No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 373 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid at all cost
Extremely shabby & staff very rude. Will never go there again, complete waste of money

Reviewed by
Darren Bonnefoy

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend away
The hotel is in a great location right along the seafront all of a stones throw away from the pier and sealife.

Reviewed by
mark lally

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid at all cost
Extremely shabby & staff very rude. Will never go there again, complete waste of money

Reviewed by
Darren Bonnefoy

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired hotel not worht he money
Spend £99 on a standard double, arrived to no one in reception for 10 minutes security finally found someone to check us in. We were given a free upgrade to a sea view room, but have to say the quality of the room was awful and if this was an upgrade god knows what a standard double would have been like. Mould all over the room and bathroom, very tired furniture. Bedside light hanging off the wall.
Lots of warning signs around hotel that damage was caused by “Storm Damage” but this was not storm damage this is sheer neglect of the hotel! Its run down and well over priced. It should have been £39 for that hotel room.
On the plus the bed was comfortable, hotel was quiet and the view was very nice. Never again however!!!

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uk
Good clean room food ok

Reviewed by
Dave C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Experience
A very good experience, very pleased with the hotel and staff. Good value for price paid and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Martin K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated very old in its day probably very grand kind of sad to see it needs a bit of money to give it the standard the outside building deserves and if you stay three nights do you get room service and changed every morning i didn't the second night?

Reviewed by
paul ross

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good!!
Smelt bad, dirty bathroom, noises room, one towel for me and my partner, not a nice experience at all. On our arrival a elderly disabled lady needed to go to the toilet but couldn't as the lift was broken and it was myself that had to offer to carry her down the stairs as staff members didn't know what to do.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Etchingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired hotel. Not worth the money. Standard double room very small. Had a funny smell. Very hot room. Towels were dirty. Only one lift. Whole place needs revamping. Will not stay there again.

Reviewed by
katrina k

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Booked last minute as we decided to go to Brighton for the weekend and this hotel was the only one with an available room. There wasn't any description of the room other than 'standard double'. We arrived at the hotel, checked in and went through a maze underground to eventually find our room which was a smoking room, with no window and no ventilation/extractor fan. As you can imagine, it smelt quite bad. The red carpet left stains on the bottom of our feet and socks. The bathroom contained a quarter of a roll of toilet roll, we did however note the jacuzzi system built into the bath, which after the array of let downs of the room, made up for it a bit. But of course... It didn't work. So we went to reception to point out how the oxygen levels in the room were at about 2%, there was no description of it being a smoking room and asked for a different room, as it was pride festival there was nothing available, which isn't really the issue. The reaction to the lack of ventilation was 'we can give you a fan'. Brilliant! Let's push the horrible air around the room! The main annoyance is that we paid £169 for a room that at most should have been £90. The only thing they could do was add on a free late check out. I'm also quite sure that they put the prices up for the festival which is appalling considering it was a last minute booking and we were not aware that the festival was on. Also at one point I went to reception to ask a question, there were two members of staff who stood talking to one another and didn't even acknowledge me. It took several minutes for one of them to realise I wasn't invisible and was clearly standing at the desk looking for assistance. Overall 1/10. The 1 being it had a bed.

Reviewed by
Camilla D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next