You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Kings Hotel

3

139-141 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 2NA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (88)

65% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Frank C

  • November 2014

Great weekend location on the sea front

We had a very pleasant stay here in November.

Accommodation and location very good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Anna Y

  • November 2014

Excellent

Excellent stay, clean room.

  • r bentley

  • November 2014

Could Do Better

Older woman traveling alone and not a complainer (usually): The first room I was allocated was in the basement of the hotel.

It was freezing cold, and looked out onto some basement concrete steps and yard which was littered with cigarette ends & bits of rubbish... Welcome to Brighton. The windows didn't lock properly, and along the corridor there was an unsupervised, unlocked door leading outside. I asked for a different room. The next room was on the 2nd floor but after leaving the lift there were then flights of stairs to negotiate. The room had scaffolding over the windows, and again the window locks were inadequate. Third time lucky. I was allocated a room on the 3rd floor. Still with scaffolding, a dodgy window and bird netting on the exterior, but by now I was fed up, tired, and needed to land somewhere. I was not offered any help with my large heavy suitcase ... and I do understand "you get what you pay for" The room was adequate ... and the bed very comfortable. The cleaner there does a great job considering how run down the hotel is. It looks like the hotel is undergoing some refurbishment, but probably difficult given the turnover of people staying there.

  • Susanna H

  • November 2014

Recommend

Cannot fault the hotel.

Better than you would expect for the price. Excellent staff. Great breakfast. All v good. Colleagues stayed at nearby Hilton and our room and experience was much better.

  • M Rolf

  • October 2014

used to work there so much better since left

Exelent stay

  • karen scarrott

  • October 2014

Brighton Rocks in unison with the Kings Hotel

If I was to sum up my stay at the Kings Hotel in two words it would be "Simply Perfect" The four night stay was wonderful Brighton certainly does Rock and in Unison with my very important Conference the hotel made for a peaceful enjoyable and relaxing stay.

With very polite staff always wearing a big smile and the food was excellent breakfast being the most important meal of the day and it set you up for the day. The room had a fantastic view of the sea and the West Pier. If I am destined to return to Brighton in the future the Kings Hotel is where I shall stay.

  • Michael W

  • October 2014

Tired

A comfortable room but the décor was a little tired.

Disappointed to find that no evening meals were available, but found some great restaurants in Preston Street nearby.

  • Philippa B

  • October 2014

Faded splendour on the seafront

To sum it up, this hotel is just overpriced.

If this were "Four in a Bed" and I had to put ££ in an envelope as to what I thought it was worth, then I would have put in £55, but my single room was £87 B&B. The overriding impression you get is that the whole place needs refurbishing. Good points: Room was very clean, shower was hot, towels were clean and fluffy, shampoo etc. provided (in dispensers, but nice stuff) bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was absolutely excellent, very good indeed.

Bad points: Reception poor- lady very offhand (just not interested), money taken as soon as you set foot in the hotel or even see the room and warned in no uncertain terms that "your card details will be kept in case of any damage".( Did I look like a member of a drunken stag party????). Directions to room garbled, had to ask about breakfast, pointed lackadaisically towards lift. Whole place rather rundown, stair carpets very worn on the treads, watch out. The hotel is obviously made up of previous terraced houses, so lots of little half landings and rooms quite difficult to locate. My room and shower pretty small (although that's common with singles) and although new-looking "flat" TV, nearly falling off the wall and only good for 5 channels. Rooms have no double glazing (no problem for me squished round the side, but possible very noisy at the front if you're paying for a sea view!) and I could hear other residents talking etc. as well as corridor noise. For one night (after a few drinks) it was fine. I would stay there again but only if it were cheaper, becasue the quality of the breakfast was a huge redeeming factor.

  • Michael M

  • October 2014

Suitable for a 1 night stay

Room was really hot and the window was so small that it was not possible to air and cool the room.

It is a noisy hotel and I didn't get a particularly good sleep as a result. Since I was woken by guests leaving their rooms at 6-7 in the morning!

  • Scott Rydqvist

  • October 2014

Fantastic staff and great ambience.

They could not do more to help