Reviews - Ettington Chase


Banbury Road, Ettington, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 7NZ

Price From 210.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (77)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Peter Y

  • January 2014

A very pleasant weekend

Good room,.

Enjoyed using the pool and breakfast was good. Nice relaxing atmosphere

  • D Farrar

  • November 2013

Ettington Chase Hotel

Excellent breakfast, evening meals below average and over priced.

  • Colin L

  • November 2013



  • Helen D

  • November 2013

Ettingham chase

On arrival the hotel was busy due to a murder mystery weekend which wasn't a problem however it became apparent on Sunday morning at breakfast that staff could not cope with this.

We had to wait for a breakfast table as others did but it was clear that it was all very disorganised and their was no staff control at this busy time. This appeared to be a result of a lack of staff training as did the evening meal whereby we sat having dinner amongst uncleared tables. Also there was no fire strategy on the inside of our bedroom door which is a legal requirement. Otherwise the accommodation was adequate and staff were very polite and helpful.

  • P Carey

  • November 2013

excellent base for day at cheltenham races

Have stayed here before and again had pleasant room.

Staff extremely friendly as usual and great facilities available for fitness ie gym and swimming.

  • A Morris

  • November 2013

A good base to relax into the Cotswolds

Stayed at the hotel all the facilities were very clean and well presented and within easy access of the Cotswold villages

  • D Weston

  • November 2013

Decent room, good service.

I stayed here for a coherence and had a decent room wit a comfortable bed in the new part of the hotel.

Good to see a decent iron, board and trouser press as standard. Coffee & tea facilities were fine. The bathroom had seen better days - discoloured grouting and leaky shower head - but the towels were excellent. My biggest gripe was the very slow wireless internet that required re-registering every 30 mins on every device. Overall service was frigidly. Food was okay - my burger was a bit dry but came with great chips and salad. Prices in the restaurant were decent and breakfast a good quality. I heard that the older rooms were generally nicer - I'd probably go for one of those if I stayed here again.

  • michelle d

  • November 2013


made a late booking efficiently dealt with.

used leisure facilities, nice. code on doors was annoying as didnt always work. decided to have evening meal at hotel and pleased we did. Room clean and comfortable. we enjoyed our stay

  • Stella J

  • November 2013

Nice, great swimming pool & location

Had a good two nights here with my husband.

Very nice swimming pool with Jacuzzi, if a bit warm. Room had plenty of space. All clean except a few stains on the carpet and a slight smell of smoke in the bathroom, which I guess is down to the previous occupant rather than the hotel. The TV had a very limited selection of channels, which was annoying, since I think it advertises Freeview, but it was far less than all of Freeview. The photos only show the main (older) building. Most of the rooms are in modern buildings alongside, so the website sense of an old manor is almost entirely false - feels like a modern hotel, though architecture inside and out is good. Likewise the "grounds" are just grass areas, no old landscaped gardens or anything. Our rooms "view of the grounds" were some containers out the back. Central facilities are good, with coffee machines that appear to be free to use (cappucino, latte, etc), papers available. And of course the health club. We didn't eat there. The Chequers inn a few minutes walk away is reported to be very good, but unfortunately is closed Mondays, so we missed it.

  • Chris B

  • November 2013

2 night break

Staff very friendly and room clean and comfortable.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful and hot with a wide choice. Didn't have an evening meal in the hotel as we wanted to explore the locality but bar area seemed to be a little short of soul - possibly as it is also a conference centre. Little disappointed that the photo on the various websites (olde worlde) didn't reflect the whole hotel but just the reception. Swimming pool and hot tub excellent and certainly not busy. Would stay again as an excellent base yo tour the Cotswalds.