No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
31-38 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 1NR
The Old Ship Hotel is one of Brighton's most impressive venues. The Old Ship is located on the sea front and overlooks glorious beaches and famous piers. There are bustling cafes, bars, antique shops and boutiques surrounding the hotel, and it is only a short distance from the historic Royal Pavilion.

The Hotel has 152 en suite bedrooms most having sea views. You'll find them extremely comfortable, well equipped with just about every thing you'll need. The Old Ship has a fantastic restaurant called 'Location 3'. This informal brasserie style eatery blends sophistication into an airy and relaxed atmosphere. With mouth-watering dishes, superior wines, and idyllic sea views,Location 3 easily compares to any fun loving society cafe.

Please note scaffolding will be in place to the side aspect of the hotel from 3rd June for 5 weeks.
Picture of Old Ship Hotel - The Hotel Collection, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not sure who's fault it is but....
The hotel is clean, the staff pleasant and the location on the seafront is ideal if that's what you are after. When booking via late rooms we filtered the search for free parking, we also selected a room with a sea view, the short answer is no sea view and parking was £23 for the one night we were there, false advertisement somewhere... also FYI free WiFi but only in the reception area, not in the room.

Reviewed by
S Bolt

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was good experience

Reviewed by
Dee Smith

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disppointed
We stay in a standard room , looking for a little luxury being a 4* hotel. How wrong was I ,after finding the room in the maze of corridors and stairs! It was covered in mould , on the ceilings, bathroom and walls! We complained and changed rooms . The room was better , views terrible! Only to be woken up by workman walking around just outside our windows! We could have be warned! We were three floors up!

Reviewed by
l stalley

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Great value for a short stay. Booking in advance was a bargain.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Ship
Pleasant hotel right on the beach. Great location. Friendly staff. Decor a bit dated but overall a clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was delicious. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Thomas C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally located hotel for exploring Brighton
Booked two rooms the night before arriving; bookings went through without issue.

On arrival, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is in an excellent location, literally meters from the sea front. Due to this, night time can be a bit noisy with club goers out 'til all hours but this didn't bother me too much and I still managed a good night's sleep. Equally, where the hotel is situated is also only a few hundred yards from a plethora of restaurants and cafes, so ideal for going out for dinner. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food there. The rooms are comfortable if nothing special. The fittings are dated and tired looking, especially in the bathrooms but functionally there were no real issues.
The money paid for the room was in my opinion good value, especially given the location. Parking, as with everywhere in Brighton, is extortionate. The hotel has a limited number of secure spaces attached to the hotel which are convenient but charged at an extra £23 pounds until midday the next day; regardless of arrival time seemingly.
I would stay there again and would recommend it to those wanting to see Brighton from a good base camp on a low to mid-range budget.

Reviewed by
Daniel R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's over priced and a bit shabby paying f0r location !!!!!!

Reviewed by
Andrea R

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you for the earplugs, they were needed.

Reviewed by
k Banks

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of noise from the promenade
A sea view room that was great in the daytime proved to be a let-down at night. Lots of noise from revellers on the promenade below (even through double glazing) created a long disturbance. As with all Puma hotels that I've stayed at, The Old Ship exudes faded grandeur.

Reviewed by
R Day

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was very unimpressed to find that I had scaffolding outside my window! I had no light coming through and it didnt prove to be a very nice view!

Reviewed by
charlotte wootten

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next