No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Marcham Road , Oxford Abi, OX14 1TZ
Located on the outskirts of the historic town of Abingdon-on-Thames, yet within walking distance of the town centre and only six miles from Oxford, this three star hotel offers you all the comforts of home, away from home. The contemporary design, along with the modern facilities, delivers all the needs of today’s guest in a convenient location. The Octagon Bar and Restaurant is the perfect place to unwind and offers a tempting range of meals on its Bar & Grill menu, ranging from light snacks to hearty main courses. In good weather, guests can relax al fresco on the attractive terrace.
Picture of Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford Abi at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four Pillars Abingdon
Convenient and comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. Stayed there three times now in preference to other local accommodation.

Reviewed by
W Collier

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were friendly
room clean but I wouldn't consider executive, breakfast was very average

Reviewed by
Albert B

From Halifax, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four Pillars
Friendly staff good customer service, nice food and great clean and welcoming accommodation.

Reviewed by
S Eley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant Surprise.
When booking a hotel in distant Abingdon, one was initially worried that it would be a highly expensive cupboard with a mattress in one corner, and a bucket in the other. However, to our delight we found that the room was agreeably spacious, had a lovely bathroom, and had a proper double bed, not just two singles pushed together. (That latter courtesy being a usual pet hate of mine).
The only minor concern was a rather brusque receptionist who didn't really sound like she'd got up on the right side of bed on Saturday morning. On the other hand, the rest of your staff were perfectly polite and presentable throughout the rest of the weekend.
Overall I would say that the hotel is one I would definitely choose again if I were on an excursion to Oxford.

Reviewed by
Alexander W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent value
Public areas were OK, but generally needs a bit of a clean and a lick of paint! breakfast on Saturday was chaos, it was like it was the first time they had run it, but Sunday was different again - food was nice however. Was OK for the price, but I would have expected more from a Four Pillars.

Reviewed by
Donna H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was somewhat surprised to learn that if I booked for xmas would have to pay 30pound a night extra wihich I thought was alittle excessive.

Reviewed by
michael neal

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our holiday in Oxford
Excellent service, nice room, good food, just what we needed. Could have done with a fan in the room, We asked but non available. (Weather was very hot!).

Reviewed by
R Sargeant

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Clean smart rooms. Helpful staff

Reviewed by
K Cox

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding stay in Abingdon.
Very good stay, hotel was easy to find and they were very helpful.

Reviewed by
David B

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
The room/bathroom was clean but very dated and tired. There was no central light in the room which meant it was difficult to read my textbooks (I was there on a course/exam). Other guests were leaving very early in the morning (5.30) onwards which made for a very noisy early wake up call.The staff were polite but the food they served was unimaginative and over cooked. Two other guests nearby sent their food back. I would not stay again. If it had been £50.00 a night I could accept it, but it wasnt.

Reviewed by
C BARKER

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next