Reviews - Kings Hotel


139-141 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 2NA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (189)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Downes

  • August 2014

Room was very small and dark with window facing wall

  • E LOWE

  • August 2014


I was shocked to arrive and find out the lifts weren't working and I'd been put on the 3rd floor.

Partly my fault for not requesting to be ground floor. Also the language barrier was difficult,hard to make myself understood. I have Fibromyalgia and heart failure and many other ailments,so I needed the lift. I should of been given a discount. I dont think it was worth the £61 stay,more like £30. I did ask if I could cancel,as I knew not having the lift would be a problem for me,I was told no,which considering I was being given a bum deal was not good. The bedroom was awful,way too hot and the tiny window located round a bend would only open a tiny bit.I felt claustrophobic and like I couldn't breathe.I'd prefer the window near to me,for fresh air. I was given a fan,but its hard to sleep with its noise and its not 'fresh air' at the end of the day. I wasnt happy that I had to keep trailing all the way to the front for a cigarette either. In future I will double check for a ground floor room,no stairs and a balcony,so tht I can smoke freely. The breakfast wasn't nice.Cheap beans and streaky bacon (again my fault,I should of asked for rindless bacon) and I only eat Heinz. All this said and done it was a pleasant enough stay.

  • kay mckenzie

  • August 2014

Fire alarm

On the first morning of our stay we were awoken at 7.00 am by the hotel fire alarm On getting down to reception there were a lot of sleepy disgruntled guest .

My husband

Is a fire alarm engineer so he offered to have a look at the panel , on doing so within

Seconds he had silenced the alarm allowing all the guest to return to there rooms

I am a little annoyed that we didn't even get a thank you for potentially saving the hotel

A lot of complaints for the many guests that were staying there . Also when we arrived

The lift was broken awaiting an engineer it was still broken when we left three days


  • D P

  • August 2014


The room was lovely, with some classic furnishing, and therefore I was able to enjoy a whole afternoon & evening relaxing in it, watching television.

It would have been even more enjoyable, however, if the free wifi signal had reached to my particular room; instead I had to relocate to the bar in order to check my emails etcetera. The only other noticeable problem, though, was the fact that the walls were very thin, so that I was weary of talking on the phone for fear of disturbing my neighbours. In fact, I was woken up by some fellow guests noisily traversing the staircase at four in the morning. This, however, is perhaps due to the structural nature of the old building, and perhaps could not be helped without major renovation.

Overall, my experience was very positive, however.

  • John F

  • August 2014

Happy Enough...

Welcoming reception team.

Lift was out of use, however luggage was taken to the room on the third floor.... room was clean and tidy and bathroom was in good order. Could have done with an extra table or something similar.

  • Christopher Coston

  • August 2014



  • Elizabeth Davies

  • August 2014

Communication between staff with reference to booking parking etc was sketchy at best.

However staff in the dining area were friendly and helpful

  • Sally O

  • August 2014

Brighton weekend

OK, average hotel, overpriced at £135 per night, but perfect position on sea front, short walk to The Lanes

  • P Bishop

  • August 2014

The hotel itself is fine, but I would've thought with the amount I paid, that there would've been day trips included with the price.

They only served breakfast, no other meals, most of my spending money went on two meals everyday for a week.

  • S Singh

  • August 2014

Perfectly comfortable room, in a slightly dated hotel (looks like something from the 70's, though the rooms have been partly modernised with wallpaper etc).

Good location, polite staff, comfortable bed.

Dislikes: no mixer taps in the washbasin (though the shower was great) and easy / ready access to wifi would have been appreciated. Also should have a safe room with tags for guests wishing to leave baggage outside of check-in/check-out times (as opposed to an open access area near the front door)

All in all, perfectly comfortable hotel, but definitely not worth the last minute rate I paid.