No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite, CA12 4RG
Set in the calming shadow of England's highest fells, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake, BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel is the ideal location to explore the northern region of the Lake District. From the mysterious trails through Dodd Wood to the glorious views of the surrounding countryside, we can safely say that all rooms come with a view! Add to that more local points of interest like a nesting site of the beautiful Osprey or the majestic Skiddaw Mountain, and you'll be hard pushed to find many better settings for a truly relaxing retreat... there really is something for everyone to enjoy! Our extensive leisure and conference facilities add another dimension to this excellent accommodation, while easy motorway access makes anything possible as far as getting out and about (and beyond) is concerned. The hotel has a bronze rating with Cumbria Business Environment Network Scheme, and the family run friendliness is never ending! A pre-authorization with the same credit or debit card will be required at check-in for advance purchase rates.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel, Bassenthwaite at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super value weekend
Booked to celebrate my husbands 40th which I informed them of. arrived to be told our room was upgraded. My husband was so pleased with the room & hotel. The leisure facilities were a bonus. A relaxing swim after a good walk was lovely. Hotel is in a beautiful area of the lakes. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was standard basic but requests were met. The breakfast bar/self serve needed restocking but it was the busiest period. The building work needs completing asap as buckets collecting water leaks looks poor and distracts from the otherwise very appealing presentation of the hotel. What a relief to have a weekend away that surpasses your
expectations! We will stay again and take the children with us as it was very family friendly. Well done and Thank you Castle Inn Hotel.

Reviewed by
Lorraine Edwards

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Great base for lakes Keswick and surrounding areas clean hotel good rooms good facilities good staff

Reviewed by
steven w

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Short Break in countryside hotel
Staff in reception, bar and restaurants were very good providing friendly service. Our room was comfortable clean and the bathroom was large and roomy with a separate shower cubicle and bath. Food was good with an excellent choice of breakfast the only down side was the cost of drinks unfortunately as is with most hotels.

Reviewed by
Michael G

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay in a lovely location, super staff, would stay again******
Lovely hotel, excellent clean facilities
Very pleasant stay in a lovely location, super staff, would stay again******
Thank you

Reviewed by
J Densham

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On our first night at dinner the scallops were tiny and over cooked at £8 very poor value. The lamb was very tough and no refund given after not eating it.The wine overpriced. On the upside the staff were all friendly but a couple need customer service training. The hotel was really clean.

Reviewed by
F Starbuck

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great find
lovely hotel,food excellent staff very friendly, good facilities, only drawback is that the rooms are too warm. We were provided with a fan which we had on the whole stay.

Reviewed by
fiona m

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel and location with great scenery. .
Stayed for two nights, unfortunately the first night was very uncomfortable as we stayed in room 37 and there's some kind of plant room below this and it is located on the corner of a very busy landing so you hear people coming a d going all night.after a complaint about being kept awake all night the hotel relocated us to a different room which was much better and a good quality room. .I am very surprised that no one has complained about room 37 before now, and if they had then why had we been put in this room. ?
I would use this hotel again but would avoid room 37.

Reviewed by
Gary Commons

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful few days - looked after extremely well
Stayed for two nights late August - myself and my wifey. We were upgraded to a suite without asking which was a lovely room and a lovely surprise.
The hotel is all corridors and rooms but is very well kept and very clean as are the leisure facilities and pool.
The staff were exceptional, we never encountered anyone who wasn't polite, attentive and very helpful which is a joy.
The food at breakfast, in the bar and in the restaurant was also of a very good quality, well presented and well cooked.
The only issue I have is the price of everything. the food and drinks in the bar seemed very high to a working boy like me but it is par for the course in a hotel of this standard and with a captive audience as there is nowhere else within the direct vicinity. This does feel like a bit of a moan and we wouldn't call it a complaint as it is to be expected, more of an observation.
The area is naturally very beautiful and we walked by the lake, saw the Osprays (the people who set up the observation posts were also excellent) Kingfishers, woodpeckers and other wildlife. We had a thoroughly enjoyable few days and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic break in the Lake District
A really enjoyable experience, to stay in the "Presidential Suite" in the Castle Inn Hotel. We enjoyed the big room, and very big and very clean bathroom, but found the rest of the hotel a bit too "clinical". The supper was so, so, but we enjoyed the use of the swimming pool. We also enjoyed the garden. A good last-minute choice.

Reviewed by
S Wigdel

From Penrhyndeudraeth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night in Bassenthwaite
excellent hotel, at the northern end of the lake district. Good views from our room. Staff very friendly and helpful. We are both vegetarian, we found the food options a little limited so we had dinner in Keswick. Breakfast was very nice. There was also a gym and pool, which we didn't make use of.

Reviewed by
Derek W

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next