No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 350 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Albion Hotel review
I got a good price for a room in Brighton (£25) - but the room itself (although clean) had no windows (a first for me), there was no ventilation/extractor fan in the bathroom and the fittings were all seriously rusted. The accessories (TV, lamps etc) were all tired and worn out. Signage to the room was out of date and confusing. The room was so far down in the basement area that wi-fi signal couldn't be accessed (tricky on a business trip). It was a bit like being in an internal cabin on a ship. I had meetings in town in the evening and first thing in the morning so can't comment on restaurant/bar/breakfast...

Reviewed by
Neil B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad, not great.
The Royal Albion hotel was clearly very grand and impressive in its day (about 1930), and they have done well to keep this image inside and throughout the hotel. However, due to the nature of staying in a large hotel, the room options we were given on arrival was either a room on street level just above a club or on the top floor wqith a great view of a wall. We chose the top floor room and had a peaceful night (apart from the seaguls, but that was actually quite relaxing.) The only other issue with our stay was that the toilet smelt awful throughout the 2 days we were there. I think there were some sewage issues.
So to reiterate..... not bad, but not great.

Reviewed by
Carl H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
We used late rooms to book this hotel as we stayed in Brighton last minute on a Saturday night.
Considering we booked at 8pm that evening and it was only £55 I was very impressed with the value for money.
If you like historic and characteristic venues this hotel is perfect. However, with staying in such an old style hotel certain facilities tend to deteriorate.
For example, having a jacuzzi in the bedroom is perfect - if it worked! The room is very dated and smelt that way also.
Value for money and service was excellent, If you want to travel back in time to the 60s.

Reviewed by
Rosie Rollinson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quite good
Good value for money.. excellent breakfast but window in room did not close.. some parts of hotel walls damp and very run down

Reviewed by
david k

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, clean and great value for money
I always stay at the Albion when I come to Brighton. It's not luxurious but for the money you couldn't ask for more. The location is amazing and the rooms are clean. When I'm in Brighton I only need somewhere to put my head down as there is much to do and this definately meets this requirement. If you plan to spend a large amount of time in your hotel maybe not the one for you.

Reviewed by
Lauren Sheehy

From Hertfordshire, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel should be pulled down and rebuilt.
Putting signs about the hotel apologising about the condition of the hotel blaming it upon the weather that the rooms are in poor condition is unacceptable
The reason that it is in poor condition is not about severe weather conditions it is about lack of routine maintenance.
The hotel is more than willing to accept your money but once you are there then they apologise for the poor condition this is unacceptable and should change. we will not be back to this hotel

Reviewed by
D Watts

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Albion Hotel
An old hotel that nevertheless has good quality rooms at a prime location for a very competitive price. This provided perfect short term accommodation whilst taking training and working in nearby West Street.
Only complaint was that chamber maids didn't seem to understand that a "do not disturb sign" means that the guest doesn't want to be disturbed (especially if she has worked all night and is desperate for sleep).

Reviewed by
Delphine B

From Wadhurst, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was ok it was clean put a bit tired but it was ok for wot I paid from laterooms

Reviewed by
Mark Boreham

From Brandon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic surprise
Loud music playing til late. Filthy carpet in room. And when we went to use spa bath it didn't work! On a good note had a lovely view!

Reviewed by
A Sims

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic -love it
Fantastic -love it

Reviewed by
alan z

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next