No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 401 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious
The hotel staff are welcoming and friendly but I found the room very hot and stuffy - I suffer from Asthma and had a bit of a rough night. The hotel is also a bit worn and could do with a refurbish - I believe some areas are already undergoing renovation. That said, I did, otherwise, enjoy my stay.

Reviewed by
John Gilbert

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best location
I enjoyed the most was the panaromic view of Brighton Pier looking through the windows of the dining room. It was very enjoyable to spend an afternoon in the bar or the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Hon Kong LAM

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but great location
If you want somewhere to stay right in the middle of everything and are not too fussed about where you are sleeping then the royal Albion will be for you. I personally didn't mind the peeling wallpaper etc as we only used it as a place to sleep. The room itself (although dated and sad looking) was tidy and the view to the pier was lovely. I would stay again purely because of the location was fantastic

Reviewed by
M Cater

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for the money
When I arrived at the door of our room the keys would not work. I returned to reception and was met at the room by a member of staff who opened the door for us. When my eyes had adjusted to the light (no natural light in the room) - I realised that someone else was already staying in my room - hence the reason our keys would not work! Besides, it was a double room and we required a twin room. Back to reception - we were given another room with apologies - this time with windows!! Oh, and a side view of the sea. Finally, we had a clean and comfortable room.

Reviewed by
L Simmonds

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty, Falling apart and 30 years behind the times - a terrible experience
The hotel is just old and un-loved - lots of the rooms have mould growing on the walls (not just patched but over the entire wall) Carpets held down with gaffa-tape, small old-school TVs on a stand that meant if you were in bed you couldnt see it as it was too low. Air con doesnt work, the hotel is so hot. Storm damage everywhere including holes in walls and damp - there are notes on the walls saying it is stom damage - but no pre-warning of this on booking. Crapets are stained and brown, walls have dirt all over them, light switched are filthy where 1000's of grubby hands have used them, service poor. They are more interested in the large coach parties than individuals - The point of a hotel is to sleep - I didnt get any.

Reviewed by
TOM P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Truly awful
Dated, tired and old. Cheap as in price, but not cheap enough.

Reviewed by
R Carter

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Utter Rubbish
Arrived late in the evening after a long journey and subsequently couldn't change rooms, these are what we found:
Window wouldn't shut so were cold all night
Kept up all night by the local club next to the building
Breakfast was horrific, the fruit was several days old - some of which was off
The hotel is in a general state of disrepair
The hot water tap ddn't work
When the shower was on in our room and others nearby the pipes rattled like a neumatic drill in the wall
When I raised these with the manager in the morning I was offered 2 hours extra for free in my room and told that nothing else could be done. This hotel is appauling, the most irritating thing about it is that it has so much potential.
I've stayed in travel hostels that are better than this.
Do not stay here. You will be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Thomas Hough

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

always a good hotel reception staff always polite

Reviewed by
Damien Terrett Parks

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience
The rooms were very tired and had wall paper, mould in them. We had no water for 1 day so could not wash and despite complaining did not receive any compensation for lack of service. The first point of contact was the reception who we found very rude. Lifts were very slow and far too small. The room was never cleaned and not enough towels or pillows. We had to constantly keep asking for tea, coffee, milk in the room as supplies were very mean. Staff appeared very miserable with the exception of one night manager who was very helpful who was Irish.

Reviewed by
Stacie W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay there
Male staff was polite, lady on reception was abrupt.we left our bag there as early arrival but wasn't asked for confirmation could have left you a bomb and you wouldn't have known who left you it. Staircase wells falling apart holes in walls creaky floor boards.Room carpet was stained and dirty towel had a black mark on.The room was very hot and had a fan outside window so noisy all night.with the window open.There was old half used shower gel still in bath room,shower curtain mouldy at the bottom there was a hole in the bath room ceiling so over all very let down especially as stay 6 years ago and was nice then just gives a very run down feel and feel the travelodge is better service and in a lot better condition .

Reviewed by
P Clark

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next