No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 403 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very bad customer service
Obviously, this review will probably be removed soon for business reason.
So, happy life to social media!
Overall, I think the normal price of this room was overly expensive for the old building in which it is.
Also, I could see the way the customer service kick people out of their hotel for tourists people who actually booked and will probably be charge automatically.
These people made a mistake in their booking and no compassion from the staff who has just called their security service to kick them out with their luggage.
I can't leave any good review after viewing this kind of treatment for guests. Whatever the reason!!!
Honestly, I went to many hotel/hostel mostly in UK (more than 50) all other the world since 3 years now. And I have never seen that...
Should we remind the staff that Hotel etimology means "taking care of people"? Compassion and service is the _strict_ minimum when you run this kind of business. But I can't think of an hotel were the "reception" is proud to tell litterrally that they have no compassion for tourist.

Reviewed by
Jean-Francois A

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Early work start
Myself and a colleague stayed at the hotel due to having an early meeting the next day in Brighton. The hotel was close to the seafront and by local restaurants,pubs and clubs. The hotel is good value for money and was about a 10minute walk from Brighton station. The room was clean but tired and was in need of improvement - Capet , wallpaper.
Aside from this generally a good hotel.

Reviewed by
D Cook

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here
The pictures do not match the real room. Dont waist your money. £165 for 1 night (london boutique hotel price) is fraudulant. I reccomend Late Rooms remove this hotel from their website. The Hotel is a century past its glory days. The best thing about the room was the view. The room was basic for the 1980's and clearly hadnt been updated since. Having to edge past dumped decorators waste to get past the room was unacceptable - especially as it was still there 24 hrs later. Water damaged walls everywhere but no actuall sign of any work being done. No excuse for this level of accomodation at the price the deem acceptable to charge. Cannot stress enough.....there is much better service and accomodation 1 or 2 doors down....try them first.

Reviewed by
Sam Smith

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great last minute stay
Friendly staff, spacious rooms withcomfy beds. Conveniently located opposite Brighton pier.

Reviewed by
Hayley N

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

should have gone to charm school
The face of the hotel is the reception no greeting no smiles no communication very uninterested booked a disabled room didn't have one gave me a room in the basement which was unacceptable couldn't get in there due to my wheelchair just took the card key off me without a word(not a sorry sir we will sort it bear with us) which should have been the response sorted finally room looked like it hadn't seen an hoover or polish in months and I couldn't get in the bathroom lucky it was only for one night ,food not good quality I must point out the rest of the staff around hotel were very pleasant and helpful

Reviewed by
david l

From Bargoed, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
We stay here regularly on business. It is easily the best situated hotel in town so parking is a problem (but not as bad as many other seafront hotels). The hotel is a bit tired but you get a good deal for the price. We will continue to use the Royal Albion as it suits our needs perfectly, but if you are willing to pay to be flunkied (but have a longer walk to a nice restaurant) then pay a lot more and look elsewhere. Great value.

Reviewed by
Patrick S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basement
A room for £135 was on basement without windows. Poor value for money

Reviewed by
Marina L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

requires total gutting, redecoration, replacement of furnishings.
We paid an extorshionate price for a less than standard room. The furniture was preastoric in the room and I don't mean antique. Wasn't cleaned properly the previous guests paperwork was still in room. There wasn't even towels. In the morning walking down the stairs there were large chunks of wallpaper and plaster that had come off,laying on the hallway, although there was a wedding the previous night so could have been them, as the notices in the lift had also been turned upside down. The breakfast was unpleasant and the staff kept leaning over my husbands shoulder while he was eating to move plates off the table when we hadn't finished. Very early check-out and they charge £10 per hour to stay longer.

Reviewed by
t inman

From Mayfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single Room
I got a very good deal and the room was of good quality and a good size for a single room. The bed was very comfortable. The TV a bit fuzzy and I would have liked more milk bit minor inconveniences.
I was very impressed with the care given to a woman I met in the hotel whose friend had suddenly died. It was excellent.
The staff are friendly and efficient. I am disabled and I would have liked a little help managing the Buffett without having to ask.
I love staying at this hotel. Location is perfect and facilities excellent. If I did win the money I would spend it on going back to this hotel.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
Lindsay P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton Rocks
The price for this accomodation was amazing and the added bonus was a room with a sea view. We were delighted. The breakfast was great value for money as there was everything you could have wanted and plenty of it. We would certainly return to this hotel. And will most certainly use Laterooms.com again.

Reviewed by
Trish B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next