No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Hotel

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
139-141 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2NA
Located on Brighton's seafront close to the West Pier, the Kings Hotel is perfect for the business or leisure traveller. Originally 3 regency town houses we are now a modern hotel with a vibrant and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Many of the hotels 90 bedrooms are seafacing. The K Bar is perfect for relaxing during your stay and you can also utilise the FREE WIFI available during your stay. Located five minutes from the famous Lanes shopping area, Brighton Conference Centre and the city's busy nightlife, the Kings really is the perfect place to stay.

There is a small car park at the hotel, charged at £15.00 per night and available on a first come first served basis. See reception on arrival who will advise you of availability. If no spaces available you will directed to on-street parking near the hotel or the Regency Square NCP car park which is a few minute's walk away. The hotel is fully non-smoking.

The Kings Hotel is a pet friendly hotel, but charges will apply'
Picture of Kings Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 235 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Staff could not have been more polite and were very helpful and attentive. The room was a bit dated and tired and in need of renovating

Reviewed by
A Smyth

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing

Reviewed by
Joanna Foster

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close amenities
Looks a bit tatty from the outside but is fine inside. Most of the buildings along the seafront look tatty though so it wasn't a real problem. Not ideal for those less mobile as the lift only takes 3 at any one time. Very close to all the local amenities, Brighton Centre is a 5 minute walk along the sea front. Room was cramped & a little too hot & the window didn't open up enough to allow enough fresh air. However, the stay was fine for an overnight stopover.

Reviewed by
S Sydenham

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgraded to sea view on arrival for £10 a night extra.this was well worth the extra expence..
Room was clean but a bit outdated-squeaky floorboards and windows had seen better days.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definately come again in future.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value basic accommodation
Booked for one night to see a show. Clean adequate accommodation if a little Spartan with only one chair. No frills but did have tea and coffee making equipment which is a must. Unfortunately had a faulty shower emitting scalding hot water only. Did report this at breakfast and engineer did attend immediately but a little late by this time. Didn't get apology when booking out. Not moaning really just unlucky.

Reviewed by
M Franks

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Hotel Brighton
A very nice hotel and for what I paid for two nights stay was pretty good value. The breafast the first morning was good, but on the second morning Lucifer himself must have been in the kitchen as most of it was burnt and overdone, which was a shame. Apart from that the room I stayed in was nice and the hotel was fairly plush.

Reviewed by
T Stevens

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could barely swing a cat
The receptionist barely lifted her eyes to greet me upon booking in and booking out. The room was tiny and very hot. It didn't have a thermostat and I couldn't turn the radiator down. As the bed was up against the radiator I had to wrap the rad with the duvet so it wouldn't burn me. Then because the windows were open all night, the door rattled and woke me up so I wedged the chair up against it but that didn't last long and I was woken up again. This time I stuffed the towel under the door and this seemed to solve the problem but then my alarm went off shortly thereafter and I was exhausted. I wouldn't pay full price and due to my troubles, reluctantly paid the bill. Breakfast was ok, it came very quickly which lead me to believe that bacon, sausages and mushrooms were pre cooked. The bread was warmed but I wanted toast and the waitress seemed to think that the toast was separate to the rest of my breakfast so it was cold. Coffee was ok.

Reviewed by
A Kerry

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good with reservations
We were offered to upgrade our room for £20 to one with a sea view. We agreed to do this and were not disappointed. We woke and drew the curtains (really thick light-blocking curtains, essential on the sea front) to a full view of the sea and promenade in the morning sun. The room was comfortable, as was the bed and the bathroom ditto. My only reservation concerns the balcony which the room led onto - overlooking the front of the hotel: no one had cleaned it for some time and it was littered with cigarette buts, discarded teaspoons etc. The paintwork on the balcony rails was flaking and it all seemed a bit sad. (We would not have been happy if we had been paying the full un-discounted rate for the room). Having said that, despite the shabbiness of the balcony, we slept well in comfort and were treated courteously, if rather perfunctorily.

Reviewed by
Avril H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly adequate for one night, good location
Easy to find, on the beachfront, not too far from all the main attractions. Bit basic and the bathroom wasn't luxurious in the slightest, but overall no complaints. We only paid £73 for the whole room so for only £36.50 each can't complain! Towels provided, extra pillows, hairdryer, kettle with instant coffee and teabags etc, lights all working, everything fine.
Cleaner started banging on the door to get in at 10:55 when checkout is at 11am (we were just about to leave), which was slightly irritating, but otherwise fine.
Service was OK, nothing special but no complaints either. Overall, perfectly fine but not luxurious. If you're looking for WOW factor and luxury, go elsewhere, if you just want somewhere to crash for the night which is nothing special, but completely fine, then this is your place.

Reviewed by
H Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Staff could not have been more helpful, there was confusion over our breakfast booking but sorted really quickly
The room was great
Would book again and recommend the hotel to friends

Reviewed by
Jill F

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next