No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 403 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap accomadation at the heart of brighton
If you want dez rez then this place is not for you, but it was clean, had a good view, the beds were comfortable. I was not there to examine the hotel, only to sleep and have the bare essentials, and it was good enough. cheap and a good breakfast . location, location, location. GET THE MESSAGE...

Reviewed by
m cotter

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is an old building and the fabric of the building has not been maintained particularly wel

Reviewed by
joan t

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No windows, underneath the speakers of the function room
Shamelessly poor - a borderline con-trick. Laterooms bookers beware: this hotel will put you in a basement room with no windows if they can get away with it. The room I had was also seemingly inches below the night club floor, so the pounding sound of speakers continued unabated until 2 am. I complained several times but was only offered a switch to another windowless cellar room. Oh, and the TV remote didn't work.
What is particularly cynical about this outfit is that their basement ruse is - I later discovered - well known. They even number the cellar rooms in the 100s - to suggest when you check-in that you're on the 1st floor. The reception even had the gall to give me the wifi code - knowing that it wouldn't work (and you can't get mobile reception either).
Avoid at all costs. Somebody please reporting them to Trading Standards - this cannot be lega.

Reviewed by
Jacob G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting
Room was disgusting,We had a room next a night club but we were told we are in brighton so we was not allowed to sleep.

Reviewed by
R Collins

From Sandwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and run down
The staff were nice but for the price of staying here on a Saturday night I expected more. We were given a room below ground level with a view of an alley full of rubbish. Pictures on the wall falling off hooks and the room had no natural light.
Great location but I have stayed in hostels that were nicer for a third of the price.

Reviewed by
Ellyn R

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff great-accommodation not so good.
Staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Bar meal very good. Accommodation appears in need of serious makeover, drawer fronts falling off etc. Shower head in need of good clean, or preferably replacing! Generally it appears that the hotel has been allowed to fall into a state of disrepair, probably on the basis that Brighton is so busy anyway that the hotel owners can get away with it!

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This has to be the dirtiest dampest hotel I have ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
D Wise

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubbish
Not good at all. Needs a lot of modernizing. Would not stay there ever again

Reviewed by
Robert G

From Pevensey, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OKish
The hotel was in dire need of some repairment work - paint and plaster coming off the walls. On the plus side it is a large hotel, room was large and in great location.
Negative aspects - room was dirty, shower leaked into the bedroom, the walls really needed paining as it looked dirty due to brown marks all along them.
Overall - not bad but not worth the £89 we paid.

Reviewed by
L Hunter

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Breakfast could do with more section

Reviewed by
stephen l

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next