No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 406 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place

Reviewed by
S Terrett-parks

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

royal albion shabby not chic
We stayed here one night only. It cost 135 pounds and I had expected better. Our room was on the ground floor and extremely noisy at night. The decor was grubby, extractor fan did not work, stained carpet,cracked bathroom tiles and rusty shower curtain rail. The curtains were thin and did not completely cover the Windows. Breakfast was not worth the money, poor quality food and badly organised. The whole hotel needs a major upgrade.

Reviewed by
J Devaney

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth booking
The room was basically good, or was clean, but the fact that dirty cups from the previous occupants were left outside the room for two days, until I moved them didn't give the right impression, nor was the large hole in the ceiling outside the room conducive to a good impression.

Reviewed by
Margart F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place

Reviewed by
S Terrett-parks

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisy all night and into the morning. inadequate bed size. dirty tables at breakfast
Thoroughly disliked our stay here. We were in a room at the very back of a dingy hotel. Passing rubbish bags laundry bins and empty beer barrels on our way to room. The room was a good size but awful decor
A small sized double was no good for my 6ft 4 in tall hubby! The windows proved useless in blocking out a single bit of noise. Staff passing and sitting outsidd rhe window of our room through the night. Then the bins being emtpied at about 5 am also parked infront of the qindow. And then the beer guys turned up and must of unloaded 100 barrells they dropped and clanked to the floor. Not a minutes sleep with the scary pics above the bed either. I am officially haunted by this loss of £100 and wished I had paid £30 to stay at the hilton!! Had to ask numerous waitresses to clean the table we were given at breakfast and none did so. Breakfast was a poor empty buffet no drinks served! Juat managed to get a napkin.. on checkout it was a give me your room key and go we are busy.. no how was your stay etc..

Reviewed by
V Macey

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed and upset
What a shame we had awful stay, the location fabulous The name of hotel said the complete opposite of what is was, a waste of money I happily spend for good service which didnt happen

Reviewed by
lesley W

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I entered the Hotel to check in after just having had a fall in a nearby street. I was told the room was ready but I couldn't have the key until I had signed a form. I explained that I needed to go to hospital & that my right arm (which I was supporting with my left hand) was possibly broken, therefore I could not sign.
I was in shock & distressed, none of which appeared to register with the two female Staff working at reception. My husband intervened and asked if we could leave our luggage while I went to find a Ladies toilet.
The room itself was fine, although the net curtains at the windows badly needed ironing. I would have thought that a decent Housekeeper would have noted this and have them taken down.
There was a small T.V. perched on a coffee table, not a great look!
Breakfast the next morning was a disappointment, the food was not hot & although it was self-service, it would have nice if Staff had shown you to a table & explained how the buffet worked.
As I had only booked for one night it was not a big deal.
I have stayed at the Royal Albion on a few prior occasions.

Reviewed by
M Small

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Really friendly staff. Made our stay
We arrived at the hotel and had a problem with late rooms as our hotel had not received our reservation so the staff done everything they could to help solve the situation. After 15 minutes of still not receiving our reservation the manager said he'd book us into a different room and upgraded us to a room with a sea view and we had a direct view of the pier from our balcony. And the manager also threw in breakfast as well. They just couldn't do enough to accommodate us. Even on day of departure they let us store our luggage in the hotel while we went out for the day. Cannot fault them at all. Would happily return again.

Reviewed by
Daniel G

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last resort only
This hotel is great for location but that's about it. To say it's tired and needs updating is being polite. To be fair everything in my room worked but the stained carpet, holes in the net curtain, curtains hanging off the rail, and general shabbiness of the room weren't so easy to overlook. I was part of a group booking and we had problems checking in with rooms not being available. The reception staff were less than polite.

Reviewed by
S Morhall

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apauling
The reception Staff were rude and Could barely speak English, we were given out room keys to
Two
Doubles booked at the same time but were at opposite sides of the corridor! I walked into my room which
I paid 100 for one night out of the tiny window was a wall the lighting was awful and we only had two
Towels one hand one large for two
Of us! When we went to my mums room there's cost the same yet was double the siZe. Later on we went down to the bar we waited for 15minutes and there was no one around, so we went to reception where we were told 'there's only one
Staff member they're probably in the kitchen' so
I said we've been
Waiting 15mins which she replied with a shrug. The bar seating was ripped and all the stuffing hanging out, the atmosphere was awful. The ceiling was full
Of damp.
The only good thing was the location the room staff and general hotel was awful and I am
Very disappointed.

Reviewed by
Charlotte F

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next