Reviews - Ettington Chase


Banbury Road, Ettington, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 7NZ

Price From 135.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • barry cox

  • July 2014


lovely place to stop with peace andquiet

  • S Holland

  • July 2014

Short Break 21-23/07/14

Overall satisfied with the hotel facilities and cleanliness.

The staff were also very friendly. Our stay was let down by a meal in the Tempus restaurant when my partner found a foreign body in her main course. Such a shame to our romantic break.

  • a haslam

  • July 2014

The staff were v friendly & helpful.

The staff in the restaurant were particularly friendly and the food was very good. We had a superior room which was very nice but we had to ask reception to send maintenance to fix the bed. It was obviously previously broken and the hotel had put a board underneath the matress to support it - very uncomfortable and the whole bed sagged. We thought they would change the bed but they just repositioned the board!. Not what you would expect. They did say new beds were on order but this just wasn't good enough.

  • Stuart H

  • July 2014

Great place

Enjoyed staying here.

Good value and a nice place

  • p henstock

  • June 2014

fantastic hotel made to feel like a king

  • R Kinley

  • June 2014

Hotel stay w/c 9th June 2014

Took quite a time to queue up up to check in and 15 minutes to check and out.

There weren't enough competent staff on duty at reception during my visit. Hotel room clean but let down by bedside lamps not working and kettle having to be transported from normal storage space to find a 13A socket. Lack of facilities to accommodate hotel guests in the common bar/lounge area which is shared with the numerous conference personnel.

No lift to rooms on upper floor. Good food served in the restaurant but pricey. Advertises 11 acres of grounds but nothing much to walk around or see. Gym and pool good facilities

Overall hotel ok and would visit again but don't think it could be considered to be good value for money at normal rates.

  • Jacqueline Pearce

  • June 2014

My friend and I booked two rooms for a one night stay.

We had an upgrade to a deluxe rooms which were nice but I was a bit disappointed when I found stains on the bed throw (underside) and in both rooms the shower screen seals were dirty and one should have been replaced. My friend did not have the full complimentary tea & biscuit tray as I did, attention to detail could have been a bit better for this 4 star rated accommodation. However the staff we en counted were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very good and I would stay again.

  • Gail T

  • June 2014

Pleasant hotel, friendly professional staff, spacious room, excellent parking

I booked the Hotel on a deal, but wouldnt have found it such great value if I had paid full price.

But to be fair, Im always generally paying for two people even tho Im just one. Spacious room, slightly dated bathroom but all very clean and comfortably styled. Because of the design of the modern building to reflect the old part of the building, the windows are small and mine was angled to view over another part of the building. Would have been nicer to have a view of the grounds. I feel generally this is more of a venues hotel, conferencing, weddings and such. It is not really a couples...individuals, come and enjoy the Hotel for the Hotel's sake type hotel. It's location for my purpose of visiting surrounding Historic Houses was very good and it is excellently placed for visiting Warwick and Stratford. I ate a bar snack of soup and sandwich, the soup was tasty but the sandwich was rather bland and the bread was a bit chewy at the edges as though the bread had been defrosted quickly. There are computers you can use for an hour at a time for free if necessary, but a rather convoluted booking on system. There is free wifi if you use a laptop. All in all a pleasant stay, I wouldnt not stay at the Hotel again, but only if it was convenient to where I needed to be.

  • Andrea B

  • June 2014

Stay away if possible

Hotel ala motel ..will give -1 star for a bad character, paper like matrac, dirty shower..stay away from the restaurant if possible (gummy brushetta -plus waiting time for a burger over an hour) very poor service, overpriced.

  • Daniel Craine

  • April 2014

Nice enough

Took my mother away for her birthday with my partner and father.

Hotel is well laid out and facilities are very good.

We were a little disapointed that the picture we saw of the hotel was actually just a part of it and the rest was a standard hotel design.

Couldn't fault are stay, it was perfectly acceptable hotel.