No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 402 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Albion Hotel
Great hotel.

Reviewed by
Alan WaRR

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night to remember
On our arrival a the hotel, the receptionist spent what felt like an eternity studying her computer screen whilst wearing a somewhat confused and puzzled expression, while questioning our booking, with room key in hand we entered the hotel lift up to our 5th floor attic room, which appeared not to have been renovated or even decorated for a number of years, it had no resemblance to the room shown on the booking web site, but I must say it was clean and warm, having spent a very uncomfortable night on the bed which felt as if it was made of stone, we ventured to the dining room for breakfast which to be fair was not too bad. over all our stay at this shabby and tatty hotel has left us with a night to remember for all the wrong reasons, it goes without saying we won't be returning, which is a shame as this is a really we'll positioned hotel and could be a loverly place to stay.

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and dirty accommodation
Disappointing is not the word - the hotel lobby is shabby and there are chunks missing from the walls. There is an aged smell in the rooms. The windows were filthy, the bathroom disgusting and mildew covered, wallpaper was wrinkled and stained.
I cannot believe they are charging the price they do for the quality of accommodation offered. Utterly shocking. I would NEVER set foot in this place ever again and most certainly never reccommend it to anyone as an accommodation choice. Truly truly awful.

Reviewed by
Julie Weir

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the spa bath.

Reviewed by
L Staniford

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great people especially Mohamed and George would Recommend stay
Friendly people any problems quickly sorted out great location Recommend people to stay.

Reviewed by
A WaRR

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay
Okay for the money. Room a bit small but as it was a a crash pad, didn't mind.
Great location but a bit shabby.

Reviewed by
Tim R

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once again great service from Mohamed and George
Friendly people great atmosphere and very helpful close to beach and very relaxing

Reviewed by
Alan WaRR

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel stay EVER
dirty, rude staff awfull food shocking all round

Reviewed by
A Parker-Read

From Etchingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton stay
As expected - old building in need of an uplift, if you accept that, it's OK. I did feel it ironic that you pay extra for the sea view - which is then ruined by the state of the windows, they could do with a clean! Breakfast room really packs them in, and whilst OK, the food is all 'value' products (or so it seemed to me). You are obviously paying for the location, as the hotel is not worth the 120 per night charged if elsewhere.

Reviewed by
S wilson

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location
Nice location but aged rooms sand especially the bathrooms, but good shower pressure that's about all !! Old tv old wardrobe, miles of corridors,leading all over the place.
But you get what you pay for and parking was cheaper than I expected. Parked along the front, better than car park charges!!

Reviewed by
A Preston

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next