No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Marcham Road , Oxford Abi, OX14 1TZ
Located on the outskirts of the historic town of Abingdon-on-Thames, yet within walking distance of the town centre and only six miles from Oxford, this three star hotel offers you all the comforts of home, away from home. The contemporary design, along with the modern facilities, delivers all the needs of today’s guest in a convenient location. The Octagon Bar and Restaurant is the perfect place to unwind and offers a tempting range of meals on its Bar & Grill menu, ranging from light snacks to hearty main courses. In good weather, guests can relax al fresco on the attractive terrace.
Picture of Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel, Oxford Abi at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good weekend
Always similar experience

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted you had such a great stay experience, the team here will really appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed by
SUSAN D

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service could be better
It would help that when you advertise the bar as being open 'Late' to hotel residents, that the General Manager does not then lock the bar at 11pm and leave for the evening with the keys, leaving no means of the night duty staff to serve hotel guests. There were quite a few disgruntled hotel guests in the lobby that evening.
Also, when you leave a sign on the Reception Desk, when it is not manned late at night, to use the reception phone to call a member of staff, it again helps that these staff answer the phone and respond to late night guests. As it was, I found them at the back of the hotel having a chat and a cigarette.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am sorry that you were not completely happy with your experience and we will take your comments on board. However, I am a little puzzled by your comments about the bar in the evening. As the General Manager I rarely open or close the bars and the keys do not leave site so the Night Team have access if required. In addition, I was actually here on the evening you stayed as we were hosting a client event in our function suite that went on until just after 1am and the bars were operational up until the end of this event, with a brief exception in the lounge bar at around midnight for 15 minutes or so in order for the team to cash up and revert to a residents room account bar. I am very sorry if this was not clear or caused confusion. We are always keen to take additional revenue and as long as guests are behaving and drinking responsibly and not detracting from other residents stay we are happy to continue a night bar operation.

Reviewed by
Emma F

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel let down by creaky floor!
I would stay here again, easily accessible from the A34 but a bit of a hike into Abingdon town centre. A modern hotel and room (ground floor room) which was great but for some reason the floor creaked terribly which became quite annoying. But had a quiet and restful night otherwise. Also made the mistake of paying in full on arrival so when i went for breakfast got charged the full rate instead of residents rate. But overall I would use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Room was a fair size but the bed was not comfortable. the duvet was for a double bed and the bed was king size and the pillows need replacing. Decor was a bit dated but was clean and the staff were nice and friendly.

Reviewed by
Jeanette D

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

party
Staff/service/location of hotel all resulted in a very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Dunoon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable & Convenient
Comfortable rooms, with good facilities. Excellent breakfast in spacious room.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, friendly staff nice room
says what it does on the tin, not too far from oxford basic room but clean, comfy beds, nice staff

Reviewed by
Elliot s

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

affordable comfortable hotel
I booked this on last minute and was a little worried after reading some of the reviews about unhelpful & rude staff but this was not our experience at all. for £50 the room was what we would expect; clean and fit for purpose. We found the staff to be fantastic; very helpful and friendly and the main reception/eating area has been refurbed to a lovely standard. The food was lovely (we ate off the bar menu one night) - we didnt have breakfast so can't comment but overall if you want a good, affordable hotel I would recommend.

Reviewed by
K Hill

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was great value for money. It was modern and extremely pleasant .
The only thing that I would ensure next time was to ask for a room that was more soundproof. At night The noise travelled through the room a bit too much for our liking but other than that, a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
U Khan

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A v enjoyable, comfortable stay in a pleasant n convenient situation

Reviewed by
Collette R

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next