No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE TUNBRIDGE WELLS HOTEL

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Tunbridge Wells, TN2 4QL
Escape to a 4 star Tunbridge Wells hotel in a tranquil corner of Kent. The Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel is styled around a feature oast house and is close to Tunbridge Wells, Hever Castle and the Kent countryside. It has 84 contemporary guest rooms, all fitted with internet access and satellite TV. The Mallows restaurant and Oast Bar offer relaxing times and great dining, and you can swim in an indoor heated pool. 8 conference rooms can accommodate up to 130 guests.
Picture of MERCURE TUNBRIDGE WELLS HOTEL, Tunbridge Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not stay again
Our stay was not particularly relaxing and I would not say it was successful!
We booked our stay very last minute and were looking forward to a luxury stay in one of your superior double rooms...
We were first sent to the wrong room, I was then made to feel very uncomfortable having to go back to reception to prove my booking was for a superior room!
Finally we were moved and things just got worse!
There were no films on the TV!
We went out for our evening meal and decided to order room service when we got back. We waited for the reception phone to be answered which took a while, then the phone cut off. We called back, placed an order. We then waited a good 45 minutes for our room service which was simply ice cream and a beer. We called down to reception, struggling again to get through and we were told sorry it is coming. After another 15 minutes of waiting my partner went down to reception where 3 different members off staff were and asked where our room service was. They then asked for our order again.
Finally after another wait it arrived... It arrived wrong! Our order was incorrect!
By this time it was getting very late and my partner and I were feeling very fed up.
The staff didn't really seem to care!
Breakfast on the Sunday seemed very limited and unorganised! Although I must say the quality of the food seemed good!
Overall we would not recommend the hotel and we would definitely not stay again.
For the amount of money we payed I was literally disgusted at the hotel room and the facilities not forgetting the appalling customer service!

Reviewed by
Amy Tye

From Wadhurst, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First room smelt bad, the staff quickly moved us too another room which was better. Regardless the decor is out dated and the whole place need a updating and redoing.

Reviewed by
e shelley

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plesant
Pleasant stay, clean room and comfy bed.
Breakfast was ok if you wanted a full English, cereals & fruit limited variety.

Reviewed by
J Patten

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Search for the lost room
when attending the check in desk, it took my wife and I over an hour to check in. This was due to being given first a room with was alreasy occupied. And then the wrong type of room 4 times after this. After the check in from hell the hotel redeemed itself and upgraded our room and offered is some discount. However, you would think that this type of Mickey mouse service wouldn't happen at a large chain like this. Anyway, the room we ended up with was nice, basis but nice and the breakfast was of an ok standard over all.

Reviewed by
c power

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room clean. Bed uncomfortable. Bar staff slow.
Room looked nice but 4 poster bed extremely uncomfortable. Bar staff very slow. Room service didn't answer phone despite calling 3 times.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality and clean rooms but needs updating
I use this hotel quite often (3-4 times per year ) as my family live nearby. Some of the receptionists are just plain rude and some clearly lack training which is a shame as by just sharpening up customer care and updating the rooms slightly I think you could call it 4 star. At the moment it's definitely 3 star.
The windows are impossible to close if they are opened. No air con. But I don't mind that.
What I like about it is that I know how everything works, and that it's clean. I've got used to the staff. For example on arrival, I said I was checking in and the young lady just disappeared. She was sorting out a lady she had forgotten about but then didn't explain that to me. It's a bit Fawlty Towers. They forgot my breakfast once for example. I've got used to it. I make sure I phone up in advance to check there's no function on as I was once kept awake until 1 am.

Reviewed by
Cheryl R

From Woodborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercur rip off
The room was poor with peeling wallpaper and the main door to the room had a hole in it also the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work and the tv kept cutting off and going to the hotel menu then to top it all off reception tried to bill £27.90 for two breakfasts although it was 6am and breakfast hadn't even started. Not impressed at all

Reviewed by
Lee G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

,found this hotel to be adequate
Stayed for 2night while visiting family near by
Hotel was very average and in my option expensive for the type of accommodation it was
Breakfast both days had very little for on the buffet when we asked for more to be put out it took so long the rest of our food was cold ,likewise we asked for poached eggs they didn't arrive till weed finished our breakfast and were hard where they'd been waiting to be brought out
Staff seemed more concered with laying up lunch tables even though breakfast still had another 45mins befor closing and restaurant was full
Rooms were clean but very hot no air con and we had to sleep with window open so had noise from main road
We were on second floor there are no lifts in this property,
Key card didn't work on arrival when we went back to reception,we were told we obviously hadn't done it correctly as it was activated ,so much for the customer always being right! I would have expected and appology not a telling off especially after two journeys up and down stairs!
All in all it suited our needs to stay in the location ,however this hotel is vastly overpriced in my option ,needs a makeover and brought up to date....and some customer service training for their staff

Reviewed by
H Thomas

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Roo but not value for Money.
The room was very nice but we had to hunt around for all the tea and coffee making tray, which we eventually found in the top of the wardrobe.
There was no hotel information in the room regards time of breakfast, leisure centre details.
We enjoyed our stay but it was not worth £149 without breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mary L

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A somewhat tired feeling hotel but room clean and adequate.
Breakfast very poor as it catered for coach holidays.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Stammers

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next