No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hickstead Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Jobs Lane,Hickstead Hickstead, Burgess Hill, RH17 5NZ
Set in seven acres of peaceful Sussex countryside, yet only 20 minutes from Gatwick Airport and the centre of Brighton, The Hickstead Hotel is the perfect location for a country break, a private conference or meeting, or Sussex country wedding.

Furnished to a very high standard, the hotel has 52 en suite bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and a double special adapted for the disabled. Our Oak Tree Bistro and Grange Bar offer outstanding menus, and the fabulous new Courtyard Suite, which opened at the end of June 2008, will provide top quality and extremely flexible meeting facilities.

And on our doorstep? Some of the best sightseeing in Sussex making The Hickstead your perfect base from which to explore this lovely county.

NON-SMOKING HOTEL- NON SMOKING ROOM ONLY
Picture of The Hickstead Hotel, Burgess Hill at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
Just returned from a 2 night stay whilst visiting the Ardingly Antique Fair.
We found this hotel most comfortable. Although a little dated it was a very pleasant experience. Food really excellent, well cooked and beautifully presented.. The staff were all so cheerful, polite and welcoming. Many return visitors which is always a good recommendation.

Reviewed by
Gillian Winfield

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Main Problem no air conditioning in night temps of 24 degrees! No fan provided. Shower curtain smelled fusty. Evening meal of plaice swimming in butter and obviously deep frozen although Veg good. Breakfast good.

Reviewed by
J Hide

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
We often stay at the Hickstead Lodge Hotel - it is comfortable, clean and very convenient as just off the A23
The breakfast is very generous and cooked to order. Staff very obliging and friendly. Areas like corridors etc could do with a lick of paint but the rooms are more than adequate and bathrooms recently updated.
Bit of confusion with LateRooms reservation as their price for DBB was not correct. It was not a problem for us but must have made some customers rather upset especially over the weekend.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Baker OBE

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable weekend.
A very well run hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The offers available give very good value. The food is very good with breakfast prepared to order and most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
John Pain

From Welwyn Garden City,, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff
Staff were helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
B Martin

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very relaxing stopover.
We had intended Hickstead to be purely a stopover prior to a visit the following day to Brighton. However it turned out to be much more than that. Very pleasant staff, good food, not expensive and a clean comfortable room and all very relaxed. We shall definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
Neil Macdonald

From Wellesbourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, friendly welcoming staff

Reviewed by
Lavender B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money.
We thought the bed was very hard but everything else was very Good.

Reviewed by
Lorraine Barnett

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second time we have stayed at Hickstead. Hotel is perfectly good clean and efficient. Dining experience is superb - menu choice and quality for dinner was reason we revisited and we were not at all disappointed second time.

Reviewed by
michael davies

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

118 117 - Sounds like one of those annoying BT directory services but this was something much worse
The problem with this hotel is they don't listen to customer feedback. Rooms 118 and 117 are adjoined, as well as some others as I found out when moving rooms at 1:30 in the morning. This in itself wouldn't normally bother me but the door (singular) between the rooms might as well not have been there. You could see through various cracks around door into the other room and when the occupant of said room had a phone call you could hear both sides of the call!
It got a lot worse later that night when my next door neighbour starting snoring, it sounded like he was in the room with me, at least if he had been I might have been able to give him a nudge to stop snoring and been able to get some sleep. It was at this point I went to reception to change rooms, when I could find the night porter.
I found a review on another site a day later complaining about these exact rooms and problems and the response from the hotel management was of complete shock and that no-one else had complained of this issues since they took over 6 years ago! I guess customer services isn’t high on management’s agenda.
My advice is to avoid this hotel unless you really need to hear and see everything that is happening in the room next door, personally I enjoy my privacy too much to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jamie Glasspool

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next