No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mentone Hotel

2AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
54-55 Cartwright Gardens , London, WC1H 9EL
We are located in a quiet area of Bloomsbury on a crescent opposite gardens and tennis courts. We are within a 5-7 minute walk of three different tube stations (Euston, Kings Cross, and Russell Square). Plus the British Museum, Covent Garden and Oxford Street are only a fifteen minute walk from the hotel. We offer a full English Breakfast and a buffet with juice, yoghurt, cold cereals and fruit. Hotel does not accept American Express to secure or to pay for reservations. The Hotel has a lounge that guest’s can use during their stay. We have free internet wireless access.

* Reception opening 07:00 to 23:30
Picture of Mentone Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mentone hotel
Very good hotel with friendly and efficient staff. Situated in a very good area for restaurants, transport and shops. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
A COOPER

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The room was very small but well equipped and comfortable. The location was quiet yet central, and the staff were extremely helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Catherine Pope

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A helpful welcoming place to stay
Good proximity to central London. Quiet location and friendly helpful staff

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good for Money. Well located, clean and suited our needs. Would stay again.
We found the Mentone perfect for our needs. We had an impromptu trip to London and booked this hotel whilst on the train to St.Pancras. It was a short 10 minute walk from the station and we were pleased with its quiet location overlooking a green area with tennis courts. We pressed the buzzer and reception unlocked the main entrance door to allow entry. Beware though that it's takes a good push to get it open due to the locking mechanism. The lady on reception was brisk to deal with us, taking payment and demonstrating key fob entry to main door. She showed us to our room on the ground floor (Room 21). It is a standard double room and we were pleased with how clean, light and airy it was. The bathroom is compact but functional. The bed wasn't a full size double but we're quite a small couple so fitted ok. We had no issue with the Mentone as it was a place to stay after a night out and we sleep well anywhere. I cannot really speak for other guests but if you were in our room you may be disturbed by noise from other residents coming back. But the hotel cannot be responsible for inconsiderate guests.
As a note, the hotel is five minutes from a 24 hour tescos which came in use when painkillers were required at 3am. Also, we didn't get up for the breakfast but it smelt nice and the noise from the kitchen meant we didn't miss our check out time.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but dated
This is the second time I've stayed at the Mentone. The room I had this time was bigger than the last (small double rather than single) but the bathroom was a little more dated. It was also right at the top of the hotel up a very steep staircase - difficult to get luggage up! However the room was clean, the shower warm and it was pretty quiet. I had to leave too early to have breakfast so cannot comment on food. Overall a good little hotel for a short stay in London.

Reviewed by
Victoria F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bloomsbury crescent
Good basic accommodation and nice breakfast
It would be good if breakfast started at 7am and additional towels in the rooms.
Usually quiet, but the floorboards in the room above us were very creaky,

Reviewed by
C Gibson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't stay again
Staff were rude and not very understanding. Plug in room was sparking and was a health and safety issue. When told about this, staff did not care and were very dismissive. Not enough room at breakfast for all guests so we were left queuing up a flight of stairs until there was room, wouldn't stay again

Reviewed by
Ellen S

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good standards and comfortable would go back.
Only critism was the smell of cooking oil in all of the communal areas although the bedroom was fine.

Reviewed by
M Newton

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem!
Great find, excellent location near Euston and Kings Cross. Lovely streetscene just around the corner; plenty of cafes, bars and eateries to suit most tastes. Felt like a great little niche area, hotel overlooked the tennis courts and leafy gardens - and a stone's throw from some major attractions. This hotel is in my short list of friendly, reliabe hotels in London. Already shared the contact details with friends and colleagues.

Reviewed by
Margaret R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst room in the hotel
i was staying in what i can only assume was the worst room in the hotel. my paper-thin walled room was situated perfectly between on my right the main staircase up and down to all the rooms and the entrance (the two being joined by a long echoey wooden floored corridor), and to my left, the staircase down the the room where breakfast is served. this meant that not only was i kept up, and woken up every 20 minutes until 3am and then hourly until 5am by the front door buzzing (which it does to let someone in, and out of the hotel), but i was then woken up at 7am when the kitchen staff started getting ready for breakfast, window open, playing music, with their window in a little courtyard, 5 meters from the head of my bed.
my room was great though if you don't plan to sleep, but i'm not sure worth £135 a night...

Reviewed by
s powell

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next