No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ettington Chase

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Banbury Road, Ettington, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 7NZ
Ettington Chase is located only 6 miles from Stratford-upon-Avon, Shakespeare’s birthplace and is set in 11 acres of landscaped grounds. We are a 10 minute drive from all the attractions Stratford-upon-Avon offers including the Shakespeare experience, Anne Hathaway's cottage and the RSC. Ideal for business or leisure our guests enjoy complimentary use of our leisure club including an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and air-conditioned gym. We also offer free car parking and complimentary WI FI access. The stylish bedrooms feature modern oak furniture, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, and a work desk all with en suite bathrooms with both a bath and shower. Leisure facilities at Ettington Chase include outdoor tennis courts, and guests can enjoy jogging trails and scenic walks in the grounds. The Tempus Bar & Restaurant features seasonal menus made from local produce and room service is available. Please note our standard bedrooms are not located in the Manor house wing of the hotel.
Picture of Ettington Chase, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 161 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold Breakfast
The room was clean but dated. The breakfast was generally cold and very disappointing for what is a four star hotel. My complaint to reception fell on deaf ears and was given lip service only.

Reviewed by
Peter Marsh

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very expensive for a what it is. Evening meal was very average at a high price. on the plus side the buffet breakfast was good and the staff tried hard.

Reviewed by
T Greenwood

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight hotel
We thought this hotel was lovely and spacious although we did get lost a few times. The staff were very attentive to our needed and friendly. We could have done with some bottles of water in our room as it got quite stuffy over night and they would have been a good refreshment

Reviewed by
Rachel H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Ettington Experience
Spacious surroundings, ambience very good, staff helpful and professional. Breakfast experience far better than many hotels we have stayed in. I only have two adverse comments. The wine is grossly expensive and the music is annoyingly nondescript.

Reviewed by
K Revill

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The radiator was on for the first night in the room which meant I didn't sleep well at all.

Reviewed by
Lee W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived at about 10pm, I found the receptionist quite abrupt and not welcoming. The room was nice but typically clinical like many large hotels. The really disappointing aspect was breakfast, when are large hotels going to realise that breakfast should be prepared freshly and not kept hot under lamps or domed covers. At this hotel the mushrooms were cold, the bacon cold and dried and the fried bread cold and rigid. We were directed to a table for two which had no cutlery or crockery we had to rob the nearby empty table, we had to ask for tea, at no time did anyone show any interest in us. left two thirds of my breakfast as it was inedible. The only reason for such poor service is that we didn't get to the breakfast room until about 9:30am but we were on holiday.

Reviewed by
jon Russell

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and grounds
What a lovely friendly hotel, shame the rooms were shabby not like in the brochure when
I mentioned this to the reception the young man wasn't interested!
The pool and steam room was lovely and dinner wasn't over priced.
Waiters couldn't do enough for you.
Would I go again yes but only if there was a good offer on
as room was shabby, tired and basic.

Reviewed by
S Pryce

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the relaxing break we thought
The hotel looked very nice when advertisted but the picture was very deceiving, as there are 3 to 4 room block type buildings that look like barrack blocks or boarding school blocks added onto the side of the hotel. On the day we arrived we had to fight our way from reception to our room through people from conferences having coffee breaks, this continued the next day, the day after there was a wedding on. You felt like a second class citizen if you weren't part of these groups as the corridor seating and library area were also being used. The restaurant staff were very busy on the first night due to a party booking as well, again people were literally running about and the staff certainly earned their wages. We ate at a nearby restaurant the next nights which was alot more calmer and enjoyable. The room and pool facilities were o.k.

Reviewed by
Ann L

From Flintshire, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round excellent stay, great location and perfect for the relaxing anniversary night stay that it was booked for

Reviewed by
m mccormick

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Excellent. Spa facilities. Food was of a very good standard

Reviewed by
Ken Fargher

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next