The Grand Hotel

5

King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne, BN21 4EQ

Price From 388.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Reid

  • May 2015

The Grand Hotel

The hotel needs a face lift to bring it into the modern world.

Its missing the right mix of old world grandeur with new furnishings which aren't just old and tired, which other establishments of the same era have managed to do. My 12 year old son summed up well by saying it felt like we were staying in an old age home. Curtains, carpets and furniture are just old and need updating. Quality of service was mixed with some being wonderfully helpful like the doormen and others being less so. Both mornings we had to queue for no reason for breakfast when there were plenty of tables available but no one at the door to seat guests. Not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast options again are not of 5 star quality and presentation needs some serious work. I have seen far better laid out buffets at 4 star establishments. Having big areas that you have to walk past where they have piled dirty crockery and cutlery is also unpleasant. The food however is very good. Room was comfortable and clean. Overall it was fine but wouldn't recommend or go back.

  • R Morris

  • April 2015

Superb Hotel

I have stayed in top hotels all over the world, The Grand is one of the best

  • Paul B

  • November 2014

Room major disappointment,very dated look,bed very small

  • S Morris

  • November 2014

The Grand is family friendly luxury!

I love this hotel.

It somehow combined efficient service with a laid back approach. I'm not sure how they do it there but they did, nothing was too much trouble, they brought some milk for my son to the room, delivered room service quietly when he was asleep, prepared his bed earlier when asked etc Each and every staff member was friendly, the breafast was yum, there was a great kid's room with friendly staff so we got an hour's break in the lovely spa, a lovely bar and the whole experience felt very special.

  • Craig V

  • October 2014

Grand but mucky

Very late check in at 3 was a bad start.

Rooms strange mixture of refurbished and grubby. Net curtains marked/stained and overall rather grubby ( bathroom clean). Over-priced for what it was. Nicebreakfast

  • Heather Mills

  • September 2014

The Eastbourne grand

Absolutely perfect.

Lovely upgrade with sea view. Really helpful staff. Pool area was great, especially the outside heated pool. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

  • J Epton

  • September 2014

Pleasant stay

Booked a one night stay on impulse and was not disappointed.

Hotel is a Victorian gem with service levels reminiscent of those grand days of old. Afternoon tea in the lounge is a delight not to be missed and the whole experience was wonderful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Gary G

  • August 2014

Small but beautifully operated

After the initial dissapointment of the size and position of the room, we were imporessed with the qualiry of the performance of the staff in all areas from check-in to room service.

Of particular note was the patience and understanding of the concierge staff operating in almost impossible circumstance occasioned by the lack of parking space resulting from the eastbourne atrshow. We left the Hotel well satified with our booking and stay.

  • Paul R

  • August 2014

Bygone era

The best thing about the Grand, is that everyone is made to feel very special.

From the moment you arrive, you feel yourself drifting back in time and soaking up the wonderful atmosphere and charm the hotel has to offer.

Afternoon tea is a real treat, wonderful sandwiches, cakes and beautiful tea - no tea bag nonsense here. Tea tastes so much better to.

Friendly, efficient and attentive staff made made our stay very enjoyable. Lovely room with lovely clean bathroom which included Molton Brown toiletries, very nice. Had a lovely wedding anniversary treat. My wife very happy, wants to come back again.

  • nadia s

  • June 2014

Really enjoy our stay in The Grand hotel.

Reception staff was very efficient. Room was specious, clean and well decorated. Customer service very good, nothing much trouble and prompt. Location is great, sea just across the road and few minutes walk to the town centre . Would like to say thank you to our room made Grazyna for her service.