You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Kings Hotel


139-141 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 2NA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (78)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Laws

  • December 2014


I needed a cheap hotel to stay in in Brighton for a conference and this fit the bill - basic, but food was great and staff were friendly.

It's also right on the seafront and not far from some good places to go and eat/drink. Would definitely go again.

  • Nigel S

  • November 2014

Returning guest will not return any more

I have stayed a number of times here when in Brighton on business, the Kings being a bit different from the chain hotels, wonderful view and in a great location at a budget price, recommended to colleagues for similar overnight stays, however won't be going back.

Booked on laterooms with Amex to be told that they don't accept this on arrival due to some 'problem' with American Express. No smiles anywhere from the staff a real change from previous visits and probably the worst nights sleep in a hotel for years. Old building means little or no soundproofing from adjacent rooms or the street. If you have noisy neighbours forget sleep, mine were somewhat loud, and a large party of guests outside at 2am sitting around the tables shouting and laughing were far from ideal although the night reception did speak with them after I had called. I guess the thing that did it for me is that no one asked how my stay had been when checking out, a particularly when I had complained about noise overnight, an easy question but no apparent interest in my stay at all. Sorry Kings, many more hotels out there with a better level of customer service and where I am guaranteed more comfortable surroundings and the opportunity for a decent nights sleep.

  • Frank C

  • November 2014

Great weekend location on the sea front

We had a very pleasant stay here in November.

Accommodation and location very good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Anna Y

  • November 2014


Excellent stay, clean room.

  • r bentley

  • November 2014

Could Do Better

Older woman traveling alone and not a complainer (usually): The first room I was allocated was in the basement of the hotel.

It was freezing cold, and looked out onto some basement concrete steps and yard which was littered with cigarette ends & bits of rubbish... Welcome to Brighton. The windows didn't lock properly, and along the corridor there was an unsupervised, unlocked door leading outside. I asked for a different room. The next room was on the 2nd floor but after leaving the lift there were then flights of stairs to negotiate. The room had scaffolding over the windows, and again the window locks were inadequate. Third time lucky. I was allocated a room on the 3rd floor. Still with scaffolding, a dodgy window and bird netting on the exterior, but by now I was fed up, tired, and needed to land somewhere. I was not offered any help with my large heavy suitcase ... and I do understand "you get what you pay for" The room was adequate ... and the bed very comfortable. The cleaner there does a great job considering how run down the hotel is. It looks like the hotel is undergoing some refurbishment, but probably difficult given the turnover of people staying there.

  • Susanna H

  • November 2014


Cannot fault the hotel.

Better than you would expect for the price. Excellent staff. Great breakfast. All v good. Colleagues stayed at nearby Hilton and our room and experience was much better.

  • M Rolf

  • October 2014

used to work there so much better since left

Exelent stay

  • karen scarrott

  • October 2014

Brighton Rocks in unison with the Kings Hotel

If I was to sum up my stay at the Kings Hotel in two words it would be "Simply Perfect" The four night stay was wonderful Brighton certainly does Rock and in Unison with my very important Conference the hotel made for a peaceful enjoyable and relaxing stay.

With very polite staff always wearing a big smile and the food was excellent breakfast being the most important meal of the day and it set you up for the day. The room had a fantastic view of the sea and the West Pier. If I am destined to return to Brighton in the future the Kings Hotel is where I shall stay.