No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Tunbridge Wells Hotel

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel, 58 The Pantiles , Tunbridge Wells, TN2 5TD
Beautiful grade two listed building in the middle on the historic centre of the Tunbridge Wells. The Tunbridge Wells Hotel offers great food and accommodation in a stylish yet relaxed atmosphere.
Picture of The Tunbridge Wells Hotel, Tunbridge Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful area, lovely hotel!
Nice clean single room for £85 for one night. The area is lovely and was made very welcome. I wish I had time to stay for the breakfast but there are also plenty of shops and cafes on the high street.

Reviewed by
A Perry

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
This is a lovely hotel in the centre of Tunbridge. A beautiful traditional hotel, but with a modern feel. It was perfect for us and very reasonably priced. There was plenty of space for four in our room and the children were made to feel very welcome. The staff were kind and helpful. We were here for a wedding and definitely had a much better hotel and a much cheaper price that other friends staying in nearby accommodation.

Reviewed by
Katie C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Faultless Visit
From the moment we arrived until we left 3 nights later ,we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience: bags to the room and a welcoming cup of tea. A good continental breakfast each day...very late one day! French cuisine and to a very high standard washed down with good french wine. The restaurant stayed specially open just for us 2 on Sunday evening and what a meal! The hotel is in the heart of the town with very good off road parking. We will definately be staying again.

Reviewed by
R Peacop

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room whilst small was clean and well appointed although very limited storage space . The staff were all friendly and the service was excellent

Reviewed by
David Yates

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast drags the score down!
This French influenced hotel is comfortable, very clean and in a lovely location. The welcome was very warm and friendly, but not very informative (e.g. no details about when and where breakfast woudl be served). Our room was on the samll side, but it was width, not the overall area which was a problem as it was so narrow that the bed was jammed right agianst the wall, meaning that one of us had to climb over the other to get out (not ideal unless you are much younger and have no orhopaedic problems). The bathroom was also small, but absolutely spotless with a fantastic shower and good toilteries. We were surprised that there were no tea/coffee making facilities, but the real disappointment was "breakfast" which according to the booking was "included" - so as we were in England, we were expecting English breakfast - and certainly something more than beverages, fruit juice, cereal, toast and/or croissants - not even any yoghurt or fruit! As we had a long journey home ahead of us, we decided to pay the extra (almost £10 including service charge)for the cooked breakfast we had expected. By this time we were all gasping for our usual morning brew, but, even though we were the only guests in the dining area, service was very slow. Even when our breakfasts finally arrived, we had to wait so long for sauces that we had almost finished by the time we got them - mainly because the person serving us (we suspect management) was far too busy sucking up to a couple of obviously local businessmen who had arrived for a meeting over coffee in the adjacent bar area. Overall the food was very good, apart from the black pudding - which only my husband eats. My husband knows his black puddings and after one mouthful, he refused to eat any more as he said it tasted "off." In typical Brit fashion, he refused to complain, but he said it tasted so bad that it had made him feel ill and, sure enough, we had to stop the car for him on the way home. Of course we have no proof that this was due to the black pudding, but bearing in mind what goes into the stuff (yeuk!) it is pretty obvious when it is "off" and even a mouthful will have after effects.
To end on a positive note, the bar staff were first class - friendly, courteous, good sens of humour and willing to serve late night drinks for us and the friends we were visiting.

Reviewed by
Valerie R

From Ledbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Free upgrade
I was visiting with a mrried couple and as they made the booking for me i am submitting this review under their account. They had booked a doubnle room for themselves and a single room for me, but when we arrived, the young man behind the desk offered me a free upgrade to a double room - and I ended up with a better, and bigger, room than my friends! They were amused and said it was the power of being young, single and pretty, LOL! Whatever the reason my room was beautiful, spotlessl and very warm and comfortable - and, unlike my friends' room, my bathroom had a bath as well as a brilliant shower. Just one thing - I was very surprised that the usual tea/coffee making facilities were missing.
My only disappointment was breakfast as the booking said "breakfast included" and I was really looking forward to a full english - but then as I had such a bargin with my room rate, I didn't really mind paying the extra.

Reviewed by
Valerie R

From Ledbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with character
Lovely decor and room. Our children loved it too. Staff really friendly and helpful. Our room was on main road so some traffic noise. Breakfast tasty but only continental style available within room price, have to pay extra for cooked breakfast and as the restaurant is French style there is not a single baked bean to be seen on the menu!!
Excellent location on the Pantiles, a very quaint street, plenty of character and with lovely shops to browse right outside hotel restaurant entrance. Car parking permits available from reception for use in public car park a 5 minute walk from hotel, but you could park just outside to load and unload.
We enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
We arrived and they didn't explain anything about our stay, when breakfast was or anything. We got in to our rooms and when we went to our venue we couldn't lock our door so we had to leave it unlocked with all our things until they sorted it. The bathroom door was locked open so you had no privacy and could not even close the bathroom door which is not ideal in a family room with 2 teenagers. We were told it included breakfast. It was not cheap and all you were given was croissants and brown toast for your included breakfast ! Overall we were not impressed with the service and the rooms. We would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
julie bick

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
This booking was not suitable for a lot of luggage, there are many steps and the car park was not easily accessible. The room, bathroom and bed was very small. The bathroom had clean towels and toiletries but was too small to turn around in. The setting was very quant but not comfortable. Breakfast was included but on the booking it did not state continental only. Breakfast was however very good with fresh coffee and fresh orange juice.

Reviewed by
Karen B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful stay
My husband and l stayed here as it was close to our daughter who lives in Tunbridge Wells. As soon as we arrived which was early we asked if we could leave our small case and would of been happy to of waited untill the check in time. We was pleased when advised room would be ready for us in the next 20 minutes. The manager or owner was very pleasant as was the whole of the staff and were so friendly.t The hotel is very clean and the decor high quality but has a cosy feel.Our double room was small but adequate for an overnight stay and the bed very comfortable.

Reviewed by
C Meleady

From , England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next