No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Marcham Road , Oxford Abi, OX14 1TZ
Located on the outskirts of the historic town of Abingdon-on-Thames, yet within walking distance of the town centre and only six miles from Oxford, this three star hotel offers you all the comforts of home, away from home. The contemporary design, along with the modern facilities, delivers all the needs of today’s guest in a convenient location. The Octagon Bar and Restaurant is the perfect place to unwind and offers a tempting range of meals on its Bar & Grill menu, ranging from light snacks to hearty main courses. In good weather, guests can relax al fresco on the attractive terrace.
Picture of Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford Abi at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant receptionist
Lovely friendly hotel but room a little hot other than that good all round hotel

Reviewed by
Jackie W

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give this a miss
My son and I spent a night in a Connoisseur Twin room ..the beds were small singles , not even standard ..so ridiculous for adults...duvet so thin I had to sleep in my dressing gown . Bathroom ventilation fan was so loud kept us awake. Dated decor...So totally unhappy ...trying to get some money back..Premier inn way better but they were full..

Reviewed by
s wilson

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing
The connoiser room booked appeared to be furnished in the same style if not less comfortable, than the standard room. The mattress was poor quality ( hard and lumpy) so I would not recommend this hotel for leisure as it is not the same standard as other four pillar hotels nearby. However the staff spoke English and it might suffice as a business stopover as access and parking are good. Breakfast was dry and badly topped up - servers were busy cleaning used tables than attending to newly arrived guests for breakfast ( and it wasn't busy).

Reviewed by
f jones

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
Warm welcome from the reception. Nice room. Smelt slightly musty so had to open a window. Clean and good size room. Bed lumpy and could feel the springs felt old and worn. Otherwise lovely.

Reviewed by
h thompson

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the A34?
very convenient for the a34 room was a bit disappointing given it was sold as the conisseur room for which we paid more.( bathroom mediocre- stained carpet in bed room) staff excellent !

Reviewed by
edwin hackett

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four Pillars Abingdon
Convenient and comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. Stayed there three times now in preference to other local accommodation.

Reviewed by
W Collier

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were friendly
room clean but I wouldn't consider executive, breakfast was very average

Reviewed by
Albert B

From Halifax, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four Pillars
Friendly staff good customer service, nice food and great clean and welcoming accommodation.

Reviewed by
S Eley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant Surprise.
When booking a hotel in distant Abingdon, one was initially worried that it would be a highly expensive cupboard with a mattress in one corner, and a bucket in the other. However, to our delight we found that the room was agreeably spacious, had a lovely bathroom, and had a proper double bed, not just two singles pushed together. (That latter courtesy being a usual pet hate of mine).
The only minor concern was a rather brusque receptionist who didn't really sound like she'd got up on the right side of bed on Saturday morning. On the other hand, the rest of your staff were perfectly polite and presentable throughout the rest of the weekend.
Overall I would say that the hotel is one I would definitely choose again if I were on an excursion to Oxford.

Reviewed by
Alexander W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent value
Public areas were OK, but generally needs a bit of a clean and a lick of paint! breakfast on Saturday was chaos, it was like it was the first time they had run it, but Sunday was different again - food was nice however. Was OK for the price, but I would have expected more from a Four Pillars.

Reviewed by
Donna H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next