No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Henfield

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
High Street Henfield, Henfield, West Sussex, BN5 9DB
Situated in a quiet village just 33 miles from London and 12 from Brighton, this 16th Century former coaching inn offers high-quality accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. Now a Grade II listed building, the Hotel’s traditional charms are perfectly complemented by its thoroughly modern standards of accommodation and stylish design. Whatever the occasion, guests can always expect a friendly, warm welcome and a memorable stay.

Each of the en-suite guestrooms is comfortable and well-maintained. They also offer self-catering accommodation in an annexe building adjacent to the Hotel.The restaurant is committed to providing a quality of cuisine that exceeds ordinary expectation and they excel at producing great food with a unique twist.It is just a 20 minute drive from the M23 and 20 minutes from the coastal city of Brighton and its many attractions and wonderful seaside fun.
Picture of George Hotel Henfield, Henfield, West Sussex at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good night's sleep with no frills
Comfortable bed, good-sized room, parking, self-catering facilities if we'd wanted them. Shower room a bit basic but everything worked except the light over the basin. Breakfast wasn't part of the deal, which was just as well as our room was in an outside annex and when we tried to get in to the main hotel to give back our key in the morning, both doors were locked. We had no option but to put the key through the letterbox and leave.

Reviewed by
P Seymour

From Oetrange L5355, Luxembourg
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor quality self catering, had to eat out due to lack of cooking utensils, Henfield charming.
Provided a cooker with no cooking utensils, had to ask at bar for these which came from kitchen, bare minimum of cutlery & crockery, sleeps 4 only 2 chairs. Linen clean, staff friendlily & helpful,
2 double beds but really only suitable for 2 people, the hotel accommodation may be better?
Until they improve not recommended, Henfield though very nice.
Complained and received a £30 deduction from bill which did not cover cost of eating out.

Reviewed by
g wilson

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a lovely place to stay! Very clean today and quiet.

Reviewed by
H Campbell

From Hemel Hempstead, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Broken shower, you couldn't hang it up, and you had to hold the pipe together so the water could come out !!
Broken Light bulbs
Broken credit card machine
Room was clean

Reviewed by
J Pepler

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for a short stop
We were attending a wedding near by so booked 4 double rooms for our group. Staff accomodated an early check in so we could get ready which was great!
As per previous reviews, cash only payment for the room. No card facilities, but we were prior warned when I phoned. As per previous reviews no chef for dinner or breakfast, but this did not affect us as we went off to the wedding early afternoon and left the hotel early in the morning.
The rooms were standard, nice beams and features but small. Nice location on a little village high street, very pleasant and quiet over night.
Must thank the lovely female staff member who we woke up at 2am to let us in the back door. She was very kind and understanding.

Reviewed by
Nicki B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disasterous in every way
We booked on line, the reason for our stay was because we were going to a family wedding nearby.
We arrived to check in at around 3.30pm, this was after a church ceremony on route to reception. We were told at reception that they did not have a booking for us and all the rooms were full. Luckily we had a print out and confirmation of the booking to which someone remembered seeing the booking but had lost it. After being left waiting at the reception for well over 30minutes we were told 'we will sort something out' and to leave our luggage but be back by 10.30pm! This was a saturday night, to be ordered to be back from a family wedding by 10.30pm - really! Desparate we agreed and headed propmply to the reception to find the entire wedding party waiting for us in order for a group photo as well as family photos which were delayed due to what should have been a straightforward 5 minute check in and leave bags to a 45 minute very stressful affair. 10.30pm came extremely quickly and we sped back to the hotel arriving just after 10.30 to find the place shut up, in darkness, all doors locked, door bells not working and no-one anywhere to be seen. We were stood at the front door for some time knocking before finally someone came down to say - argh your the ones who left your bags - why did you not call! Well there is no phone signal in this area and you were expecting us! We were led into a small, strange room just off the carpark. This was clearly some sort of storage room that had been rapidly cleared out for our stay due to the over booking. Dirty and musty with a net curtain over the window with a foot gap so anyone could see in from the car park. The lady seemed surprised when we declined breakfast (at an extra charge) but I didn't dare as who knows what disaster breakfast would have resulted in. After very little sleep on a camp bed type concoction and light flooding in at 4.30am due to the abscence of a decent curtain we were up early and left for some home comforts as soon as we could. We were offered no discount for the mess up and camp bed affair and paid full price. We would have been more comfortable camping or in a youth hostel. Needless to say I will not be returning or recommending this place.

Reviewed by
Darren M

From Weybridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quaint little place
lovely hotel but road a bit noisy

Reviewed by
angela humphrey

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely character hotel
On the plus side, nice clean hotel, very pleasant helpful staff, food was just basic but well presented and nice, our double room was a little cramped and claustrophobic with no windows just a velux, shower was nice and hot with good pressure, tea and coffee in the room, plenty of shower gel, so would recommend for short stay.

Reviewed by
george taylor

From Shanklin, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
lovely stay, nice room and good bar area, very pleasant stay, staff very helpful. food wasnt great, but everything else was lovely, would stay again

Reviewed by
sarah s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next