No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grand Pier Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
11 Madeira Place , Brighton, BN2 1TN
Welcome to Grand Pier Guest House - a brand new boutique hotel just metres from the beach and within close proximity of the Brighton Pier, Brighton Conference Centre and the Brighton Wheel of Excellence. We are also just a few yards from the lively St. James Street offering fabulous restaurants and bars.

The Grand Pier offers nine elegantly furnished rooms, each with en-suite shower room, 19" LCD TV with build in DVD player along with free Wi-Fi for all guests.
All our room rates include a choice of full English or continental breakfast.
Picture of Grand Pier Guest House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B with excellent breakfast, great location
Lovely little B&B in great location, really close to the pier and nearby shops and supermarkets but not noisy from club music (stayed mid week).
Breakfast was hearty, full English or continental offered.
Room was cosy but clean and comfortable.
Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Nicola B

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The first room we were given had a view of scaffolding right outside the window which obviously hadn,t been used for months at least. Also directly outside the window was an old table with ashtray full of cigarettes. We asked to be moved and were given a room above which had the same view but was brighter. Then we realised the window was stuck wide open, the TV only had four channels and the shower was blocked. We were moved again to a much nicer room with a sea view and all things working. The manager, Lee was very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Gary Neale

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grand pier guest house
I stayed at the guest house last week for 3 days and although the accomodation was what it said and the location was excellent both for my work commute and relaxing in the evenings for the price was expensive and the en suite facilities very small and tight to use comfortably.

Reviewed by
T MACKENZIE

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay :)
Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner, for a birthday break. Made to feel very welcome on arrival. Shops, Bars, Beach, Peir Very close to Guest house. Would come back again.

Reviewed by
Charlotte B

From Portland , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

slightly small
Ok so it's difficult with period houses and converting to B&B's.
The room was on the small side, but all I do is sleep , get washed, and maybe watch an hour of TV in the room.
The washbasin in the room was too small to wash in, although the shower was ok. Shaving and tooth cleaning was an exercise in avoiding the huge (by comparison) tap.
You'd have a job washing your hands in the basin.
Towels not changed every day and my colleague;s towels disappeared one day entirely
Breakfast was ok but not huge
would stay again but only at the "bargain" price and not the claimed £70 a night.
the major attraction was the proximity to work.

Reviewed by
David M

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation in a good location
This small guest house is close to the seafront and pier. The room was very small, looked out onto scaffolding but bed and shower were good; adequate for a one night business stay. Breakfast was basic and I had to ask for it to be served earlier than the 8am start time.

Reviewed by
Catherine C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Door hanging off bathroom, quite cramped, pleasant staff, nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Johnston

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice guest house, not my idea of a boutique hotel
The rooms are very small and there are no Hotel facilities. But the bed was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good and the location is close to the centre of Brighton.

Reviewed by
Phoebe B

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
The hotel is nice and clean. Like a lot of the reviews on here I'd say the room was quite small but nice to look at and clean. The woman at reception was friendly and helpful (I crashed my bike and was barely mobile and she offered me tea and changed me to a ground floor room).

Reviewed by
m kelly

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodating in more than one way
Lots happened based loosely around a broken phone charger, which meant I had no means of communication! Arrived and had to sit charging my phone with a pound shop charger before I could sort out my room, lee was helpful and even though it took an hour to get me in, due to phone and money issues, they did all try could to help. I was offered bed no breakfast for a cheaper rate, and as parking was a bit of an issue around brighton, was provided with a cheaper alternative in the form of a visitors parking permit. Mad rush in the morning to get to my sisters wedding, and lee kindly let me leave my bags with her while we celebrated. Which was so helpful of her as I literally had no time to get the bags to the car and get to the wedding on time. You get the picture. It was a mad rush but I was helped as much as I could be by te proprietor, for which I am very grateful.
Room was small, but I was impressed that I had a queen sized bed, as it was billed as a single room, after travelling hundreds of miles and copious calamaties, it was lovely to be able to stretch out. Good basic accommodation, and I could see the sea if I stuck my head out of the window! Good location, 30 secs from the sea, 30 secs from the shops. Request a Parking permit if you want to avoid the panic of moving your car every 2 hours. It's worth the money!

Reviewed by
T Gilmore

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next