No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ettington Chase

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Banbury Road, Ettington, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 7NZ
Ettington Chase is located only 6 miles from Stratford-upon-Avon, Shakespeare’s birthplace and is set in 11 acres of landscaped grounds. We are a 10 minute drive from all the attractions Stratford-upon-Avon offers including the Shakespeare experience, Anne Hathaway's cottage and the RSC. Ideal for business or leisure our guests enjoy complimentary use of our leisure club including an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and air-conditioned gym. We also offer free car parking and complimentary WI FI access. The stylish bedrooms feature modern oak furniture, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, and a work desk all with en suite bathrooms with both a bath and shower. Leisure facilities at Ettington Chase include outdoor tennis courts, and guests can enjoy jogging trails and scenic walks in the grounds. The Tempus Bar & Restaurant features seasonal menus made from local produce and room service is available. Please note our standard bedrooms are not located in the Manor house wing of the hotel.
Picture of Ettington Chase, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 165 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent room, good service.
I stayed here for a coherence and had a decent room wit a comfortable bed in the new part of the hotel. Good to see a decent iron, board and trouser press as standard. Coffee & tea facilities were fine. The bathroom had seen better days - discoloured grouting and leaky shower head - but the towels were excellent. My biggest gripe was the very slow wireless internet that required re-registering every 30 mins on every device.
Overall service was frigidly. Food was okay - my burger was a bit dry but came with great chips and salad. Prices in the restaurant were decent and breakfast a good quality. I heard that the older rooms were generally nicer - I'd probably go for one of those if I stayed here again.

Reviewed by
D Weston

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

vegetarian
made a late booking efficiently dealt with. used leisure facilities, nice. code on doors was annoying as didnt always work. decided to have evening meal at hotel and pleased we did. Room clean and comfortable. we enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
michelle d

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was nice albeit smelled a bit odd. Wifi was weak and we were on ground floor nearest the main building. Bar was expensive and the hotel is much further from Stratford than expected (25 min drive -£20 in a taxi). Very nice grounds though.

Reviewed by
S Spain

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough
Took my mother away for her birthday with my partner and father. Hotel is well laid out and facilities are very good.
We were a little disapointed that the picture we saw of the hotel was actually just a part of it and the rest was a standard hotel design.
Couldn't fault are stay, it was perfectly acceptable hotel.

Reviewed by
Daniel Craine

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break
Staff very friendly and room clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and hot with a wide choice. Didn't have an evening meal in the hotel as we wanted to explore the locality but bar area seemed to be a little short of soul - possibly as it is also a conference centre. Little disappointed that the photo on the various websites (olde worlde) didn't reflect the whole hotel but just the reception. Swimming pool and hot tub excellent and certainly not busy. Would stay again as an excellent base yo tour the Cotswalds.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, great swimming pool & location
Had a good two nights here with my husband. Very nice swimming pool with Jacuzzi, if a bit warm. Room had plenty of space. All clean except a few stains on the carpet and a slight smell of smoke in the bathroom, which I guess is down to the previous occupant rather than the hotel. The TV had a very limited selection of channels, which was annoying, since I think it advertises Freeview, but it was far less than all of Freeview. The photos only show the main (older) building. Most of the rooms are in modern buildings alongside, so the website sense of an old manor is almost entirely false - feels like a modern hotel, though architecture inside and out is good. Likewise the "grounds" are just grass areas, no old landscaped gardens or anything. Our rooms "view of the grounds" were some containers out the back! Central facilities are good, with coffee machines that appear to be free to use (cappucino, latte, etc), papers available. And of course the health club. We didn't eat there. The Chequers inn a few minutes walk away is reported to be very good, but unfortunately is closed Mondays, so we missed it.

Reviewed by
Stella J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

totally wonderful stay
outstanding in every aera

Reviewed by
suzanne robinson

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely but the room could do with a bit of paint or redecoration.

Reviewed by
L Gittings

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very reasonable and in a good location for stratford and the Cotswolds.

Reviewed by
Lee B

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Connor on the bar was brilliant, however staff on reception and in breakfast need abit more personality

Reviewed by
Chris T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next