No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 397 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel stay. Not worth the money paid for each room
The rooms were not clean the bathrooms were not clean. The bath tubs were cracked. The tiling on the walls were cracked. There was dust all over the rooms. Walking through the hotel the walls were filthy and the hall ways smelt. Cannot beleive I paid £98 per room. I was told it was a really nice hotel. 3*. It was no where near a 3*. The air conditioning would not work. One of the rooms there was a loud generator noise all night so couldn't sleep. The other room which was sea view on second floor you couldn't even see the sea view as the windows were filthy. Cannot beleive I stayed at this hotel.

Reviewed by
zoheb c

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff
All the staff were welcoming. They were able to make recommendations for places to eat and make polite conversation.

Reviewed by
Matthew T

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
This hotel is perfectly placed next to Brighton Pier.
We found it good value however the room did need some updating and had a leaky/unsecure window. We did not realise this until very late so did not change rooms.
Breakfast very good value.
Overall we would return.

Reviewed by
Nikki F

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Albion Hotel
Great hotel.

Reviewed by
Alan WaRR

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night to remember
On our arrival a the hotel, the receptionist spent what felt like an eternity studying her computer screen whilst wearing a somewhat confused and puzzled expression, while questioning our booking, with room key in hand we entered the hotel lift up to our 5th floor attic room, which appeared not to have been renovated or even decorated for a number of years, it had no resemblance to the room shown on the booking web site, but I must say it was clean and warm, having spent a very uncomfortable night on the bed which felt as if it was made of stone, we ventured to the dining room for breakfast which to be fair was not too bad. over all our stay at this shabby and tatty hotel has left us with a night to remember for all the wrong reasons, it goes without saying we won't be returning, which is a shame as this is a really we'll positioned hotel and could be a loverly place to stay.

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and dirty accommodation
Disappointing is not the word - the hotel lobby is shabby and there are chunks missing from the walls. There is an aged smell in the rooms. The windows were filthy, the bathroom disgusting and mildew covered, wallpaper was wrinkled and stained.
I cannot believe they are charging the price they do for the quality of accommodation offered. Utterly shocking. I would NEVER set foot in this place ever again and most certainly never reccommend it to anyone as an accommodation choice. Truly truly awful.

Reviewed by
Julie Weir

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the spa bath.

Reviewed by
L Staniford

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great people especially Mohamed and George would Recommend stay
Friendly people any problems quickly sorted out great location Recommend people to stay.

Reviewed by
A WaRR

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay
Okay for the money. Room a bit small but as it was a a crash pad, didn't mind.
Great location but a bit shabby.

Reviewed by
Tim R

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once again great service from Mohamed and George
Friendly people great atmosphere and very helpful close to beach and very relaxing

Reviewed by
Alan WaRR

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next