No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hickstead Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Jobs Lane,Hickstead Hickstead, Burgess Hill, RH17 5NZ
Set in seven acres of peaceful Sussex countryside, yet only 20 minutes from Gatwick Airport and the centre of Brighton, The Hickstead Hotel is the perfect location for a country break, a private conference or meeting, or Sussex country wedding.

Furnished to a very high standard, the hotel has 52 en suite bedrooms, including Executive Rooms and a double special adapted for the disabled. Our Oak Tree Bistro and Grange Bar offer outstanding menus, and the fabulous new Courtyard Suite, which opened at the end of June 2008, will provide top quality and extremely flexible meeting facilities.

And on our doorstep? Some of the best sightseeing in Sussex making The Hickstead your perfect base from which to explore this lovely county.

NON-SMOKING HOTEL- NON SMOKING ROOM ONLY
Picture of The Hickstead Hotel, Burgess Hill at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyable break
Couldn't believe that I had got it right but the price paid for this package of bed and breakfast with dinner and a large glass of wine was correct. What excellent value.
If you are looking for a quiet comfy hotel which serves excellent food and where the staff really care about you this is a safe bet
From the moment we arrived at reception our three day stay was joy. All the members of staff were delightful. There is an air of friendliness without familiarity that makes this Hotel comfy. There appears to be many returning guests who the staff remember and welcome by name.I would definitely return and would be happy to recommend The Hickstead to anyone

Reviewed by
Jane A

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

J Edwards Abergavenny
Excellent one night stay after a weeks holiday in the area. Excellent value for money as cost included bed, breakfast and dinner. Would recommend a stay at the Hickstead.

Reviewed by
J Edwards

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break
The whole experience was excellent. My wife and I felt very well cared for and the room and food were of a very high standard,

Reviewed by
Trevor M

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend all round.
I have stayed at the Hickstead before years ago and it has the same standard as it was then, excellent. The buffet breakfast was very well laid out with a good variety of food and drinks. The cooked breakfast was really good (I could have gone up for another one!) I tried to book a couple of weeks ago but it stated that all rooms were booked. But going on Late Rooms.com showed two rooms vacant and was glad because this was my first choice of hotel in the area. My wife and I were going to the Thai Festival in Preston Park for the two days and the whole experienced was enjoyable. It certainly helps a great deal when the place you stay at is to your satisfaction also. It made the weekend complete.

Reviewed by
Frank Baines

From Birchington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lone traveller
A lovely place to stay, room clean and bed comfy. Wish I could have stayed longer as beautiful grounds

Reviewed by
Louisa B

From Manningtree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Especially Patricia and the bar man!

Reviewed by
l baxter

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay.
A friendly, homely hotel with very good food and service.

Reviewed by
John Pain

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top marks for chef.
Unfortunately room close to front entrance so could hear people talking and smell the smoke from their cigarettes until early hours of the morning. The quality and presentation of the food served for dinner was of the highest standard. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal.

Reviewed by
G Langrish

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
Just returned from a 2 night stay whilst visiting the Ardingly Antique Fair.
We found this hotel most comfortable. Although a little dated it was a very pleasant experience. Food really excellent, well cooked and beautifully presented.. The staff were all so cheerful, polite and welcoming. Many return visitors which is always a good recommendation.

Reviewed by
Gillian Winfield

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Main Problem no air conditioning in night temps of 24 degrees! No fan provided. Shower curtain smelled fusty. Evening meal of plaice swimming in butter and obviously deep frozen although Veg good. Breakfast good.

Reviewed by
J Hide

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next