No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ettington Chase

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Banbury Road, Ettington, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 7NZ
Ettington Chase is located only 6 miles from Stratford-upon-Avon, Shakespeare’s birthplace and is set in 11 acres of landscaped grounds. We are a 10 minute drive from all the attractions Stratford-upon-Avon offers including the Shakespeare experience, Anne Hathaway's cottage and the RSC. Ideal for business or leisure our guests enjoy complimentary use of our leisure club including an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and air-conditioned gym. We also offer free car parking and complimentary WI FI access. The stylish bedrooms feature modern oak furniture, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, and a work desk all with en suite bathrooms with both a bath and shower. Leisure facilities at Ettington Chase include outdoor tennis courts, and guests can enjoy jogging trails and scenic walks in the grounds. The Tempus Bar & Restaurant features seasonal menus made from local produce and room service is available. Please note our standard bedrooms are not located in the Manor house wing of the hotel.
Picture of Ettington Chase, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 164 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our mini moon
Stayed 3 nights had a lovely time 10 mins direct route to Stratford hotel was very comfortable staff was friendly helpful polite n courteous breakfast was buffet but was delicious n fresh beds was real comfy hair dryer was a very good one n in the room not attached to the wall lol iron n board trouser press would deff come back here again x

Reviewed by
Tracy Littlewood

From Taplow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Punching a bit above its weight
We booked this hotel as it was a huge discount on the usual price and the photos made it look very luxurious. I'm glad that we didn't pay full price, but for the reduced price it wasn't too bad value for money. The hotel front has a beautiful exterior, but that is just the small building housing reception, the rest of the hotel is a large extension, and the room we stayed in was very dated. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, certainly no complaints about the service. The food was ok, but the breakfast was only just worth the money as the range was quite limited. In short I'd definitely recommend this hotel if marked down in price and if you're just looking for a friendly stop over. The gym and swimming pool (which we didn't try) look great, and are free as a guest. If you're looking for a romantic getaway or a luxury hotel I'd try elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Eva W

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No biscuits and no shower cap

Reviewed by
Mark T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We have no complaints about our stay at Ettington Chase. Short Drive from Stratford upon Avon
Friendly staff and hot food at breakfast that actually was hot as is sadly not always the case at other hotels we have stayed in.
The only comment I would make is that due to the repetitive nature of their welcome information, the staff speak too quickly and softly for the hard of hearing to catch and there is only so many times one wishes to say "pardon?". Hardly worth mentioning as it is such a common occurrence where staff have to say the same things so many times but it would be good if staff could bear it in mind.

Reviewed by
christine i

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check number of rooms!
We thought we were going to stay in a nice manor house, but in fact we were in a conference style facility - the main pic of the house is misleading as this is just the reception and other bits. The room and place was perfectly acceptable, we should have looked in to the place in more detail and realised it wasn't the cosy, romantic place we were hoping for but in fact endless corridors of rooms. However, the pool was nice. Did the job, but wouldn't go back - unless on a course!

Reviewed by
Nicola B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room expectations
We were a little disappointed with the room décor and furnishing as it was not what we had seen in the pictures on website. Although it was adequate there were some missing details that would have improved the stay. Having a decent makeup magnifying mirror in bathroom is essential in my view for hotels to have for men and women. Staff were friendly but hotel lacked atmosphere.

Reviewed by
linnett w

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine as £60 deal, poor for £260 full price
A pleasant location with very helpful staff, and exactly what you'd expect for a £60 room. But I've rated quality of room and value for money as if paying full price: I'd be disappointed to find no fridge/minibar, no biscuits with the tea, a TV remote that doesn't work, and somewhat dated decor/fittings. So perfectly practical, but not particularly enjoyable.

Reviewed by
James H

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first class

Reviewed by
d ford

From hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience overall
Excellent overall. Only 3 minor issues - The trouser press didn't work, although I didn't need it critically so didn't bother reporting until the morning (I'm sure they would have helped out if I'd asked), the bathroom did look slightly older than the rest of the room, as if it could do with modernisation (but really not bad at all, definately very clean) and I did think the 30 minutes of attenuated wi-fi for free was a little "tight". Surely for the price associated with a stay here, generally free wi-fi is do-able?
Restaurant was excellent. It was quiet when I was there and very friendly and helpful. Really nice food, and worth the pricetag. Good music from what I recall.
Breakfast also excellent, good range at the buffet and good coffee.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will return - great place.
Was initially put off by reviews and checked the room before paying, but had nothing to worry about. For the price we paid and if I had had the courage to change my booking could have got the room even cheaper, it was excellent value. The most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in ever and better than my own. Swimming pool was a real luxury to have of a morning and evening. Only small moan was not enough tea and milk in room, but had taken my own anyway and could have had a small fridge. Otherwise it was very good and next time I am visiting Stratford I will stay here. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Maggie H

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next