No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
31-38 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 1NR
The Old Ship Hotel is one of Brighton's most impressive venues. The Old Ship is located on the sea front and overlooks glorious beaches and famous piers. There are bustling cafes, bars, antique shops and boutiques surrounding the hotel, and it is only a short distance from the historic Royal Pavilion.

The Hotel has 152 en suite bedrooms most having sea views. You'll find them extremely comfortable, well equipped with just about every thing you'll need. The Old Ship has a fantastic restaurant called 'Location 3'. This informal brasserie style eatery blends sophistication into an airy and relaxed atmosphere. With mouth-watering dishes, superior wines, and idyllic sea views,Location 3 easily compares to any fun loving society cafe.

Please note scaffolding will be in place to the side aspect of the hotel from 3rd June for 5 weeks.
Picture of Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was very unimpressed to find that I had scaffolding outside my window! I had no light coming through and it didnt prove to be a very nice view!

Reviewed by
charlotte wootten

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was frustrated after driving down from London that you had no car spaces to park had to pay £25.00 to park also . I think to drive better service and returning custom , should offer car park space for free this would be an easy service to provide , In Brighton there is literally no where to park , to go away for the weekend and to have to get up very early to move car is definitely not a positive for brighton . Chose to go to another hotel next day rather than to stay on as another hotel room was £45 pounds cheaper better value for money when you have to pay high parking fees.

Reviewed by
S Rawlins

From London, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We liked the hotel and room tho there is room for improvement as far as cleaning of the room goes , staff were fantastic and we wil be staying again in the future !

Reviewed by
w zammit

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton stay
Wonderful hotel

Reviewed by
O Davis

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The layout of the hotel is quirky and the staff are always polite. The room was freezing as there was only one radiator under a single glazed window.
Food is always cooked well and there is a good variety.
Gillian, who works in the restaurant, is a delight and treats everyone as if they are an old friend.

Reviewed by
Charlotte R

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing for a '4 star' hotel
very noisy in room so poor night's sleep (didn't get to sleep till 2.30am) - thin wall and ineffective dbl glazing
narrow double bed
dated decor, lot of unsanded polyfilla on bathroom door!
restaurant food lacklustre and vegetarian option very poor, dining room cold and without character
disappointing for a 4 star hotel
breakfast was good!

Reviewed by
Roger Hopgood

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dissatified
nice hotel from the outside very good position for sea front and lanes. but don't pay for superior room like I did . paid extra for room with excessive street noise no sleep till after 3am. who would put superior rooms next to noisy street ?. no help from management.

Reviewed by
R CHERRY

From Great Glen Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel with atmosphere
I have stayed at the Old Ship about 6 times. The rooms do vary because of the nature of the building, so there is no actual standard room. In general, I am happy with the hotel and when I can get a good deal, choose this one over others in Brighton. One big advantage is the location - right next to The Lanes and sea facing. I like the lounge, especially when it is nice weather and they open the doors so you can sit inside or out and get a sea view. The breakfast is good and the staff helpful and friendly. A big advantage is that now they have free WiFi access in the rooms. It can be awkward getting to your room because of the very old building and rather confusing layout. Also, the lifts are small and old.

Reviewed by
Helen N

From Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ship inn review
Excellent facilities very accommodating staff. Very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
G Gould

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old ship hotel brighton review
All the staff were friendly and helpful at all times and the food was first class for both breakfast and evening meal and good value for the price paid.

Reviewed by
James Good

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next