No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Marys Gate Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
London Road, , , Arundel, BN18 9BA
The St Marys Gate Inn is positioned next door to the beautiful Arundel Cathedral and alongside the walls of the famous Arundel Castle which is still habited by The Duke of Norfolk and his Family. Our letting rooms are all en suite and are all furnished with TV & DVD, tea & coffee making facilities, an iron & board, hairdryer and beautiful quality toiletries. Breakfast is included in the rate unless agreed otherwise. 5 Of our rooms are accessed from the car park allowing you to park right outside your room and 1 room is inside the pub itself on the first floor - Individual room descriptions are below: (PLEASE NOTE ALL OUR ROOMS ARE NON SMOKING) Room 1 - Beautiful 4 Poster Room. Double occupancy. En Suite Shower Room. Room 2 - Double Room. En Suite Shower Room. Room 3 - Standard Double Room. En Suite Shower Room. Room 4 - Family Room. Double Bed & Single Bed. En Suite Bathroom. Room 5 - Double Room. En Suite Shower Room. Room 7 - Beautiful 4 Poster Room. Double Occupancy. En Suite Bathroom. This room is positioned on the first floor of the main pub in the original 16th Century part of the building. Due to its age the floors are slightly uneven and you can experience residual noise during pub opening hours. Its a charming room and overlooks the Castle Gardens. We serve lunch daily between 12-2.30pm and Dinner 6pm-9pm every evening except Monday nights when the restaurant is closed. Our menu is traditional but all homemade and wherever possible locally sourced. We update our specials weekly. Hall & Woodhouse supply our Badger Ales which are loving kept and tasty. We also offer an excellent selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks. Our pub dog Barney is very welcoming and loves other dogs. We are very family friendly.
Picture of St Marys Gate Inn, Arundel at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Very comfortable room, nicely furnished, friendly pub and very good breakfast

Reviewed by
Anthony J

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was fine...
Booked a night away as a treat to cheer us up during a very cold February & it was probably better than staying at home.
Arrived late afternoon to find out that the pub would be closed from 19.30 for a private party, we could get a drink but the restaurant was out of bounds, a shame as we were hoping for a cosy meal by the fire... Fortunately other good pubs & restaurants in Arundel but all a brisk hilly walk or a drive away.
Room was fine, not luxurious, but perfectly adequate with all the usual trimmings.
Breakfast was ok, the waitress got the orders mixed up & the plates were cold, but it was fine...
So nothing to like particularly but equally nothing to dislike...!

Reviewed by
Clare T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great lovely place!!!! great food, great location, great people...so just GREAT!!!!

Reviewed by
Andrea T

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel !
I stayed with my new girlfriend it is an amazing hotel and they owners are very friendly ! :)

Reviewed by
J Jansen

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value B&B, lovely double room
Really happy with stay, lovely room at the back of the pub in a separate annex. Double ensuite, nicely decorated. Like the filter coffee in room with cafetiere. Friendly staff, lovely breakfast, would stay again if come to Arundel . Near to town and parking on site which was handy.

Reviewed by
m wilson

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
This turned out to be perfect location, rooms were off the main building with parking directly outside, staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfect in quality, quantity, variety - couldn't fault at all. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
J Wynn

From Greenside, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough
Good enough place. I was given a large room with More than i needed. Not really a place for the business traveller. Breakfast at 9 am is no good when you have to go to work at 8.

Reviewed by
Terry H

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed, informal and professional
Another enjoyable stay where nothing is too much trouble and dining is both professional and relaxing - even with two dogs...

Reviewed by
Michael Lawrence

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Marys Gate Inn
First stay, made very welcome, staff very friendly, will stay again when next in the area.

Reviewed by
J Hepworth

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay, friendly staff
We have stayed in room 3 and found it pleasant and welcoming. Tea and coffee tray was very well stocked and the bed was comfy. Bathroom was nicely decorated. We also enjoyed the full English breakfast which was cooked fresh to order and to perfection!

Reviewed by
Jitka D

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next