good

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, clean room
The room was clean and in good condition. The staff friendly and helpful. 11am check out is a bit too early. Could do with a bit of modernisation.

Reviewed by
D Williamson

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful friendly staff comfortable bed. room well furnished and decorated.
Historic building set on sea front and in the heart of the lanes shopping area.

Reviewed by
t wilkins

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm Welcoming, comfy and ideal location
We booked this hotel following the London to Brighton bike ride, and it was everything we needed, comfy beds, hot showers and a great location, staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Reviewed by
L Piotrowski

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so 'superior' room
We stayed in an upgraded 'superior' room and can't help but say how disappointed I was. Where to start? There were no bedside lamps, this was because the electric sockets around the bed were the round pin 5 amp style socket. So not only was my electric equipment redundant (phone/camera charger, radio), so too were the hotel's as they couldn't be bothered to retro-fit the correct plugs to anything to utilise the plugs of yore. There was also no main light in the ceiling, so this meant that the only light came from the window during daylight, or one of the 2 lamps placed opposite the bed (one of which was sacrificed to make way for other electrical equipment). Returning to the hotel in the dark became a joke really. Good thing we had the TV to light the room up.
Due to the lack of practical sockets using the ironing board turned the room into an obstacle course as the only sockets were right opposite the bed and the room wasn't huge.
The bathroom - the screen for the shower was fitted incorrectly, so every time one of us showered the floor got flooded. To wipe this up we used the towels, but as the bathroom didn't have a window or extractor fan the bathroom then smelled damp. In fact the whole ventilation problem had other consequences following on from any....ahem...... toilet activities. Along with the door handle being broken on inside this just made the whole thing pretty shoddy.
We should have complained when we first arrived but were tired from the travelling, and I didn't want to try another room to find it had the same problems. This was an expensive room, rated 4 stars by the AA apparently, and although the decor was nice the functionality was awful. In all the superior room isn't superior, unless it's superior to a room from the 1930's, I dread to think what the standard rooms are like.

Reviewed by
J Lee

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

musings of an old gasper
We stayed at the Old Ship following review on Trip Adviser for a night in Brighton before a family wedding.The Ship fully lived up to review but did not fully exploit potential in terms of the unique historical narrative it has.For example it has rooms /cellars with history that it references in sales blurb but does not offer even fleetingly as part of the casual guest experience any experience of them. It has a laminate history it puts in rooms but has no reinforcing communications/experiences across the hotel.So the Ship for a stay I would reccomend but the ship as a business with entrepreneurial acumen I woud question.So the Ship could do far better if it cares to.........but maybe location makes it feel no need....shame!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
joe c

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Ship Hotel
The receptionist was unsmiling & not particularly helpful. Having never before stayed on the side of the hotel on which my room was situated I did not realise that there was a separate lift and staircase to that area and would have appreciated the advice. The room was newly and tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately, the operating mechanism for the plug in the sink failed leaving the plug stuck in, my shower was cold and the bathroom door difficult to open as the leading edge at the bottom was sticking,The street outside was very noisy until about 06.00 making sleep difficult to come by. At breakfast I did not appreciate the lady checking names repeating my full name back to me in a very loud voice so that all could hear exactly who I was, the food for the English Breakfast was not hot. A bit of a disappointment for a 4* hotel.

Reviewed by
Jeremy B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Ship otel Brighton
We spent just one night at this hotel and must say it was in an excellent location and was a lovely old hotel. It was a bit noisy at night but it is in a vibrant town and their are lots of bars and restaurant. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and the staff were very accommodating.

Reviewed by
Antoinette Parker

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next