No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 403 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

always a good hotel reception staff always polite

Reviewed by
Damien Terrett Parks

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience
The rooms were very tired and had wall paper, mould in them. We had no water for 1 day so could not wash and despite complaining did not receive any compensation for lack of service. The first point of contact was the reception who we found very rude. Lifts were very slow and far too small. The room was never cleaned and not enough towels or pillows. We had to constantly keep asking for tea, coffee, milk in the room as supplies were very mean. Staff appeared very miserable with the exception of one night manager who was very helpful who was Irish.

Reviewed by
Stacie W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay there
Male staff was polite, lady on reception was abrupt.we left our bag there as early arrival but wasn't asked for confirmation could have left you a bomb and you wouldn't have known who left you it. Staircase wells falling apart holes in walls creaky floor boards.Room carpet was stained and dirty towel had a black mark on.The room was very hot and had a fan outside window so noisy all night.with the window open.There was old half used shower gel still in bath room,shower curtain mouldy at the bottom there was a hole in the bath room ceiling so over all very let down especially as stay 6 years ago and was nice then just gives a very run down feel and feel the travelodge is better service and in a lot better condition .

Reviewed by
P Clark

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

albion re-treat
i stayed at this hotel a couple of times last year with my son, having had a difficult time, esp since losing my mum, my son going off to uni and finding myself living alone i decided on spur of moment to 'get away' from london if only for a short break, i got a good price on laterooms and on arrival,altho i wasnt due to check in for 2 hours i was given key,room smelled of damp somewhat but since the hotel suffered stormdamage wasnt surprising, and its an old hotel, bed was comfortable, i couldnt empty jacuzzi bath and staff were there in minutes to help, breakfast was nice and location to sea/pier is second to none,staff very hepful, it is what it is, a comfortable old style hotel and being able to sit in bed and watch the sea is lovely, also to breathe in a bit of sea air

Reviewed by
k dillon

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good value hotel in an excellent location.
The hotel enjoys a perfect location, being situated close to the beach, the Royal Pavilion and Museum, the lanes, and busses to all locations. I loved the lounge, with its panoramic views of Brighton pier and beach. The food was good value, but was catering food, not the best sort of hotel cooking. Still, you cannot expect too much for a £5 breakfast and a three-course evening meal costing £10. My bedroom was dingy, in that it had two small windows lit by a small light well. But the mattress was good - important as I have a bad back. The staff were helpful and the atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed and friendly. One point: the hotel should get a native English speaker to review all notices - which were written very awkwardly and did not always convey the intended meaning.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From TOTNES, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay here all the time
What can i say about this hotel, I stay here every other week for 1 night on a weekend and i think im on my 20th stay lol. 2 of the receptionist are lovely (blond lady & taller lady Curly hair) other 2 are not so nice, always ask for a room on a upper floor 214 to 218 (smoking) Do not go in the dungons
noise is horrendus on a weekend. the bar is nice and the food is good for a snack. Less said about lady behind the bar the better, one time i had to help 2 old ladies to their table with the tray of tea while she stood chatting and drinking after making it for them.

Reviewed by
D Parks

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

damp dirty rooms
the walls were wet paper hanging of the wall old dirty room the room i was moved to was just as bad
breakfast was dry food sat out all morning only scrambled egg was told we don`t do fry/poched eggs
would give this hotel a miss and the staff don`t care

Reviewed by
r bruce

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was ok room was not weath 89 pound a night
Book a seafront room but when got there they had given my room to someone else so had no seafront rooms left had to pay more money for breakfast on top and the food was not good it had to taste to it was not happy

Reviewed by
V Bates

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not cheap at all and I was given a room a bit dirty without any ventilation.
I could hear everything from my room actually no the best place to go. They know they are placed in a good place so they do not care much about the hotel.

Reviewed by
Jose Antoniio H

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place

Reviewed by
S Terrett-parks

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next