No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite, CA12 4RG
Set in the calming shadow of England's highest fells, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake, BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel is the ideal location to explore the northern region of the Lake District. From the mysterious trails through Dodd Wood to the glorious views of the surrounding countryside, we can safely say that all rooms come with a view! Add to that more local points of interest like a nesting site of the beautiful Osprey or the majestic Skiddaw Mountain, and you'll be hard pushed to find many better settings for a truly relaxing retreat... there really is something for everyone to enjoy! Our extensive leisure and conference facilities add another dimension to this excellent accommodation, while easy motorway access makes anything possible as far as getting out and about (and beyond) is concerned. The hotel has a bronze rating with Cumbria Business Environment Network Scheme, and the family run friendliness is never ending! A pre-authorization with the same credit or debit card will be required at check-in for advance purchase rates.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel, Bassenthwaite at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for money
A bit old fashioned and the pool and changing facilities need updating. Not a bad place, but not below expectations for the money. Good location.

Reviewed by
Gary F

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was not too child friendly as sharp edges of the ceiling were the children slept

Reviewed by
J Mckellar

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Breakfast
Great breakfast in this hotel with different choice. I had kipper and mixed berries and it was delicious. The staff at breakfast were very friendly Our accommodation was excellent although we were in the new suites. Great value for money from late rooms £100 a night for twin room. Large indoor swimming pool, sauna and steam room
Try and get a new room.

Reviewed by
B O,Neil

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service

Reviewed by
Bernadette M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, very friendly and quality food!
Staff were so nice, the restaurant was very, very good.

Reviewed by
Chris Hellas

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and great stay
We had a great one night stay at the hotel an were really impressed with the room and the look of the hotel. Also we made use of the swimming pool and later ate in the restaurant and the food was absolutly wonderful and great service and value.
We would definately reccomend the hotel to people wanting to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
stephen f

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

karens birthday
we stayed over night on good friday for my fiances birthday and had a fantastic nights stay in beautiful surroundings. we had a meal in the lakers lounge bar and it was amazing quality food for a great value price. we were extremely impressed with the hotel staff and facilities were second to none.
many thanks damien houseman

Reviewed by
damien houseman

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding stay at the Castle Inn
Service was outstanding, staff were helpful and food was beautiful!

Reviewed by
K Matheson

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Welcome on arrival was 1st class, our room which was sold as being 'small' was really comfortable with a huge bathroom, plenty of storage and 2 armchairs certainly didn't feel 'small' ! We ate in the bar both nights, the food was good and price was reasonable, the only downside was there not being enough tables to accommodate all the hotel guests wanting to eat in the bar on the Saturday night but the manager did his best to help us and we still had a great evening. Pool and sauna were an added bonus. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Louella E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect break.
I have stayed in 100's of Hotels throughout the UK mainly for business purposes and although this was for pleasure I can honestly say it was one of the best I have stayed in. The location and facilities (Leisure area) were excellent, the staff were accomodating and friendly and the food and restaurant service were excellent.

Reviewed by
Paul Brown

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next