Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel


35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Price From 64.76 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (221)

48% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Ivan McCormick

  • November 2015

Albion hotel brighton

A proper old Victorian hotel experience, decent rooms on a very grand scale, love this kind of place

  • Robert B

  • October 2015

Lack of attention to detail.

On first glance the room looked clean and very nice, but on closer inspection there was a lipstick stained tissue under the desk, that tells me the room was not vacuumed and there was hair in the bath plug hole.

The bed sheets were clean and the bed was comfortable. If my wife had been there I am sure she would have complained.

As there was two of us sharing two cups and not one would have been handy, I did request another on the first day we were there but it never appeared.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Zar Li

  • August 2015

Good Hotel

  • Steven S

  • August 2015

Great location let down by poor hotel

This was once a beautiful hotel but time, and a lack of money, has taken its toll.

The location could not be better and the staff were, mostly, very pleasant. Our room, although a good size, smelt of damp and probably hasn't seen a lick of paint in quite some time. The bathroom was the worst part as was dirty, bath was cracked and broken, door frame was rotting away nicely. Someone also let the maintenance man loose with a tube of sealant, which is most likely where all the hotels spare cash is going. Overall the location of this hotel pretty much makes up for the downfalls, it was also full the night we stayed, so I guess there's no reason for them to spend any money on cleaning........

  • Amelia S

  • August 2015

Great location but uncomfortable bed

The Royal Albion Hotel was lovely.

The room was nice, but the bed was hard as rock. Neither my partner nor I slept well. Breakfast was a good deal for £5 additional. Check out is early (10am) and you have to pay for more time, which is unfortunate. The location is unparalleled, however, and so I would recommend staying here to be at the center of the action in Brighton.

  • Tom w

  • August 2015


A perfect place for someone who likes a dirty room and facilities which do not work.

we stayed there on the 21st for the night and thank god it was for a night, we were unable to sleep due to the noise in the hotel, the unbearable heat (AC didn't work) and the extremely hard bed. Upon checking in we received a room with the view of an extremely loud extractor fan and the state of the room was horrendous, mould in the bathroom, wallpaper peeling off and dirty cup stains, then we were moved to another room which wasn't much better. The sink leaked all over the floor making our stuff wet, upon speaking to the staff we got a measly 10% off. Wouldn't recommend anyone stay there especially for the price.

  • Simon C

  • August 2015

Nice on outside - tired on inside

Room was clean but very tired and in need of some attention.

Broken mirror in bathroom broken toilet roll holder broken basin plug etc. The public areas in need of attention too. Very expensive and certainly not value for money

  • Graham S

  • August 2015

Expected faded grandeur, got faded 80s

Room in need of refreshing and general maintenance.

Light bulbs out, loo roll holder missing, loo seat discoloured, phone not working, old style CRT TV, etc. No bath towels and one hand towel when we arrived. Phone not working so had to go to reception - eventually got 3 more towels all the same size saying it was all they had. Sea view obscured by scaffolding, though we were prewarned by the receptionist. Staff were generally pretty helpful and friendly though, and the location is great for beach and nightlife.

  • Andy C

  • August 2015

The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment, my room on the although clean, had wallpaper hanging off

They need to employ a receptionist with at least some basic social skills, I've stayed in many hotels travelling with work but I have never come across someone so miserable and rude on the front desk, manager was equally miserable, all I needed to do was cancel a room with 3 days notice, one call to laterooms had it sorted though.

  • M Wright

  • August 2015

Me and my mum stay at the hotel

Went with my mum 75 .got to reception lady was polite ask her if we could have a low floor we got room 102 which was first floor we were happy.went to the lift one one in the big hotel very small can't get much in there.went to room .veiw very nice we had a terrace very nice.beds comfortable TV old who as a brick TV nowadays .hello what happened to flat screen run out of money.wardrobe old to.needs a lot of work .didnt think it was worth £208 for 2 nite inc breast fast.breastfast was nice .staff were helpfully.hope u have a good stay lol.