Royal Albion Hotel

3

35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Price From 181.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (273)

48% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • lesley O

  • June 2015

Disappointed

I have stayed here several times befor but this was by far my worst stay.

The room had no ventilation or air conditioning, the window wouldn't open and you couldn't even see out as the glass was completely frosted. Only enough milk for one person. Toilet roll was left on top of the cistern, no holder at all and to top it off the room was in an old part of the hotel a fair distance from reception and the lift.

  • Brian D

  • June 2015

Good value

We were pleasantly surprised after reading quite a lot of negative feedback.

The staff were polite and helpful (like providing me with parking machine coins twice), the room was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom had all the toiletries we required, the aircon was quiet, and the location is awesome. Yes there was some scaffolding on one side as preservation work is being done, but if that preserves this lovely piece of Brighton's history, that's wonderful!

  • Ian Taylor

  • June 2015

Get what you pay for

Don't stay in 151 I did and it's next to the boiler room!!Around 2am I called reception asking to move rooms as it was too noisey and within 10 minutes they moved me to a different room which was a lot better.I only paid £37 pound for my room which I thought was good value for money.Its at a great location and does need work doing to maintain it.The staff were very helpful.They don't have a car park which isn't great as had to pay £15 to park nearby for the day.

  • Aaron antony

  • June 2015

Smelt like cigarettes

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

If it wasn't for the location this place would be closed. Rooms are dated and smell of stale cigarettes. Awful

  • T Pak

  • June 2015

You get what you paid for

We paid an unbeatable low price for a spacious twin room in a historic hotel at prime location.

We got a shabby room full of smell of paints, worn-out furniture (sofa, coffee table and rugs), scaffolds outside the room so the drapes must be used during builders' working hour, and unlockable door.

  • M Burns

  • June 2015

One of the worst rooms I've ever stayed in. Very poor standard

We paid a large amount of money for one night in this hotel via Laterooms and I honestly thought it would be a really lovely room for that money BUT NO!.

it was awful. It was a pokey hole of a room with the worst view ever. The furniture was dated, the curtains looked like they could fall down any second and the bathroom, well that was an experience, totally awful and worse standard we have come across in many years. We won't use this hotel again and certainly won't go via Laterooms.

  • Nick d

  • May 2015

Incredibly cheap but you get what you pay for!

I think we paid £39 for 1 nights stay.

The location is great but the room we were given had no natural light and had a very strange odour.

We paid extra for breakfast which was a mistake, it was a buffet style English breakfast but only added to our hangover. There are plenty of lovely places to eat in Brighton, don't waste your time with the hotel.

  • Marshall Davis

  • May 2015

Stay in Brighton

Excellent location.

Great value for money. Spacious clean room. Near clubs , night life and town. Room ventilation was poor and I missed my night out as a result due to a headache.

  • Justin T

  • April 2015

Nice Staff but a terrible and dirty hotel

I am not one to leave reviews, but the rooms in this place were so bad that i felt inclined to do so.

Cigarette butts under the radiator, carpets that don't fit the room, wall paper peeling off the walls, pubic hair on the soap dish, sheets with stains.... nothing good to say about the place. However the staff were very friendly and helpful, but that doesn't make up for the dismal hotel

  • Jack D

  • April 2015

Dated, shabby, overpriced, poorly run

The place is being run into the ground, it's hardly kept up, the carpets and walls are falling apart.

My room was cold, the telly small and with poor reception, the wifi was so slow it may as well not have been there. The receptionist took an age to check me in then sent me to the wrong floor. Appalling place.