No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Near Keswick , Keswick, CA12 4RG
Set in the calming shadow of England's highest fells, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake, BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel is the ideal location to explore the northern region of the Lake District. From the mysterious trails through Dodd Wood to the glorious views of the surrounding countryside, we can safely say that all rooms come with a view! Add to that more local points of interest like a nesting site of the beautiful Osprey or the majestic Skiddaw Mountain, and you'll be hard pushed to find many better settings for a truly relaxing retreat... there really is something for everyone to enjoy! Our extensive leisure and conference facilities add another dimension to this excellent accommodation, while easy motorway access makes anything possible as far as getting out and about (and beyond) is concerned. The hotel has a bronze rating with Cumbria Business Environment Network Scheme, and the family run friendliness is never ending! A pre-authorization with the same credit or debit card will be required at check-in for advance purchase rates.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn hotel, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to relax and to go and see places from
Finding the hotel was easy and it was well located to go off exploring from and relax at the end of the day. Bar was very comfortable and relaxing so I did not feel the need to go to the main restaurant. Breakfast was also nice. Enjoyed the food from the bar too, good portions for the mains and some nice local ales. Would have liked another option on the pumps though and some variation in the menu or some specials. The leisure facilities were great for their purpose and although the sauna was very small as not many people were using it I was not bothered but there was not room for more than 3. Downsides - the wi-fi went on and off and was not reliable and there was only freeview on the tv which meant no sky sports or movies but that was not a big problem unless I wanted to see a movie in the evening. I found the room comfortable and a good size but there was some traffic noise in my room but it was not a major problem as during the night there was not a lot of traffic.

Reviewed by
Andrew Thompson

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable relaxing break
Had an excellent stay in the suite hotel staff very welcoming
And friendly stayed in a suite very spacious
Had a lovely meal in the bar
Only downside was we should have stayed longer
Will return

Reviewed by
g jackson

From Chester le Street, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and all the facilities it had to offer, staff are lovely we will definitely book again. only down side was they was a wedding on while we where there and the second night were kept awake with alot of noise till early hours, will just make sure when booking next time no wedding are on during are stay.

Reviewed by
m whiting

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Everything was fine. The only negative is that the bed was a bit small

Reviewed by
d lekic

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good!
Good hotel but a bit stretched out with corridors and added buildings. The indoor pool was great and it was lovely to relax in at the end of the day. The breakfast at £10 pre-booked or £12 at the time per person was expensive for continental.

Reviewed by
Neil W

From Scarborough, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely place to stay
A really lovely location , great views, very friendly , good food & well worth a visit . Not too far from Keswick & only 40 mins from M6.

Reviewed by
T Fletcher

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle Inn Hotel, Bassenthwaite
Pleasant ambiance, helpful staff, good food, good leisure centre

Reviewed by
W Collins

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Allocated Room was above the stair well and double doors - very noisy - generator clicked on/off
Allocated Room was above the stair well and double doors - very noisy - generator or heating clicked on/off all night. giving an uncomfortable nights sleep
Room very clean and tidy - cold water tap ran very slow
Wedding venue on - which obliviously you expect people to be enjoying themselves
how ever after the venue and with the transport pick up point being right outside my room a fight had broke out causing unnecessary noise volume

Reviewed by
Helen C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury to come back to after a long day
We stayed here as our friend had a wedding at the venue down the road. Check in was easy and the reception desk staff were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with every you could need. The bathroom especially was very nice with separate bath and walk in shower. Although we didn't have breakfast, friends of ours said it was very good.

Reviewed by
Joanne C

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed in the new part & the room was big comfy & very clean , no iron in room so requested one which was brought to our room within 5mins . choice of cereals / fruits then ordered a cooked breakfast which was sufficient , very good bar man on while there very friendly & had good banter with him , then reception printed us out directions to visit a place where we couldn`t find a sat nav code in one of the leaflets - many thanks .Would definitely stop there again , lovely grounds scenery & staff .

Reviewed by
M cherry

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next