Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3

35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Price From 182.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (202)

44% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Joshua J

  • February 2015

Nice surprise

Booked single room and got large spacious twin room with sea view.

After that nothing could be a minus. Room was tired and in need of renovation but everything worked and bed comfy.

  • Dean B

  • February 2015

Dated

The Royal Albion hotel is very tired and dated The exterior was being refurbished while we were there but I think it would be a better idea to start inside !!.

The room wasn't particularly clean with an antiquated tv and really shabby bathroom- cracked tiles, rotting door and filthy leaking shower screen !. Miserable receptionist who couldn't do less for you. The breakfast was good and breakfast staff lovely !. No parking at the hotel - £5 for two hours up the road - if you can find a space

  • Josh M

  • February 2015

Value for Money; But Not at Full Price

My room was at a significantly reduced price considering the late booking (reduced from £95 to £23).

I have to say that at the normal price, it would have been a huge rip-off. There is no way the room was worth anything more than £40-50 per night. But at the reduced price I got, it was definitely value for money. PLUSES: Fantastic location right opposite the pier and amongst the action (although note difficulties with finding cheap parking in the centre - I parked in Lewes Road and walked 10 minutes to the hotel); Friendly and helpful staff; Buffet breakfast with everything you might like to see; Good wifi connection; Generally clean and tidy; Perfectly comfortable bed; Warm in room; Quite quiet considering central location; Hot shower

NEGATIVES: My room was essentially a dungeon (because work was being done on the exterior and I happened to be in the basement, there was no natural light); The hotel clearly just does 'enough' - cheap toilet roll, cheap coffee and tea in room, cheap soap, cheapish/old decor; low quality breakfast items (eg although there was an abundance of breakfast sausages, they were the lowest quality you could find, and the scrambled egg was very milky); Significant rust on the shower handle rail; Quite a cold ensuite bathroom,

Overall I would definitely stay again at the reduced price. But I wouldn't pay more than £45 for the same room. Note however, a room with a sea view on the upper levels may be very different.

  • lee m

  • February 2015

Good Service Tired Hotel

Not lot else to say other than the title, staff are nice but a very tired looking hotel with even tireder rooms

  • Alexander l

  • February 2015

Good on a budget

cheap and cheerful, currently in the middle of building works so would not have been happy if i'd paid more than £40

  • M Brown

  • January 2015

Good value

  • John Broughton

  • January 2015

terrible

Really horrible, I only stayed after being stranded by a train, never again !.

  • Neil B

  • January 2015

Royal Albion Hotel review

I got a good price for a room in Brighton (£25) - but the room itself (although clean) had no windows (a first for me), there was no ventilation/extractor fan in the bathroom and the fittings were all seriously rusted.

The accessories (TV, lamps etc) were all tired and worn out. Signage to the room was out of date and confusing. The room was so far down in the basement area that wi-fi signal couldn't be accessed (tricky on a business trip). It was a bit like being in an internal cabin on a ship. I had meetings in town in the evening and first thing in the morning so can't comment on restaurant/bar/breakfast...

  • Carl H

  • January 2015

Not bad, not great.

The Royal Albion hotel was clearly very grand and impressive in its day (about 1930), and they have done well to keep this image inside and throughout the hotel.

However, due to the nature of staying in a large hotel, the room options we were given on arrival was either a room on street level just above a club or on the top floor wqith a great view of a wall. We chose the top floor room and had a peaceful night (apart from the seaguls, but that was actually quite relaxing.) The only other issue with our stay was that the toilet smelt awful throughout the 2 days we were there. I think there were some sewage issues. So to reiterate..... not bad, but not great.

  • Rosie Rollinson

  • January 2015

Cheap and cheerful

We used late rooms to book this hotel as we stayed in Brighton last minute on a Saturday night.

Considering we booked at 8pm that evening and it was only £55 I was very impressed with the value for money. If you like historic and characteristic venues this hotel is perfect. However, with staying in such an old style hotel certain facilities tend to deteriorate.

For example, having a jacuzzi in the bedroom is perfect - if it worked. The room is very dated and smelt that way also. Value for money and service was excellent, If you want to travel back in time to the 60s.