No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Blacksmiths Arms

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
London road, Offham, , Lewes, BN7 3QD
New ownership and a new lease of life can now be discovered at the bucolic and idyllically located Blacksmiths Arms. Bill LeGrys, Adam Ward and their affable and attentive staff bring a contemporary edge to the traditional 18th century inn; nestled in an area of outstanding natural beauty beneath the Sussex Downs. At close proximity to the nearby attractions of Brighton, Eastbourne and Tunbridge Wells, the Blacksmiths Arms is perfectly placed as a base to explore all that the Sussex countryside has to offer. We offer spacious 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation, with each of the superior quality, comfortable bedrooms featuring an en suite bathroom; flat screen TV as well as tea and coffee making facilities. New refurbishment promises stylish decoration and uncompromised cleanliness. Upon renovation, the downstairs bar and restaurant area takes a new lease of life, with a host of new beers, lagers and a delectable wine list. Gastronomy takes precedence with an exciting new menu from an extremely talented young chef with over a decade’s experience in top kitchens globally, with each dish born out of respect for only the finest local produce. Coupling modern techniques with traditional pub cuisine, the Blacksmiths Arms strives to provide great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Picture of The Blacksmiths Arms, Lewes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Welcoming staff where nothing was too much trouble. Clean simple rooms. Great.

Reviewed by
Valerie W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful b&b in a lovely location.
A warm friendly welcome after a long journey and very clean comfortable room. The restaurant is very well designed with a great atmosphere , efficient staff and plenty of choice . I enjoyed a light supper and slept very well in my king size bed . I hope the new owners are very successful in their new business and thoroughly recommend the Blacksmith Arms , Only wish I could have stayed longer !

Reviewed by
Amanda King

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real welcome at the Blacksmiths Arms
A really friendly and hospitable country pub experience over four nights. New owners re-establishing this hostelry with a fine mains menu and reasonably price drinks with local ales on a main route and a few minutes from Lewes town centre, Sheffield Park and Bluebell Railway. Important to note car parking at the rear. Accommodation small but comfortable with good facilities including Wifi in the process of an upgrade. Very welcoming.

Reviewed by
J JAMES

From PARHAM, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, changing hands during our stay
The new owners has just taken over when we arrived and the pub was closed for refurbishment so we had breakfast in our room. They managed the situation perfectly though and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms spacious with comfortable beds and good shower in the bathroom. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
K Douglas-Dala

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An exceptional place to stay
The room was impeccable. The host could not have been more attentive. And the food was to die for. A very talented chef,all in all the best place I have stayed in for a long time.

Reviewed by
Kim Weaving

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable and pleasant stay
Thank you

Reviewed by
Katy B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort and location with little extras.
Not a typical pub/restaurant type inn. Very quiet and just the right size to discourage rowdy guests but lovely welcoming and warm bar and restaurant if you wanted to have a meal. The menu looked excellent but we did have other plans. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty to eat, we loved it. Discreet but very helpful owner with ideas of where to go if you are stuck. And so close to major sights in both East and West Sussex. We really enjoyed our stay and would seriously recommend.

Reviewed by
J Jukes

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely night away
What a lovely find! Welcomed up to our lovely room (Cissbury) which was clean and lovely to be in with lots of nice touches (water on the bedside, plenty of tea and shampoo/soap in the bathroom). then we enjoyed an excellent meal in the pub. In the morning we were served with a lovely selection of breakfasts. all in all a lovely little break. Can't fault it.
It's nice and near Lewes. Just check the opening times/check in as they are not open all day.
can't wait for another opportunity to go back!

Reviewed by
Gina M

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely but all too brief stay.
I was met by name in the bar/restaurant area and shown to the well appointed room. The place was not that busy but the food arrived quickly and was certainly hot and tasty. For breakfast they accommodated my early request and overall it was a very easy and relaxing stay. Wi-fi worked in all locations and there was a strong signal.

Reviewed by
Malcolm B

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Excellence of the Blacksmiths Arms
This is very comfortable accommodation. We had a very pleasant room with en suite bathroom. There was very careful attention to detail, with toiletries, mineral water, tea, coffee & hot chocolate and fresh fruit awaiting us in our room. There were the usual "plastic" milks, but a notice said that fresh milk was available if required. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and politely and we were taken to our room and told that, if we needed assistance, we only had to ask. The full English breakfast was delicious and there was as much toast as one wanted. Dinner before was good, with a good choice on the menu. When we asked about walks in the area the Landlady was a mine of information..
We could not fault the Blacksmiths Arms and would heartily recommend it. If we are ever in the area again we shall certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jean A

From Milverton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next