Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel


35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT

Price From 290.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (221)

48% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Marina L

  • October 2014


A room for £135 was on basement without windows.

Poor value for money

  • Hayley N

  • October 2014

great last minute stay

Friendly staff, spacious rooms withcomfy beds.

Conveniently located opposite Brighton pier.

  • t inman

  • October 2014

requires total gutting, redecoration, replacement of furnishings.

We paid an extorshionate price for a less than standard room.

The furniture was preastoric in the room and I don't mean antique. Wasn't cleaned properly the previous guests paperwork was still in room. There wasn't even towels. In the morning walking down the stairs there were large chunks of wallpaper and plaster that had come off,laying on the hallway, although there was a wedding the previous night so could have been them, as the notices in the lift had also been turned upside down. The breakfast was unpleasant and the staff kept leaning over my husbands shoulder while he was eating to move plates off the table when we hadn't finished. Very early check-out and they charge £10 per hour to stay longer.

  • Trish B

  • September 2014

Brighton Rocks

The price for this accomodation was amazing and the added bonus was a room with a sea view.

We were delighted. The breakfast was great value for money as there was everything you could have wanted and plenty of it. We would certainly return to this hotel. And will most certainly use again.

  • Lindsay P

  • September 2014

Single Room

I got a very good deal and the room was of good quality and a good size for a single room.

The bed was very comfortable. The TV a bit fuzzy and I would have liked more milk bit minor inconveniences. I was very impressed with the care given to a woman I met in the hotel whose friend had suddenly died. It was excellent. The staff are friendly and efficient. I am disabled and I would have liked a little help managing the Buffett without having to ask. I love staying at this hotel. Location is perfect and facilities excellent. If I did win the money I would spend it on going back to this hotel. Thank you.

  • Neil B

  • September 2014

Cheap but VERY basic / run down - in need of complete renovatiion

The room was a reasonable size but in much need of a complete renovation / redecoration.

On the minus side;

Paintwork chipped / Wallpqper hanging off

Carpets stained / wet near to bathroom

Bathroom aged / rusty pipes

Furniture out of the ark

On the plus side

Bed very comfortable / linen clean

Coffee / tea maker

  • David H

  • September 2014

Disappointed for the money

We had cause to stay in Brighton at short notice and this was about all that was on offer - for £200 per night we would have hoped for a better experience

  • R Robinson

  • September 2014

scruffy room great location

On booking last minute on the day we thought we were lucky to get such a room , but on arrival we realised why we could still get a room at this hotel.

On walking into reception it felt dated and seemed as though it was a chore to be there and were missing the welcome pleasantries you would expect, we got to our room and found this very dated and the furniture scruffy with the bed showing screws from repairs.

Although the bed was comfortable and the views we're great and this saved the day for us.

  • Nadin a

  • September 2014

i found a spider in the room

  • J Bates

  • September 2014

Don't book as you will be disappointed

Room was dirty and dusty window had no lock on plug sockets was yellow and old TV was a old bulk one and bath mat was dirty and yellow and bath had a crack in and shower was old and didn't move the whole place smells of damp and needs doing up badly and I would not recommend anyone to this hotel or be staying at any of their hotels again as I have stayed in lots and this one was the worse so a very valved customer they have lost