Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel


35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Price From 64.76 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (221)

48% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • paul e

  • November 2014

night break

Had lovely stay, I have been to this hotel on many occasions and hsve never had a bad experience

  • I Pordage

  • November 2014

Fairly dandy

Beautiful hotel with everything you need including shower, mirrors and bedside tables but one of the things that really stood out was the fact that the window was bear enough black with dirt.

Anyhow, wasn't too bad and I can not complain

anymore as I had a lovely night sleep.

  • Elizabeth Groves

  • November 2014

over priced A shame

Sadly this hotel has been left to ruin, although the room was clean, it was run down old and not worth the price at all, It was a shame as the location was great.

Water leaking in the lobby, drafts in windows, nothing in room, and poor breakfast. Not sure what i expected for £95.00, but i've stayed in much better places for the same price, would i stay again .. yes, last minute xx

  • allen thomas

  • November 2014

our weekend at Brighton

Excellent location opposite the pier with lovely sea view.

Large bedroom and bathroom. However, the bed was uncomfortable, the TV was very old and small and situated on a low table which was uncomfortable to watch in bed. The decor throughout was very dated (including electric sockets) and needs updating. Breakfast well cooked with a wide range of choice. Plus extra, I.e., poached eggs on asking. Lovely bar and lounge area. Parking was very difficult. The parking outside the hotel was metered and cost £3.50 to book-in. The receptionist gave details of a 24 hour car park which no longer existed (according to a traffic warden). Luckily we knew of other car parks. We would stay again because of the location and hopefully if updated.

  • a habib

  • November 2014

Below mediocre

I booked a single room, was given a double wheb i begun to think it'll be awesome until i got to the room.

Bedsheets weren't clean, the window and doors wouldnt shut properly, the radiator doesnt work, paid for breakfast nor served or informed. They didnt even seem apologetic. Never staying there again

  • C Lynch

  • November 2014

This hotel is in a great location but unfortunately that is the only positive thing about it.

It is falling apart and definitely not worth the money. The breakfast was terrible and definitely not worth the money. There is water falling through the ceiling and the walls are crumbling. I really would not recommend this hotel.

  • Ihab A

  • November 2014

Bad experience

  • B Warner

  • November 2014

Poor Quality Accommodation

The hotel needs a refurbishment from top to bottom, particularly within the rooms.

I have stayed here once before about 6 months ago and it was the same then - dirty carpets, really old and tarnished furniture, including the bathroom, showers really old and leaking. This time my room was so hot I had to leave the window fully open all night, even though it was a very low temperature outside- I asked reception if I could turn the heat down and was told that 'it would go off soon' The air conditioning was taped over with a notice not to use it. Could not get to sleep. Find another hotel until this one has been done up!!

  • S Clark

  • October 2014

Royal Albion hotel

Was a good price but a few minor problems , the hotel needs some work as there was damp that could clearly be seen on the main stairwell and the stairs themselves were of poor quality the rooms were fine having everything you need but they were very dated and lacking plugs next to the bed, but even though they were dated there we're clean sheets which I expected

  • Archie C

  • October 2014

Great room and hotel let down by breakfast

Accommodation excellent value for money.

Room very clean but some furniture a bit dated. The breakfast was pretty poor due to very cheap produce, but for seven pounds maybe that's all one can expect. I would advise going to one of Brighton's many great caffees for a better value breakfast.