You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3

35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Price From 104.76 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (149)

44% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sandra M

  • March 2015

OK for one night

Room was small, quiet, no window (would be nice to know beforehand), clean but very run down.

Tv was working but the screen made the picture look pink at the top, heating was working fine and the water temperature & pressure was also great (bath a bit old, would not have a bath in it, but fine for a shower). Ok if you just need a place to stay, but would not recommend it for a romantic getaway.

  • Adrian W

  • March 2015

A very unsatisfactory experience

I think the crumbling building (apologies for storm damage up everywhere) would be forgivable if it was not accompanied by disinterested customer service.

The whole place felt like somewhere from a different decade (not in a good way), dowdy, depressed, lack-lustre. And then there was the scaffolding and the workmen right outside the bedroom window at 8:30. A nice breakfast might have cheered me up, but unfortunately the breakfast was very bad. I really would not stay there again

  • Sarah M

  • March 2015

In desperate need of work

Obviously a very old building, I can imagine that once upon a time it was quite grand, but now it's tired and very dated.

My room was at the end of a series of long corridors opposite unused function rooms that gave it quite an eerie feel. Furniture old and mismatched, windows drafty, 70s carpet, ceiling had a big damp stain, bed hard but sheets clean, broken power socket surrounds, at least the bathroom has had a makeover but still lacking a decent shower curtain. Overall, somewhere to sleep and wash yourself but more hostel standard than hotel.

  • Debra M

  • March 2015

Don't stay on the 5th floor

Stayed in room 512.

It stunk of damp and stale smoke. Complained to the receptionist every morning but nothing was done about it. I even begged for a plug in air freshener. We were eventually moved on the last night after having to ask. We tried about 3 other rooms on the 5th floor before finding one that didn't smell. We are still trying to get the smell out of our clothes and bags.

  • T Hussain

  • March 2015

Excellent place to stay.

Exclusive breakfast, best location in Brighton.

Above all the receptionist from Madrid was very beautiful!

  • A Lee

  • March 2015

Room was tired and old, bad smell in the bathroom and ripped carpet.

Needs the rooms updating. Parking was a real pain on the seafront machines were not working with a card. Frustrating stay!

  • Brian R

  • February 2015

Friday/sat stay

Excellent hotel & location.

But was abit pricey. Without breakfast.

  • Paul M

  • February 2015

Could do better

Room was adequate for the price but for the fact that the heating didn't work and water and cold air were coming into the room via newly fitted windows.

Maintenance quickly brought up a portable heater which helped with warming the room while we were out. Besides the room, the hotel is going through extensive renovations and this had an effect on our stay.

The shower and bath were wonderful and we enjoyed exploring Brighton.

  • Jamie Crosswell

  • February 2015

AWFUL- Strongly advise you not to waste your money here!

This hotel was awful!- I arrived and checked in.

My room was in the basement as seemed very much as if it was a redecorated cupboard!- this was the good bit. On entering the room there was loud music and creaking of the floorboards above. I questioned this with reception who advised this was a club not related to them and it's open until 2am. I therefore asked for a new room and was told they are very busy so only have the smoking floor which I reluctantly accepted to my further regret. This room stunk so badly of smoke. I work with patients with chronic lung disease and this room was on or with one of my patients who have smoked for 25years plus and therefore has yellow walls. The trim was baking hot and the fan did not work. There was a disgustingly dirty fan on the side table that I would not risk turning it on for the risk of choking on the amount of dust. The tv was an old tube tv where the colour had gone so difficulty seeing a picture. The shower was a dribble of water. I was woken before 6am due to the noise of the old water pipes and a fan system directly outside the window. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever experience and for such an expensive price. I have stayed in youth hostels for better rooms, cleanliness and price!!

  • AMRIT B

  • February 2015

For The Price, I Expected a Lot More.

The hotel itself from the outside looks great (there was exterior work going on when I went though so there was a lot of scaffolding up) and the hotel is excellently positioned right opposite the Pier as well as being around the corner from a lot of the places I would be visiting.

The customer service was professional and polite and the room (I am unsure if this is a standard feature) I was in had a nice whirlpool bath which was absolutely heaven to use. Unfortunately was pretty much the extent of the upsides of the hotel. Other than the bath in the room, the room itself looked as if it was in a major need of refurbishment. The decor looked very tired and worn out, the lighting in the room was really low but am unsure if this was just the way the lighting was meant to be or because one of the bulbs in the fixture was blown (it was hard to tell). The room absolutely stank of what smelled like boiled cabbage when we first arrived which was very off-putting so we left the window open all night in the hopes of getting rid of the smell which did the trick to a degree. Saying this, the cleanliness of the room itself was excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable which led to a great nights sleep for the two nights I was there. The original plan was to visit this hotel with a female friend but after getting there I think I was glad she was unable to go because the quality of the room was not what I expected at all. For the amount I had spent on the room I was very disappointed and unfortunately I will not be staying at this hotel again.