No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Hotel

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
139-141 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2NA
Located on Brighton's seafront close to the West Pier, the Kings Hotel is perfect for the business or leisure traveller. Originally 3 regency town houses we are now a modern hotel with a vibrant and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Many of the hotels 90 bedrooms are seafacing. The K Bar is perfect for relaxing during your stay and you can also utilise the FREE WIFI available during your stay. Located five minutes from the famous Lanes shopping area, Brighton Conference Centre and the city's busy nightlife, the Kings really is the perfect place to stay.

There is a small car park at the hotel, charged at £15.00 per night and available on a first come first served basis. See reception on arrival who will advise you of availability. If no spaces available you will directed to on-street parking near the hotel or the Regency Square NCP car park which is a few minute's walk away. The hotel is fully non-smoking.

The Kings Hotel is a pet friendly hotel, but charges will apply'
Picture of Kings Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 228 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great sea view .. Shame about the dual carriage way in front!
Nice hotel in great position,but rooms with spectacular sea views are very noisy as busy main road beaten hotel and promenade.
Nice view of the pier as mentioned on website. Shame it burnt down .
Decoration, carpets, lighting etc all very tired . Wifi not working in rooms and no power sockets bedside for phone charger etc. had to unplug the kettle.

Breakfast was just OK but confusing menu that lured you into two courses but second one was extra! Didn't eat dinner in restaurant as was empty but it was Monday night.
Hotel as a whole Would need huge investment to reach a higher standard.

Reviewed by
john f

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby room & surroundings for the money
Hotel would be fine if it was £40 a night, but we stayed in hotel du vin the night before for less money snd it was amazing. We paid £145 to stay in kings and that is a complete rip off for the quality of the hotel. Looks like it hasn't had any renovations since the early 80's.

Reviewed by
Kevin C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Hotel Brighton
After booking my break, I foolishly read other guests' reviews and many had given the hotel seriously negative comments to the extent that I lost sleep the night before. We personally found most of the comments unfounded. Our room had a pleasant sea view and was clean and tidy. The staff were all polite and the food good, although I thought the bar was expensive. Parking nearby was a problem but easily overcome if one takes a case with wheels, as the Regency car park was convenient enough. Not the best hotel ever, but nowhere near the worst.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp curtains, musty smell, bad shower
In short, the room smelt musty, the curtains wre damp from a leak and the showers had one setting very hot. No apology from reception. I would not recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Green

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly disappointed with this hotel
On arrival we were shown to our room, we booked a standard double, the room was in the basement and horrible,, very basic with chipped furniture. we were offered another room on the 2nd floor which was also below the standard I was expecting. We were then moved to a room on the 4th floor which was much nicer, the staff were lovely, the hotel is dated and overpriced.
Breakfast is limited and basic.

Reviewed by
T Cooper

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
I stayed at the King's Hotel for one night in June,and I can recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't know it. The reception staff were polite and helpful,the single room was adequate for the £56 I paid and had a very large bathroom with all the hot water I needed and towels. The lift was out of order,which was the only thing I could fault. I slept like a log and would definitely return.

Reviewed by
S G

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Lift not working. Had to carry luggage up 4 flights of stairs.
Bedroom tire, small and too hot.
Overall hotel needs refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Stuart Brown

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton - A weekend visit
I was a little concerned having read some previous comments about this hotel but it's June in Brighton and there's not a lot left.
Overall I was impressed, the room was a lot larger than I've had in the past, it was clean, staff were pleasant and while there was a little noise from the other rooms (ie lack of internal soundproofing) it really wasn't an issue.
I look for a clean room, I like a nice shower, a good breakfast is a bonus,
The room was clean and quiet. the shower was reasonable and as we wandered along the prom quite early we didn't try the breakfast.
As a 3* hotel it bats well above the average, it wasn''t cheap but hotels in Brighton at the weekend are generally overpriced because of hen and stag parties.
It has the advanage (?) of being a little further away from the centre that the hen/stag parties are running out of steam by the time they get this far.
Was it good value? Yes by the costs for Brighton at the weekend in June
Was it a pleasant tay? Yes

Reviewed by
Tim L

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

kings hotel
the room we booked had a sea view which was lovely to look out over the promenade, the room was very clean the bed however was uncomfortable might want to change the mattress it was lumpy,The staff were very helpful we had a slight problem with payment which was soon resolved, the lift didn't work , we were on the third floor which is a bit of a climb , the hotel I thought was a bit confusing you had to find your way around floors was not marked properly,The breakfast was good lovely staff, we would stay here again change the mattress in 319 and we'll be back, lovely view

Reviewed by
L Thomson

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looking a little tired
Room was fine, but the wallpaper peeling away in the corner. Stairwells and stairs looking pretty grim. Previous stay my room was much nicer, perhaps it had just been redecorated.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next