No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 402 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay with an incredible view. Nice room with that iconic Royal Albion decor. Friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Teresa Goncalves

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

condition of decor and fittings very poor, damaged, very worn,and run down. do not recommend.
windows jammed shut with broken window cords. general condition was very poor. lift working erratically. noisy.

Reviewed by
James G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go there
Hotel condition poor , tired ,

Reviewed by
I Ross

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend stay
Had a lovely weekend in Brighton! Hotel was in a great location but a little tatty and in need of a revamp.

Reviewed by
laura c

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but improvements are needed
Location is perfect for the pier and to get into the town easily. Staff were good. However, rooms are tired looking and the bathroom fan was broken in our room. Breakfast was ok, but there were no fried eggs and the scrambled egg was very watery.

Reviewed by
Lucy H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh boy
Dilapidated, over prices and falling apart. Staff were quite nice at least.

Reviewed by
Alfie D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Quality
There was a cockroach in the first room we were given. We moved to a different room which was fairly basic.
No Air Conditioning available in the hotel. An open window on the sea front is not particularly quiet

Reviewed by
stewart cooper

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best location
I enjoyed the most was the panaromic view of Brighton Pier looking through the windows of the dining room. It was very enjoyable to spend an afternoon in the bar or the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Hon Kong LAM

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious
The hotel staff are welcoming and friendly but I found the room very hot and stuffy - I suffer from Asthma and had a bit of a rough night. The hotel is also a bit worn and could do with a refurbish - I believe some areas are already undergoing renovation. That said, I did, otherwise, enjoy my stay.

Reviewed by
John Gilbert

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but great location
If you want somewhere to stay right in the middle of everything and are not too fussed about where you are sleeping then the royal Albion will be for you. I personally didn't mind the peeling wallpaper etc as we only used it as a place to sleep. The room itself (although dated and sad looking) was tidy and the view to the pier was lovely. I would stay again purely because of the location was fantastic

Reviewed by
M Cater

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next