Reviews - Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel


8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Tunbridge Wells, TN2 4QL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (52)

58% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Marilyn J

  • October 2015

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times in the past.

It is getting noticeably tired. The Spa was not working when we arrived and we had not been notified before our arrival. Our bedroom on this occasion we had to go down a staircase to then go up a staircase. No one available to help with suitcases. The coffee bar although open seemed to be missing staff most of the time there was always a wait and when staff did appear they were not always warm or welcoming. There was a wedding at the hotel on the Saturday and consequently on our return in the evening there were no seats available for us to have a coffee so we had to retire to our bedroom. The hotel is convenient for our stay in Kent as it is close to our relatives and friends but would like to think it is close to having redecoration and bathroom updates at least before our next visit and definitely more staff who have been trained in customer relations a little better.

  • Lance Pierson

  • August 2015

Avoid Saturdays un summer!

We were not warned there would be a party in the hotel playing amplified music and MC voice till midnight.

Our room overlooked the room and courtyard where this was happening. The room was hot and stuffy with no air conditioning or temperature control, so we had to have the wondow open, which made the noise more intrusive. Fortunately the hotel gave us a 50% discount on its price which seemed very high to us.

  • Brenda Randall

  • May 2015

My stay was ok it was not quite what I expected.

The room a bit scruffy in places. Tiles under sink coming away and wallpaper peeling away. The hairdryer in the room had label on saying dont use so why was it not replaced. The next day no dryer at all. The room was clean and quiet. The reason for staying there was my husband was in the hospital having an operation.


  • April 2015

Pre holiday destination stopover.

The Hotel nicely situated.

All staff were all friendly and helpful and efficient.

  • janina r

  • March 2015

I've slept in worse places, like on a train station bench!

Stayed 1 night, Sat 14 March, Mercure Tonbridge Wells.

Honestly this is not a great place to stay. Yes it has a pool and 'spa' facility which was the deciding factor in why I choose this place over other B&Bs in the area. It just all very basic, and needs a proper deep clean and updating at the very least. I had an issue with the bedding, linen wasn't clean which I discovered on getting into bed. Multiple dried brown blood spots on the sheet. I couldn't get hold of any staff, thus had to amble down to a deserted reception at 11.30 at night. The short of it was that I ended up remaking the bed, due to the night porter, if thats who he was, put the sheet on sideways so it didn't tuck in the top or bottom. When I put the original duvet back on, I noticed the same marks on the underside of the duvet cover. I can only assume, that these sheets were not fresh, and that whomever was in the bed the previous night, picked a spot or got bit by something, and housekeeping left the same sheets on. At this point I gave up, decided I wasn't going to walk back to the reception again and state the same problem, so I flipped the duvet over, and tried to ignore it. Having turned our alarms off, we looked forward to a Sunday morning lie in. This didn't happen as at around 7am we were woken by a fellow guests' dog barking.

We also had cobwebs around the bathroom on the walls and ceilings with brown and black grouting adding the finishing touches. The staff also leave trays of food on the floor in the corridors rather than clearing them away. Breakfast was not included, and the cost is a staggering £17. It's a Mercure. Put in perspective,it's more expensive than the Winchester Hotel Du Vin.

Choice of TV channels is limited probably deliberately to encourage guests to purchase pay per view movies or hourly internet connection.

We used the steam room, which was fine, and the jacuzzi, but the sauna was not hot enough. I have since looked at trip advisor and seen that a lot of guests have had similar disappointments with the overall hotel, had I checked reviews first, I probably would have gone elsewhere. This is not 4 star accommodation. Im sure Chris, general manager, if he sees this review, will reply in the likes of his other replies,( see trip advisor) with an apology and promise of passing on these concerns to his staff, but really, don't bother, I'm sure you'll continue to receive a steady stream of optimistic guests, whom will overlook all of these failings, I just won't be one of them.

  • A Fadare

  • March 2015

March 2015

The customer service experience was poor on arrival, during our stay and on departure.

On arrival, the lady at front desk was not very welcoming and was asking for payment despite the fact that the booking had already been paid for online. During the stay, we could not get anyone to serve us at the bar despite waiting 10 mins. On departure we waited 15 mins to be served and when finally served the lady just took the room card without thank you or how was your stay etc. Very poor customer service.

  • D Selby

  • February 2015

Lovely stay

Was a lovely stay at this hotel, staff was always helpful and the room wasn't big but they were just ample size as we stayed in the standard double room.

Indoor swimming pool was lovely was no time limit on it so was able to be in there as long as we wanted to be, breakfast was serve yourself buffet with a lovely choice of full fried breakfast or fruit and cereal. It met everyone's needs and was a lovely friendly welcoming place to stay.

  • S Carroll

  • February 2015

Twin bed Mercure Tunbridge Wells

The bed was most uncomfortable- I could feel the springs and it literally gave me rib ache after 1 short night's stay.

  • Alaina Graham

  • January 2015

Horrendous - needs refurbishing!!

Is so dated and old.

Reception is new but rooms are awful and device not great. Went here with a colleague and would never stay in a mercury again. How it is rated as 4 star I do not know.

It is like faulty towers - a travelodge would be better!!

  • lesley d

  • January 2015


The fitting in the bathroom were rusty, the handle in the shower was terrible broken and rusty.

Old tiling with dirty grout.