Reviews - De Vere Venues Staverton Park


Daventry Road,Staverton, Daventry, NN11 6JT

Price From 123.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (187)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul B

  • October 2015

Poor Customer Service

It suppose staying at a hotel during Half Term was a mistake, but the hotel and its staff seemed to be in Panic mode.

Check-in was badly handled, my bathroom was dirty, evening meal and breakfast were slow and disappointing. I will definitely Never stay there again!!

  • John B

  • October 2015

Social occasion

Were expecting a good experience from a DeVere Hotel, what a disappointment.

The welcome at reception was very lack lustre, at best doing her job. Rooms just about ok, clean but could have been better, try dusting skirting boards and cleaning windows. Food, well I can only compare it to motor way service stations, a very basic point - food cool, served on cold plates, no excuse for that. Location is fantastic, beautiful grounds and surroundings - so hotel a big disappointment, and it's not cheap.

  • L Fox

  • October 2015

I was very disappointed with the cleanliness in the hotel room.

They are finished to quite a high standard and look very modern. However, the bathroom was disgusting. I didn't even want to shower in the bath because it looked so dirty. Also, the toilet had not been cleaned from the previous user.

  • Daniel C

  • August 2015

Simple Things

A shame the basics weren't right - for instance the duvet cover and pillow cases being inside out.

Certain areas of the room not dusted and an awful leak on the shower screen (along with no shower/bath mat)

  • Robert Day

  • August 2015

Good but surprisingly odd in places

Having found that even glamping at a music festival near Banbury was getting too arduous for our ageing bones, we've taken to using hotels; but having left it a bit late to book, I was pleased to find this hotel at a reasonable price and little more than twenty minutes' drive from the festival site.

Plus points: the staff were all friendly and helpful. Having booked online and gone for a family room just to get twin beds (apparently I snore and am too restless), the hotel contacted me to confirm my reservation and comment that I'd booked a family room but only had two adults listed. When I confirmed that I'd done that to secure a twin-bedded room, they immediately rebooked me as a normal twin (apparently, they make up the rooms on the fly) and charged me less than I'd expected for the privilege. (Mind you, their system did keep losing the breakfast reservation, but to be fair, the staff did keep checking that, so I was able to put them right.)

Housekeeping staff were also quite excellent, basically servicing rooms no matter how early or late we left for the day. A big plus. An even bigger plus were the beds, possibly the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel at this grade or any other. They were also, for single beds, well-sized. Breakfast was fairly standard and the breakfast servery needs some rethinking as to best layout; but then again, the same can be said of very many hotels worldwide, so no particular demerit there. And the breakfast floor manager on our last morning made a few minor changes that helped matters along. Give the staff the ability to exercise some initiative and they will find ways to make things better,

The hotel looks quite four-star from the public areas; but it is only three star in terms of the rooms (and, to be fair, the price). Rooms were of a reasonable decorative standard but don't expect boutique hotel standards of finish, Indeed, the decor looked decidedly 1980s. The room heating was also very 1980s - a wall-mounted electric heater and a heated towel rail in the bathroom,. Mind you, having struggled no end with air conditioning in other hotels that either didn't work or requires knowledge of Babylonian cuneiform to decipher the symbols on the control panel, this at least had the benefit of simplicity. Perhaps the worst thing about the hotel was the signage. I needed help to find my room because all the signs from reception directing guests didn't have the full range of room numbers on them. Even once we found the room, it was difficult to find the way back to reception as the signs for that were either non-existent or mounted in ways that meant that you could only see them from one direction. Perhaps the oddest thing about this hotel was the decor of the public areas. The finish of the staircases, the carpeting - very 1980s - and colour schemes, the large empty landings and the spare beds queued up on those landings made me think of a hospital. If you were ever looking for a film location to fake a hospital, this hotel would be ideal. Slightly more seriously, not all sections of the hotel were accessible for disabled visitors. There was only one lift, and there were changes in level to access one wing which were only serviced by a staircase. Admittedly, I am sure that the hotel would accommodate guests with restricted mobility in a suitable room, but it would be better if the building was fully DDA compliant so as not to need someone to think about this in the first place. Something that made us laugh - when I first spoke to one of the staff to confirm my booking, I was told that I was getting a room with a view of the golf course. What we actually got was a room where, if you opened the window, leaned out and looked to your left, you could see the golf course - past the staff car park and behind a large yellow skip. Fortunately, I had neither asked for nor paid extra for this feature, so this merely amused us. Other guests might not be so forgiving. This sounds a negative review, but it's not intended to be. In the areas that were most important to us - availability, location, cost and basic amenities - the hotel came up with everything we wanted. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed out stay. Just don't expect to be blown away by the surroundings. A refurbishment would do this hotel no end of good.

  • Karen C

  • July 2015

enjoy golfing

Room was very comfortable but disappointed that there was very little to do unless you are a golfer.

However, we had gone to see family and for a family dinner but there was time in the weekend to go for walks of which there were none around the hotel unless you were golfing.

Breakfast had a vast choice but it I would have preferred to have coffee/tea brought to the table in pots rather than carry hot cups in a crowded restaurant especially with children moving around. Not very health and safety conscious. There was a spa but we did not make use of it.

  • Sue J

  • July 2015

Hotel was full, but rooms were quiet and peaceful.

Great swimming pool

  • Frank Mumby

  • July 2015

Good value

Room was gd and got good deal ,food was fresh and hot and bar and waiting on staff were pleasant ,

  • J Smith

  • June 2015

Need to spend some time on detail

We arrived to a warm and friendly greeting from skilled receptionist.

Room had a beautiful view of the golf course. The room had paint peeling off the wall and the furniture was dusty and bashed about. Tv was in a cage never seen that before and the towels had makeup on. So generally not as clean as you would expect a hotel to be. Food was excellent for our evening meal and the staff were excellent. At breakfast there were things missing from the buffet breakfast like fried eggs. We had to ask for a pot of tea which arrived as we were leaving the table. Check out was good and very friendly professional receptionist but he was on his own and there were long queues. Left feeling the stay was very average

  • p bishop

  • May 2015

Very acceptable accommodation

Lovely and clean, comfortable bed.

Would definitely stay again.