Reviews - The Grand Hotel


King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne, BN21 4EQ

Price From 345.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Odell-Rourke

  • February 2014

Ols World Charm

Was the youngest resident, so that tells you something about the usual clientele.

All staff were very friendly and attentive. Room was a good size, small bathroom though, and furnishings were comfy. Bar drinks expensive, £10 for a glass of wine. Dinner in restaurant was well cooked and tasty, small portions though, and as the wine quite expensive for what they offered, service was very goodthough and there were plenty of staff. Breakfast was a very varied spread, disappointed to be charged an extra £5 for eggs Benedict, when I could have eaten everything else on the buffet and had a cooked breakfast in the price, a bit mean... which I did mention to the waiter in the morning. At this time of year they should be making it as attractive as possible to entice you there, as if not these old style hotels could be a think of the past. Would stay again as long as the room rate was competitive.

  • Thelma

  • January 2014

very enjoyable would stay again.

  • N Hadzic

  • January 2014

superb tranquility oasis

This hotel fully deserves its international reputation for attentive staff, pleasant atmosphere and perfect location.

Perfect for a short break from London.

  • Wendy H

  • January 2014

The Grand

This hotel certainly lived up to our expectations.

It was good old fashioned service without the pomp!. The rooms were a little dated but very clean and comfortable. We stayed on a wet January Tuesday night which was probably one of the quietest times of year but we felt that we certainly weren't given a second rate service. It was warm and welcoming and the staff were very friendly.

  • Nicolas Tredell

  • January 2014

A Grand Experience!

Our stay at the Grand exceeded our expectations.

From the moment we approached the main entrance to the moment we departed, we enjoyed very good service - from doormen, porters, receptionists, restaurant staff - that made everything smooth and agreeable for us. We relished the spacious, well-appointed room (the porter's outline of its facilities when he took in our luggage was very clear and informative) and we were especially impressed to return from an evening at the theatre to find the mineral water and used towels replaced, the bins emptied, the bathroom floor cleaned, the curtains drawn and the beds turned down, all of which contributed to a comfortable night's sleep. The next morning, we savoured an excellent buffet breakfast in an elegant but relaxing atmosphere, with helpful staff to hand. Eastbourne's seafront, theatres, Towner Art Gallery and shops were all within easy reach. Altogether a grand experience.

  • C L

  • December 2013

A charming hotel - would stay again.

We had our reservations about the Grand Hotel possibly not living up to it's title but were pleasantly proved wrong.

The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The facilities were lovely -the spa and health club a bonus. And the rooms were spacious and comfortable if not a bit on the warm side. Nothing a blast of sea air didn't fix though. The food was also a pleasant surprise - it was delicious.

  • Gregory V

  • December 2013

Sumptuous surroundings and fantastic customer service

We stayed for a birthday celebration.

The hotel looked beautiful with christmas decorations. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was very special: excellent food, service and surroundings. The bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable.

  • linda s

  • October 2013

Excellent ...

It was a treat for my partner and wow what a treat.. I am just recovering from a knee replacement and wanted to come away to see my grandsons who live in Eastbourne .... Brilliant hotel brilliant staff ....

  • William Harris

  • October 2013

Jamie and Ericas' wedding

My wife and I had previously visited the Grand for afternoon tea and were impressed by the whole atmosphere of calm, luxury and fantastic attention to service by all the staff, from doorman to the waitress.

We purchased a great deal from Late Rooms and stayed over the weekend of our son's wedding. On Sunday we gave our son and new daughter-in-paw, Erica, dinner at the Grand. The food, service and whole experience made the weekend special. Jamie and Erica said that it just completed their special weekend. My wife and I were most impressed with the service and attitude of the staff. The food was excellent and the whole weekend was just perfect. Well done the Grand and thanks to Late Rooms for a great deal.

  • Nick Rowley

  • October 2013

Grand Eastbourne

Traditional 5 star English seaside hotel nice staff good food nice place to stay not cheap but worth it for us Step back in time and enjoy