No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apex City Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
61 Grassmarket , Edinburgh, EH1 2JF
Located in the heart of Edinburgh’s old Town, this contemporary four star deluxe hotel has 119 stylish and contemporary rooms, many with stunning panoramic views of Edinburgh Castle and the City skyline.

Designed for comfort, the rooms include 42" widescreen LCD TV, large desk, Free WiFi internet and free local calls, ground coffee and selected tea, specially blended toiletries, iron and ironing board. Bathrooms have bath and/or separate walk-in shower.

Hotel facilities include Agua Lounge Bar and Restaurant and guests can also enjoy complimentary use of the leisure facilities, located a few doors away at the Apex International Hotel.
Picture of Apex City Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apex City Hotel
Ideal location for User Hall and Pubs.

Reviewed by
David F

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!

Reviewed by
E King

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
building work going on but still ok would go back when all building work finish

Reviewed by
G Charlton

From Boldon Colliery, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing Anniversary Weekend
This was the perfect hotel to spend the weekend with my partner for our anniversary.

Reviewed by
B Richmond

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay , hotel is central in the grassmarket
Room had view of castle . We were given a 25%
Off voucher for food in the hotel .
Great stay , great room

Reviewed by
Lisa m

From Boldon Colliery, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First visit to Scotland
Great location for all city centre activity, very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good city centre hotel

Reviewed by
Janet S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This location on the Grass Market in the Old town was a fantastic base for exploring. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We had ridiculously hot weather and there didn't appear to be air conditioning in the room but we were supplied with an electric fan which really helped. Unfortunately this blew the fuse in the room during the night. We reported the problem when we left for our day out in the morning and by our return in the evening it was fixed, thankfully. The room and bathroom were immaculate. Personally for average £50 per person per night I would have liked to have breakfast included. We didn't eat at the hotel because when we checked in we were shown a 'special' menu from which we could choose a 3 course meal and glass of wine for £19 each but there just wasn't anything that grabbed us. However, it wasn't until we were getting ready to leave that we found the normal menu which looked good and not over priced.

Reviewed by
Alexandra H

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hen weekend
Room and beds (twin) very small and room (especially bathroom) in need of updating. Our room looked out onto a building wall and part of car part (£270.00 for this room for 2 nights! and this was the 'special offer price'). On a plus though reception staff were lovely and service in bar very good but expensive. Location great, close to city centre and castle.

Reviewed by
Karin D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much needed short break
Perfectly situated in Grrassmarket. Very central. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Room was good size, clean and comfortable. Only drawback was we visited on a very hot week. No air conditioning. Windows opened slightly. Hotel had provided a fan which was much needed. Was given a voucher for 25% off bill if we ate in hotel, which we did. Food was lovely. Heading back to Edinburgh for winter break. Will definetly return to Apex City Hotel

Reviewed by
L Noble

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next