Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3

35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Price From 126.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (261)

48% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Maureen W

  • September 2014

Lovely hotel in need of refurb - owners need to take note of reviews

This grand hotel is in great location so can't understand why the owners have not maintained it to the standard one would expect of such a hotel in a prominent position in Brighton or at the very least sell it on to someone who would take a pride in restoring it to the great hotel it once was.

Such a shame when this happens and it must be a shadow of its former self. My room was huge with lovely sea views but the windows were impossible to open. ( I was moved from my first room as the windows there were nailed to stay open - bizarre!)

It was a good deal for £39 single ( no breakfast)

The staff were friendly and very helpful, but overworked as only saw two of them having to deal with all book ins and problems that arose. Come on owners - get this sorted or sell it on!

  • Jonathan Scott

  • September 2014

Hotel Abd room very tired needs some TlC to bring back a high standard

  • Roberta s

  • September 2014

it's ok

Before to book I read some reviews.

Honestly it's not so bad. The hotel it's pretty much clean but it's really old. The best things: it's close to the station and it's in front of the se!

  • Charles L

  • September 2014

Charming in a 90s way

My room, whilst comfortable enough, included a broken wardrobe, a bthroom which clearly hadn't been cleaned (a sink full of dirty water proved this) and a shower which only had lukewarm or scalding as temperature options.

I also had no view from my window, as well as complete lack of phone signal, and a 90s style tv with no remote. I wouldn't complain about any of these things had I not seen the obscene prices they charge for their other rooms. Staff were great though!

  • Marco M

  • August 2014

Royal Albion Hotel -

Room is in need of decorating, carpets stained and did not look that clean, Not all the bedside lights worked.

Ironing press either not plugged in or working. Attention to details lacking. Food fair and customer service fair. Location excellent but would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Andrew R

  • August 2014

Absolutely dreadful

Staff cannot speak English and are not interested.

Windows nailed shut.in the height of summer. Flood damage to carpets, absolutely awful. Have never stayed at a worse hotel and for £160 per night , a complete rip-off. Would never stay here again.

  • David D

  • August 2014

Very nice room and value for money

We have stayed at this hotel once before so were happy to return,it's a very nice hotel,friendly staff and great value for money,we had a very nice room with 2 balconies with sea views,it's a nice clean and comfortable hotel and you have everything in Brighton on your doorstep,will definitely be returning.

  • mark lally

  • August 2014

Great weekend away

The hotel is in a great location right along the seafront all of a stones throw away from the pier and sealife.

  • Martin K

  • August 2014

A Good Experience

A very good experience, very pleased with the hotel and staff.

Good value for price paid and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Simon W

  • August 2014

Very tired hotel not worht he money

Spend £99 on a standard double, arrived to no one in reception for 10 minutes security finally found someone to check us in.

We were given a free upgrade to a sea view room, but have to say the quality of the room was awful and if this was an upgrade god knows what a standard double would have been like. Mould all over the room and bathroom, very tired furniture. Bedside light hanging off the wall. Lots of warning signs around hotel that damage was caused by “Storm Damage” but this was not storm damage this is sheer neglect of the hotel. Its run down and well over priced. It should have been £39 for that hotel room. On the plus the bed was comfortable, hotel was quiet and the view was very nice. Never again however!!.