Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel


35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Price From 374.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (221)

48% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Brown

  • January 2015

Good value

  • John Broughton

  • January 2015


Really horrible, I only stayed after being stranded by a train, never again !.

  • Neil B

  • January 2015

Royal Albion Hotel review

I got a good price for a room in Brighton (£25) - but the room itself (although clean) had no windows (a first for me), there was no ventilation/extractor fan in the bathroom and the fittings were all seriously rusted.

The accessories (TV, lamps etc) were all tired and worn out. Signage to the room was out of date and confusing. The room was so far down in the basement area that wi-fi signal couldn't be accessed (tricky on a business trip). It was a bit like being in an internal cabin on a ship. I had meetings in town in the evening and first thing in the morning so can't comment on restaurant/bar/breakfast...

  • Carl H

  • January 2015

Not bad, not great.

The Royal Albion hotel was clearly very grand and impressive in its day (about 1930), and they have done well to keep this image inside and throughout the hotel.

However, due to the nature of staying in a large hotel, the room options we were given on arrival was either a room on street level just above a club or on the top floor wqith a great view of a wall. We chose the top floor room and had a peaceful night (apart from the seaguls, but that was actually quite relaxing.) The only other issue with our stay was that the toilet smelt awful throughout the 2 days we were there. I think there were some sewage issues. So to reiterate..... not bad, but not great.

  • Rosie Rollinson

  • January 2015

Cheap and cheerful

We used late rooms to book this hotel as we stayed in Brighton last minute on a Saturday night.

Considering we booked at 8pm that evening and it was only £55 I was very impressed with the value for money. If you like historic and characteristic venues this hotel is perfect. However, with staying in such an old style hotel certain facilities tend to deteriorate.

For example, having a jacuzzi in the bedroom is perfect - if it worked. The room is very dated and smelt that way also. Value for money and service was excellent, If you want to travel back in time to the 60s.

  • david k

  • January 2015

quite good

Good value for money..

excellent breakfast but window in room did not close.. some parts of hotel walls damp and very run down

  • M Gill

  • January 2015

Royal Albion Hotel

Decent location Room had a leak, other areas had some water damage.

Quite an old place

  • Lauren Sheehy

  • January 2015

Great location, clean and great value for money

I always stay at the Albion when I come to Brighton.

It's not luxurious but for the money you couldn't ask for more. The location is amazing and the rooms are clean. When I'm in Brighton I only need somewhere to put my head down as there is much to do and this definately meets this requirement. If you plan to spend a large amount of time in your hotel maybe not the one for you.

  • D Watts

  • December 2014

This hotel should be pulled down and rebuilt.

Putting signs about the hotel apologising about the condition of the hotel blaming it upon the weather that the rooms are in poor condition is unacceptable

The reason that it is in poor condition is not about severe weather conditions it is about lack of routine maintenance.

The hotel is more than willing to accept your money but once you are there then they apologise for the poor condition this is unacceptable and should change. we will not be back to this hotel

  • Mark Boreham

  • December 2014

The room was ok it was clean put a bit tired but it was ok for wot I paid from laterooms