No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Blacksmiths Arms

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
London road, Offham, , Lewes, BN7 3QD
New ownership and a new lease of life can now be discovered at the bucolic and idyllically located Blacksmiths Arms. Bill LeGrys, Adam Ward and their affable and attentive staff bring a contemporary edge to the traditional 18th century inn; nestled in an area of outstanding natural beauty beneath the Sussex Downs. At close proximity to the nearby attractions of Brighton, Eastbourne and Tunbridge Wells, the Blacksmiths Arms is perfectly placed as a base to explore all that the Sussex countryside has to offer. We offer spacious 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation, with each of the superior quality, comfortable bedrooms featuring an en suite bathroom; flat screen TV as well as tea and coffee making facilities. New refurbishment promises stylish decoration and uncompromised cleanliness. Upon renovation, the downstairs bar and restaurant area takes a new lease of life, with a host of new beers, lagers and a delectable wine list. Gastronomy takes precedence with an exciting new menu from an extremely talented young chef with over a decade’s experience in top kitchens globally, with each dish born out of respect for only the finest local produce. Coupling modern techniques with traditional pub cuisine, the Blacksmiths Arms strives to provide great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Picture of The Blacksmiths Arms, Lewes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Very comfortable and clean room. Friendly and caring staff and tasty good quality food. Well worth a stay.

Reviewed by
I Deumayne Jones

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday Stay
Great room stayed in four poster bedroom very comfortable bed. Very clean, very pleasant staff and owners. Food a little expensive, very enjoyable and nice and hot. Would thoroughly recommend!!!

Reviewed by
C Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
Had a very pleasant 2 day stay.Staff very friendly and room very comfortable.

Reviewed by
John H

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way
Now I've found this, please stay away so I can book in again. Accomodation, food and staff were excellent. Biggest quality breakfast ever, sets you up for the day.

Reviewed by
John L

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff and nice accomodation

Reviewed by
n talbot

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Welcoming staff where nothing was too much trouble. Clean simple rooms. Great.

Reviewed by
Valerie W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful b&b in a lovely location.
A warm friendly welcome after a long journey and very clean comfortable room. The restaurant is very well designed with a great atmosphere , efficient staff and plenty of choice . I enjoyed a light supper and slept very well in my king size bed . I hope the new owners are very successful in their new business and thoroughly recommend the Blacksmith Arms , Only wish I could have stayed longer !

Reviewed by
Amanda King

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real welcome at the Blacksmiths Arms
A really friendly and hospitable country pub experience over four nights. New owners re-establishing this hostelry with a fine mains menu and reasonably price drinks with local ales on a main route and a few minutes from Lewes town centre, Sheffield Park and Bluebell Railway. Important to note car parking at the rear. Accommodation small but comfortable with good facilities including Wifi in the process of an upgrade. Very welcoming.

Reviewed by
J JAMES

From PARHAM, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, changing hands during our stay
The new owners has just taken over when we arrived and the pub was closed for refurbishment so we had breakfast in our room. They managed the situation perfectly though and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms spacious with comfortable beds and good shower in the bathroom. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
K Douglas-Dala

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An exceptional place to stay
The room was impeccable. The host could not have been more attentive. And the food was to die for. A very talented chef,all in all the best place I have stayed in for a long time.

Reviewed by
Kim Weaving

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next