Reviews - Brighton Youth Hostel, Brighton


Price From 15.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (13)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Dave L

  • September 2015

Must try harder

I arrived to find out that my bunk was on the top (2nd) floor, down 1 flight to reception, then up 1 flight to the ground floor, then up 2 more flights to the room, not a good start.

When asked why this information isn't on the website, so I could have picked something more appropriate (I have major issues with stairs), blank looks ensued. I stayed for several weeks (lack of funds preventing anything better), but it is about the worst hostel I have stayed at, and I have stayed in a few. There are others in the same area which are far better for similar prices.

  • A Holmes

  • July 2015

My stay in a hostel

I found the staff to be cheerful, friendly and helpful.

The accommodation is at the budget end of the scale. In my opinion, this hostel provides very good value for money, especially mid week. If I need to stay in a hostel, this will be my first option.

  • Bianca I

  • June 2015

Room Details Unclear

It would be much appreciated if room details were made clearer on the site before you make your booking.

I booked what was listed as a "Standard Single Room sleeps 1" at Brighton Youth Hostel in Hove that turned out to be a single bed in a 10 bed mixed room.

  • Gabriel L

  • December 2014


Very impresed with the quality of service received, good room and value for the money.

For my purpose was perfect.

  • J Doherty

  • September 2014

This hostel is the pits avoid!

I think the title of my review really encapsulates everything you need to know about this place.

It is rough,dark, dank and smelly. Although to be honest, the cleaning staff worked as hard as they could to keep the filthy place clean and they did their very best, hence a relatively high score. Despite this, there is very little they could have done given such inherent filth. Other notable lowlights of this accommodation also featured squeaky wooden bunk beds that were always on a knife edge of falling apart, showers that were so miniscule that no one of even average size could have fit in them, the almost black with dirt floors, non existent wifi (seriously I think it's the Western world's only internet Bermuda triangle) and have you ever stayed in accommodation where the reception was not even manned in the morning. Yeah, neither had I until last week. Those are pretty much a reception desk's essential hours. Add to that very dodgy long term residents, drunken revelry (and not the inclusive, fun kind) and very very poor customer service with no apologies for temporarily double charging my credit card, I would say you have a hostel worthy to excite the fantasies of Norman Bates. Do us a favour Late Rooms and take this off your site. This is a hostel not for the faint hearted, lone backpacker- it is a total nightmare. Let us not offer other travellers the same indignity I paid £130 a week to suffer.

  • John Scott

  • September 2014

simply ok

The liveliness you'd expect in a dorm room, one arguing couple provided a bit of excitement in the early hours, but well managed.

Not many bathrooms per bed. Clean and comfortable. Nice to have two power sockets per bunk.

  • Monika W

  • August 2014

Perfect, cheap accomodation

  • Katharina W

  • July 2014

Budget accommodation in Hove

I stayed in a six bed dorm with a group of female friends.

We booked this type of accommodation because all other B&Bs and hotels were booked out or were not accepting bookings for only one night. Although the dorm was clean and the staff very efficient, I found the price of nearly thirty-nine pounds per person rather overpriced. Also the shower door wouldn't close and we end up with a wet puddle on the floor. Overall, I didn't mind the basic standard of accommodation, but I think that the price should be significantly lower.

  • A Smith

  • July 2014

cool place

  • A Clark

  • July 2014


The room was hot and muggy, the mattress was hard, and the pillow was thin.

The toilets and showers weren't in great condition and there weren't enough of them. Using door codes instead of keys was annoying. The hostel itself is a fair distance from the centre of Brighton. But the room was clean, the staff seemed helpful, and best of all: it is cheap. For the price, you could do a lot worse.