No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 397 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wallpaper was a little grubby but room was clean,
bathroom was very nice,

Reviewed by
D Whittaker

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly people any problems speak to Mohamed who will sort out straight away
I have stayed there on and off for 3 months and would rec anyone to stay

Reviewed by
A Cruikshanks

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central, affordable.
Best position in town. Affordable and fairly good quality - the hotel is rather tired looking but it's clean, the staff are friendly and polite. Our room had a balcony and the superb views of the pier and seafront. The bar serves simple food as well as drinks. All in all we were expecting a lot less so were more than delighted with The Royal Albion.

Reviewed by
G Crawford

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this place
Stayed with my mate for a night out and love view from the window and the bath and shower was really nice and clean as well as the rest of the room. I will come here again!

Reviewed by
J Morton

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby Chic
A grand hotel gone to pieces, crumbling plaster and chips on worn stairs. Clean rooms with nice 20s touches but over powering smell of shake an' vac. Glorious views of sea from dining room and breakfast of fair quality but despite request on booking form and assurances on booking in, restaurant could not deliver gluten free bread. Staff civil and apologetic but hardly impressive. This is a down market hotel run on a shoe-string and in need of massive upgrade and some management training. Has huge unrealised potential.

Reviewed by
gordon kirk

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great sea front central location - but a bit of faded grandeur
Stayed in Albion before and its a great location and lovely to get a sea view but internally the hotel is a bit faded and in need of a major re- decoration. The walls, decor a bit scruffy in places. There was food debris on the stairs in the morning and only one small lift for a big hotel which needed a good vacuum clean.
Breakfast reasonable though dining room a bit cramped to move between tables when carrying food and coffee in the urn didn't taste great.
Good staff customer care and nice ambiance in the lounge to sit in and watch the goings and comings on the sea front.
My bed room was clean but again could do with lighter and fresh decor.
I had stayed at the modern new jury's hotel at the station for two nights immediately before for business and the contrast between clean, modern surroundings if Jury's and the faded, in need of decoration/ refurb of the Albion was a bit stark. ( and Jurys was cheaper ).
If you want character on the seafront and can over-look the scruffy bits then Albion is ok and customer service was also good in my experience. I'd still go back to the Albion for the sea front location.

Reviewed by
Jane H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap accomadation at the heart of brighton
If you want dez rez then this place is not for you, but it was clean, had a good view, the beds were comfortable. I was not there to examine the hotel, only to sleep and have the bare essentials, and it was good enough. cheap and a good breakfast . location, location, location. GET THE MESSAGE...

Reviewed by
m cotter

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is an old building and the fabric of the building has not been maintained particularly wel

Reviewed by
joan t

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No windows, underneath the speakers of the function room
Shamelessly poor - a borderline con-trick. Laterooms bookers beware: this hotel will put you in a basement room with no windows if they can get away with it. The room I had was also seemingly inches below the night club floor, so the pounding sound of speakers continued unabated until 2 am. I complained several times but was only offered a switch to another windowless cellar room. Oh, and the TV remote didn't work.
What is particularly cynical about this outfit is that their basement ruse is - I later discovered - well known. They even number the cellar rooms in the 100s - to suggest when you check-in that you're on the 1st floor. The reception even had the gall to give me the wifi code - knowing that it wouldn't work (and you can't get mobile reception either).
Avoid at all costs. Somebody please reporting them to Trading Standards - this cannot be lega.

Reviewed by
Jacob G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting
Room was disgusting,We had a room next a night club but we were told we are in brighton so we was not allowed to sleep.

Reviewed by
R Collins

From Sandwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next