No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cisswood House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sandygate Lane, Lower Beeding , Lower Beeding (nr Horsham), RH13 6NF
A Rich Heritage of Hospitality ...
Located in a peaceful Sussex village, Cisswood House Hotel offers all the delights of a rural retreat whilst being conveniently close to the market town of Horsham and Gatwick Airport. The House was originally built around 1928 for Sir Woodman Burbidge, then Chairman of the famous Harrods and named after his wife Cissily.
The hotel and its scenic grounds provide plenty to interest and entertainment for visitors – for example, a stroll around our mature landscaped gardens, a work out in the leisure club or some relaxation time in our spa treatment rooms. Dining is a real highlight, with wonderful cuisine served in the Garden Restaurant.
Picture of Cisswood House Hotel, Lower Beeding (nr Horsham) at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
I had a very warm welcome and was dealt with in a friendly efficient manner. All staff were very helpful and gave great service and I felt nothing was too much trouble. My room was well equipped and I slept well without disturbance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again without doubt.

Reviewed by
J Penfold

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff, rubbish food
Food was horrible, chef could not cook. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they made the stay pleasant. room was nice but the gym and pool are not what they look like on the photographs

Reviewed by
C Willetts

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairly good hotel but overpriced
Good things:-
Friendly staff, decent gym, swimming pool, spa & jacuzzi, nice decor, restaurant food better than expected, nice location
Bad things:-
A lot of money for what you get considering you don't even get breakfast included
Awful for accessibility. You park your car at the sign saying 'disabled parking' but are then surrounded by steps and no sign to an accessible entrance. No lifts, narrow corridors
No mobile phone signal so if the people looking after your kids need to get you in an emergency then you're stuffed
Ordered continental breakfast that included a plate of meat and cheeses. There weren't any at the table. When I asked about them a young waitress laughed and said "We don't do that anymore - I suppose we ought to take it off the menu". Correct."
Blood on the tiles in the bathroom which made me wonder if someone had just been murdered in there.
Overall a nice hotel but overpriced for what you actually get.

Reviewed by
Joanna B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Orange phone network signal
Hotel is standard standard fare really - basic accomodation at typical Southern England inflated prices. A complete lack of an Orange phone signal means I will not be staying again .... I guess this could be an advantage to some travellers

Reviewed by
Kevin K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. I was going to the Goodwood Revival and it was 40 to 50 minutes drive away. Only two little gripes: it was quite a hike through lots of doors from the reception to my room in the furthest wing and the light in the bathroom wasn't great for doing my make-up.

Reviewed by
B K

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Evening at Cisswood house
On arriving the receptionist wasn't very clear about the facilities , we had to ask her. Found our own way to our room which was very hot , they could have put the fan on. Large bed and clean bathroom.
Friendly waiters, not very attentive , had to pour our own drink after the first glass. But very prompt with food,very well presented on the plate but not enough jus with my meal.
Clean swimming pool and jacuzzi, needed £1 for locker.
Gardens neat but could have been lit with lamps further down the garden.
Overall a memorable stay

Reviewed by
a lloyd

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Cisswood house, the staff were very friendly and helpful we can thoroughly recommend the restaurant the food was the best we have had in a long time and again the service was extremely good. my only one thing that i thought could have been handled better was when we couldn't get into our room because the key would not work, i think they should have asked us to go back downstairs and given us a free drink whilst they sorted it instead of keeping us hanging in the halls,having said that they did upgrade us to a better room!

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business stay
excellent as usual

Reviewed by
michael c

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.