New Madeira Hotel

3

19-23 Marine Parade, Brighton,, Brighton, BN2 1TL

Price From 169 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (19)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • B Bramwell

  • March 2014

Great room to look at, but hotel needs to invest in noise proof windows!

On entering the Hotel I was very happy with the staff and cleanliness of the foyer.

I was in my room in no time and first impressions were really good. I had a double room situated at the front of the hotel with a great view overlooking Brighton Eye. The room was spacious with nice décor and a really good shower room. The bed was comfortable and the room was cleaned to a high standard. Now the down side. There is a constant flow of traffic and people going passed the hotel which is fine if you have double glazed windows, however you could here every little noise as the windows offered no barrier at all. I could here every conversation and vehicle as they went by and by 2.00am I had enough and left the hotel. I would suggest that if you stop here either bring strong ear plugs or drink so much alcohol that you wouldn't here a earthquake (I'd go for the latter option).

  • Anthony H

  • February 2014

good location clean basic room no parking available

our room was located right above the hotel nightclub it was riduculously noisy from 9pm til 3am we were offered a twin room instead of the double we booked in a different part of the hotel.

a friend staying in another area of the hotel was also kept awake most of the night. good clean basic hotel just be prepared for a restless night if you are staying on a friday or saturday night

  • Michael C

  • January 2014

A hotel with an identity crisis

The location of this hotel is without doubt exceptional however it's quite clear that this was once a run down establishment that has been bought up with the intent of making some kind of nightclub/ bar/ hotel and fails to some extent on at least two of these counts.

Having been to Brighton many times I have of course been on a night out in the Funky Fish and it is a good night out but having a hotel directly above is a push.

It's safe to say the reception which backs directly onto the deserted dancefloor of the empty bar (with full DJ and light setup) was a strange welcome to say the least. It felt like we were checking into a dirty stop out motel attached to a nightclub rather than an established hotel. When entering the room we were hit with ice cold air in the room which is primarily due to the single glazed windows (on the seafront!) and the unluckily gale force weather we were having but also the fact that there was only one radiator in the room, much too far from the windows to have any impact. Otherwise though, the room was nice though clearly recently done up from a state of disrepair and the bathroom clearly showed the age and wear & tear. At night, of course, is where the fun begins where music is pumped outside the Funky Fish (for the smokers seemingly) but does create a nice din of bass coming through that single glaze. This was, however, expected as other reviews made that quite clear and you can't stay above a club without a bit of that so be ready if you're a light sleeper. Having said all this the location still wins a lot of battles so would still stay again and recommend but ONLY if it was a group of lads who cared a little less about home comforts/ spent very little time in their room outside of drunken pass outs without any need for the Brighton Brawl for cabs on a Saturday night. Just make sure you know what you're looking for when you book is my advice.

  • Sally Pepper

  • November 2013

Don't stay in room 101!

This is a Victorian building in a great position opposite the pier, however, the ground floor has been made into a 1980s themed night club and there are two unsoundproofed rooms next to the entrance of the club.

We used our phones and measured sound levels of up to 70 DB inside the room and the noise level was continuous, from 11pm to 3am. No sleep was possible during this time. We paid far too much for the room: £70-90 per night, payable upfront. It had a lovely view but was lacking basic facilities - like bedside lamps. In my opinion it is a single sized room let out as a twin - no room for a bedside cabinet next to one of the beds, or a wardrobe. One bedside cabinet was the only cupboard. There was no lock on the bathroom door. Visitors should be aware that the parking system on the seafront opposite is unreliable. We paid online, then left the hotel feeling very sleep deprived and found we had a parking ticket.

  • A Green

  • November 2013

Enjoyed my stay, only problem was lack of lift due to a breakdown.

Being on the 3rd floor was unfortunate without the lift.

  • Ben F

  • November 2013

new madeira hotel

We booked the room very last minute and was not disappointed.

The location was superb and the view from our room was beautiful as it was opposite the wheel and pier. In the morning, drinking a cup of coffee in bed and being able to look across the sea was worth every penny. The room itself was clean and the beds comfortable. The only downside was that it was single glazed windows which given the strong winds made it quite noisy at night, especially as the windows rattled. That said I would definitely go back again as it was great value for money.

  • Michelle G

  • October 2013

Weekend Stay

I stayed at this hotel for a friends 40th Birthday club.

I was concerned about my booking after learning about the nightclub under the hotel however I heard no noise in my room so was very pleased with that. The hotel was very clean and the rooms are of a good size. The reception staff were very polite and helpful. I didn't eat at the hotel so not sure of the food and the service in the bar or quality of the food. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend in a great location for the pier and not far from the shopping area.

  • Laura H

  • October 2013

Great location for a short stay!

We stayed in Brighton for one night, and the location was perfect.

We had a really cool view of the pier and Ferris wheel from our window, and it only took us 2 minutes to walk across the road to and from everything on the pier. We also saw a show at the Brighton Centre, which was about a 10 minute walk along the seafront, and the Laines are walking distance too. There is a 24 hour car park just a 2-3 minute walk behind the hotel, as well as lots of cute little cafes and pubs.

We had a quad room which was quite spacious and clean. The beds were OK not the comfiest I've ever slept in, and there was obviously a bit of traffic noise from the main street (nothing you're not already used to if you live in London!) but absolutely fine for one night. It would have been nice to have a good shower, we just had a drizzly shower head over the bath.

Reception staff were friendly. We stayed out until late and the night porter let us in, no problems. Would stay again for the location, convenience and price!

  • Helen C

  • October 2013

One night for a wedding reception

Greeting from reception - excellent and informative Position of hotel was great for visiting the pier and lanes.

Bus stop for the park and ride was right outside the hotel too. Room was good but a few niggles - more curtain hooks as curtains hung pretty badly and its such a small thing to correct. Bathroom was excellent looking with heated mirrors etc but the shower screen wasn't big enough for the position of the shower head and therefore the floor was soaked after each shower visit. There is a night club in the hotel but although we could hear the music slightly it did not affect our nights sleep on the 3rd floor.

  • Paul S

  • October 2013

Great for a short stay on a budget

I stayed here while on business for just one night.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was good value for money and the location is excellent.