No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mentone Hotel

2AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
54-55 Cartwright Gardens , London, WC1H 9EL
We are located in a quiet area of Bloomsbury on a crescent opposite gardens and tennis courts. We are within a 5-7 minute walk of three different tube stations (Euston, Kings Cross, and Russell Square). Plus the British Museum, Covent Garden and Oxford Street are only a fifteen minute walk from the hotel. We offer a full English Breakfast and a buffet with juice, yoghurt, cold cereals and fruit. Hotel does not accept American Express to secure or to pay for reservations. The Hotel has a lounge that guest’s can use during their stay. We have free internet wireless access.

* Reception opening 07:00 to 23:30
Picture of Mentone Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, quiet hotel. Friendly staff
I use the mentone frequently, when I have meetings in London.
Always good.

Reviewed by
Chrissie G

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Very good quality , and extremely good value for money. Can recommend any of my friends and family to stay here. Ideal location for euston station . Very friendly and helpfull staff. Excelent!

Reviewed by
C Warburton

From LANCASTER, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasnt Hotel for a Short Stay - Conveniently Close to Euston
I did not spend much time at this hotel. I dropped my bag off early evening, returned at bedtime, ate breakfast and left. The hotel stay was a pleasant experience, reasonably priced with a nice breakfast; pretty much all you would want from a budget hotel stay. The only potential downside, but only for those that it would affect, is that I was on the top floor which is accessed via a narrow staircase and there is no lift. If, however, you are able-bodied and don't have loads of luggage, this should not be a problem.

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxygen required !!!
The single rooms are on the top floor with no lift. The last set of stairs are very steep and narrow and getting a case up was quite a challenge. The breakfast room is quite small for the size of hotel and on both mornings there was a queue of people waiting for a table to become avaiable. The location is excellent - the reception staff could be a little more aware of welcoming arrivals with a smile, but for the price it is a reasonable hotel - but only book a top floor room if you like steep stairs

Reviewed by
Mark P

From Marcianise 81025, Italy
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location, spotless clean bathroom, warm comfortable room
Arrived at 11am left luggage at reception and called back at 1pm to check in, was dealt with efficiently and quickly! Room to the front of the building and even though there was a major construction site across the road it was not a problem, we enjoyed and quite and relaxing stay. Will definitely use this hotel again and have no hesitation recommending it to anyone!

Reviewed by
Angela O'Neill

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally satisfied customer.
I have already recommended the hotel to a friend- what more do I need to say?
The hotel is in a fairly quiet location in a nice old crescent. The accommodation was warm, clean comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent and staff were efficient and caring.
I would definitely use it again for a stay in the area- it's close to Euston and central London highlights.

Reviewed by
derek p

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

london theatre trip
mentone hotel was ideal in terms of location and service
it was very close to Euston station (no taxis needed) which for anyone travelling from northwest is very handy, also good location for west end theatre area. Breakfast was lovely (very filling) didn't need to eat till 8pm
overall would definitely be staying at mentone hotel again

Reviewed by
L C

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all good apart from the bar
the bar was a problem
female member of staff we met was rude to several customers and was a clearly unhappy with the situation
didn't have advertised drinks
didn't have bar staff-had to ring to downstairs for assistance
didn't have change so that customers were forced to put drinks on to hotel bill all of these were problems were every night

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only let down by noisy neighbours in middle of night (next room)

Reviewed by
Natalie S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the menatone hotel london
booked last minute and travelling alone - never sure about what you will get or how safe you will feel
was made to feel very welcome and safe
and surely that is very important
breakfast was varied hot and tasty - and that's a second reason to stay !!!

Reviewed by
helen H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next