Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton Hotels > MAX Serviced Apartments Brighton, Charter House
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MAX Serviced Apartments Brighton, Charter House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Kings Road12 -25 , Brighton, BN1 1NE
Charter House opened in November 2012 and are fully furnished apartments on the sea front next to the famous Lanes district commanding some great sea views . They offer the convenience, privacy and freedom of a serviced apartment in central Brighton. The studio and 1 bedroom apartments offer fitted kitchens, oak effect flooring, open plan living and secure entry for your convenience.

Twin bedded rooms are available upon request and subject to availability we also welcome families and can provide extra beds on request and subject to availability.

For your enjoyment of your stay with us we operate a minimum age for bookings of 25.
Picture of MAX Serviced Apartments Brighton, Charter House , Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Fiery problem
Arriving in the dark posed a real problem for me as I am visually impaired and have a mobility disability...the place was in darkness. Having let ourselves into the accommodation there was no light. We had to grope our way up several flights of stairs by the light of our mobile phones. Upon finding our apartment I telephoned the emergency number we had been given. Spoke to a very nice person but they couldn't help until the morning We had to vacate our room the next day as the fire alarm was going to be serviced. On our return yes there was light on the stairwell. However after being entertained from loud music from the nightclub until 4am in the morning would you believe the fire alarm sounded...we duly left our room to go downstairs...there was no notice to tell us where the fire assembly point. In the doorway was a man who (obviously knew the door code) was disarming the fire alarm to silence it. I was told that this was an on-going problem for the past two weeks. I emailed the head office of MAX Serviced Apartments (whom I have not had a reply)....informing them about our problem and the fact that the building was not currently protected by any working fire alarm. A real fire hazard and probably breaking the law. As we left the fire alarm box was still highlighting a fire in the building I would not wish our experience on anyone.

ManagementResponse

I am sorry to hear that the lighting was not in full working order on your arrival as communicated by our site manager who responded to your call there was a fault with light sensors which were fixed the following morning. With regards to the fire alarm as communicated by our site manager to yourself I can confirm that we were undergoing maintenance work to our fire alarm system and that the fault was connected to this I am sorry that the fire alarm did go off during your stay and please accept my apologies for any disruption this may have caused to your stay. I can confirm that our fire alarm system is now is full working order with no fault on the system. Having search through our emails I cannot seem to find any emails from yourself relating to the issues that occurred during your stay If you would like to contact me directly please feel free to do so. Kind Regards, Charlotte

Reviewed by
R Cook

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrendous!
We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at the cost of over £500.
Upon arrival there was excrement in the toilet of Flat 1 which proceeded to cause a blockage rendering the toilet out of use for over 12 hours. I called the helpline at 10.44pm to be told there was no one that could sent to fix the toilet at time of night, that we could not be moved to another apartment and we would have to wait until the following morning. It was not until I called again on the Saturday morning that someone was sent to fix the problem.
The pictures of your premises do not portray an accurate representation of the apartments' condition. We found a stain on the bed sheets, drawers that wouldn't open, a wardrobe hanging off the wall, a fridge that almost toppled over when you opened it, dirty towels in the washing machine, bird excrement all over the windows and a questionable stain on the sofa!
Definitely not a stay worthy of £536!
To rub salt into the wound, I have now tried emailing them on 2 separate emails, plus calling with no response whatsoever!
Word of advice - Do not stay here!

Reviewed by
D Fordyce

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The entire staircase smealt like a tramp and his/her dog sleeps there at night . The nightclub next door kept us awake most of the night even with the windows closed so no I would never recommend or stay here again . On a positive note Brighton is a great city

Reviewed by
c jones

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dissapointed stay
Customer service failed to send us check in details on time, upon arrival room layout was as expected though some rubbish was left from previous people including a viagra packet..... not the best start. Our apartment had a broken plug, floor board and bird poop stained windows. Light to our bathroom broke on the 3rd day, reported it to customer services, no one fixed it which resulted in showering in the dark or with the door open. We stayed for 5 days, apartments are only cleaned weekly, ours was not cleaned the entire stay. Therefore for you must provide your own loo roll, clean towels etc for longer stays. Room lacked hair dryer, bin in loo and full length mirror... but these I could live with out. They also failed to mention apartments are above a night club, very loud music to early hours on some week days.

Reviewed by
j stevenson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would definitely be coming back to stay at these apartments
Our apartment had everything we needed, it was spacious, clean and modern, after reading reviews we thought there might be a problem with noise but we didn't hear any,
The view was amazing also

Reviewed by
r boyington

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The apartment smelt clean as we arrived, probably due to the large amount of bleach used to clean the toilet, but there was still out of date food left in the fridge and food on the floor around the sofa, the entrance to the appartments and hallways smelt like a petshop and really needed to been vacuumed.

Reviewed by
M Harris

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, central to shops, pier, beach. Lovely sea views. The appartment was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Sam B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok but noisy
The apartment was clean.
I asked for a double room and received a room with two single beds pushed together which was very uncomfortable to share.
The noise levels were ridiculously high, the windows and walls were so thin that i could hear the music from the clubs and even general conversation from outside
The kitchen and front room were ok, there was no oven - just a microwave combo and no freezer.
The bathroom - no complaints. I took my own shampoo and soap etc as nothing as provided.
If you wanted to stay close to the sea and lanes then its an ideal spot.
If you're on budget its great.

Reviewed by
Natalie W

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great time near to sea
lovely apartment , friendly personal , enjoy all time thank you

Reviewed by
ANNIE W

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixed bag
Great location, looks over the sea front and close to lots of restaurants and bars. The apartment is self service and it was difficult to get assistance with accessing the rooms; the mobile numbers provided were either not answered or answered by someone who couldn't assist. If you were in a situation where a phone was not available, you'd be in a pickle! There may be a security issue as quite often the main door was not closed properly by other guests and at the time of our visit, the key safe was also broken. Although staff were notified of this issue, not much was done during our stay. The apartment itself was good, a nice size bedroom and sitting room. Although the apartment was not dirty, it could have benefitted from a more thorough clean. The communal stairs and landings were also not well maintained. There is a noise issue at nights as the apartments are located next to clubs/bars. The windows are quite thin and we were able to make out conversations even though we were on the top floor. If you're not looking for a luxury stay then this apartment is ok and is well priced, however the mentioned points do let it down.

Reviewed by
Lauren B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next