No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite, CA12 4RG
Set in the calming shadow of England's highest fells, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake, BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel is the ideal location to explore the northern region of the Lake District. From the mysterious trails through Dodd Wood to the glorious views of the surrounding countryside, we can safely say that all rooms come with a view! Add to that more local points of interest like a nesting site of the beautiful Osprey or the majestic Skiddaw Mountain, and you'll be hard pushed to find many better settings for a truly relaxing retreat... there really is something for everyone to enjoy! Our extensive leisure and conference facilities add another dimension to this excellent accommodation, while easy motorway access makes anything possible as far as getting out and about (and beyond) is concerned. The hotel has a bronze rating with Cumbria Business Environment Network Scheme, and the family run friendliness is never ending! A pre-authorization with the same credit or debit card will be required at check-in for advance purchase rates.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel, Bassenthwaite at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle Inn Hotel, Bassenthwaite
Pleasant ambiance, helpful staff, good food, good leisure centre

Reviewed by
W Collins

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Allocated Room was above the stair well and double doors - very noisy - generator clicked on/off
Allocated Room was above the stair well and double doors - very noisy - generator or heating clicked on/off all night. giving an uncomfortable nights sleep
Room very clean and tidy - cold water tap ran very slow
Wedding venue on - which obliviously you expect people to be enjoying themselves
how ever after the venue and with the transport pick up point being right outside my room a fight had broke out causing unnecessary noise volume

Reviewed by
Helen C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury to come back to after a long day
We stayed here as our friend had a wedding at the venue down the road. Check in was easy and the reception desk staff were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with every you could need. The bathroom especially was very nice with separate bath and walk in shower. Although we didn't have breakfast, friends of ours said it was very good.

Reviewed by
Joanne C

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed in the new part & the room was big comfy & very clean , no iron in room so requested one which was brought to our room within 5mins . choice of cereals / fruits then ordered a cooked breakfast which was sufficient , very good bar man on while there very friendly & had good banter with him , then reception printed us out directions to visit a place where we couldn`t find a sat nav code in one of the leaflets - many thanks .Would definitely stop there again , lovely grounds scenery & staff .

Reviewed by
M cherry

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in a wonderful setting
We stayed in an Executive Room which was furnished to high standards. The hotel is in a wonderful location with lovely grounds. The food was of an average standard and the staff at the hotel were both helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend retreat
Lovely location, very friendly and helpfull staff, good food and a nice pint.

Reviewed by
Lewis B

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel
Our stay was following myself running the Karrimor 11.5k trail challenge. we found the staff really helpful and pleasant. the room was lovely and clean, bright, and roomy.
our food was well made, and served nicely.
we would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Guy Priestley

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Muddle over bill payment but this was due to Best Western policy not staff failures.

Reviewed by
Mary B

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for money
A bit old fashioned and the pool and changing facilities need updating. Not a bad place, but not below expectations for the money. Good location.

Reviewed by
Gary F

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was not too child friendly as sharp edges of the ceiling were the children slept

Reviewed by
J Mckellar

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next