No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stauntons on the Green Guesthouse

83 St Stephens Green South , Dublin, Dublin 2
Stauntons On the Green Guesthouse is delightfully set in an unrivalled position overlooking picturesque St Stephens Green - one of the best known and most beautiful parts of Dublin. To the rear of the building is a private garden, offering peace and serenity in Dublin's city centre. Located behind Staunton's is the beautiful Victorian Iveagh Gardens, an expanse of leisurely walks and greens. The building embodies Georgian elegance and style, and proffers a most inviting atmosphere. We invite our guests to enjoy absolute comfort and privacy, coupled with immediate access to the heart of Dublin. We are within walking distance of Grafton Street and Henry Street, Dublin's pedestrianised shopping areas and Temple Bar. Stauntons is only 5 minutes on foot, from the Houses of Parliament, and is located in the heart of Dublin's business and banking district. All of Dublin's entertainment, historical and cultural centres are easily within walking distance of this unique accommodation.
Picture of Stauntons on the Green Guesthouse, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Guest house in nice location
This was a nice suprise found a really nice guesthouse. Will definatly use this hotel again if we come to Dublin.

Reviewed by
s smithson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stauntons on the Green Guesthouse
Disappointing stay. Overpriced, room very musky and worn. Terrible bed very uncomfortable.
Breakfast just about passable.
Receptionist during check in not informed of availability of parking or of amenities.
Nice view of St. Stephens’s green and ideal location in city center.

Reviewed by
jim m

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found that this guest house had good size rooms it was clean and the staff were very helpful. The situation of the guest house was well placed in Dublin for all the places of interest and it was very quite over looking a lovely park. I would certainly stay at this guest house again.

Reviewed by
Alan O

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dublin City Stopover
Great location, just across the road from St. Stephen's Green. Room was a bit small and old fashioned but it was fine for what I needed. Great food the next morning.

Reviewed by
Terry B

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic weekend in Dublin !!
Stayed for 2 nights at stauntons on the green last weekend, after having a couple of bad experiences with booking on late rooms I always look at the photos with rose tinted glasses but I must say the photos on the site are very accurate !!
The Staunton on the green is the perfect b&b in the perfect location for a weekend in Dublin !
Located right on st Stephens green it's the perfect place handy for the busy grafton st shops a short 20 min walk to the bars in temple bar but far enough away to be quiet over night!
The staff are very helpful for any queries u may have and the hotel is warm clean and extremely comfortable !!! Absolutely perfect !!!

Reviewed by
andrew gonzalez

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a 2 stars hotel maximum.. I wonder who rated as a 4 stars.. I wont recommend it to any body.
This a guest hous. Bed and breakfast lodge located across from the park.. Thats all. I went there on a business tripp and was stuck there beacuse the god hotels were booked.. Once i checked in I fouNd out that there is no elevator, no one to help yo with yor luggage. Th e room which was in the 3rd floor was so tiny that i couldnt move easly.. The floor was making a noise as you walk. There was no AC. The towels had stains on them. I spend the first day looking for another hotel. When I found a decent one, the refused to check me out the next day unless I pay an extra day. I paid and left happily. Becarefull trafelles.

Reviewed by
A Alkhayyal

From Riyadh 11443, Saudi Arabia
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sanctuary in the city
apart from the fact that the guest house is just off graftan street and the breakfast was fantastic, it is so peaceful and quiet we could have been in the countryside. Despite being beside Stephens Green which can be lively at night and busy during the day our room looked over the Iveagh Gardens which is Dublins secret inner city garden and we woke to birds singing. Wonderful

Reviewed by
rachael johnson

From Enniskillen, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

like home sweet home
I traveled with an old friend of mine and we landed at Mr. Staunton's lovely, comfy.....
Perfectly located "Staunton's on the Green".....
I cannot imagine staying anywhere else while in Dublin. The young ladies on the front desk are very helpful, every day, always there to help and the breakfast room is a delight. My all-time favourite is the location, you are right across the street from one of the most beautiful parks in the world....also close to everything in the city. Cannot recommend any higher.

Reviewed by
Roswitha Goddard

From Los Angeles, USA
Who stayed in September 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.