No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queensbury Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
58 Regency Square, , , Brighton, BN1 2FF
This splendid 1815 Grade II Listed hotel is centrally located in sea-front Regency Square opposite Brighton’s West Pier. Just 2 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the Conference Centre, restaurants and shops and, with easy parking, the Queensbury is one of the most popular hotels in Brighton.

Superior Rooms are more spacious, located between the ground and second floors with original high ceilings retaining 19th-century features and chandeliers. Two Superior family rooms have sea views and one has a balcony.

With the exception of our Basic Twins, all rooms are fully en suite and sea views are enjoyed by two Superior Family rooms, two Standard Doubles and all four Standard Family rooms.

The Basic Twin rooms are on the lower ground floor and have an en suite shower with a lavatory just along the corridor shared with one other room.

All guests enjoy free wi-fi, Freeview TV/DVD/CD, gels, shampoos and hospitality tray with tea, coffee and biscuits.

Breakfast - A simple but healthy buffet continental-style breakfast is included in the price – a choice of juices, teas, coffee, cereals, toast, spreads, ham, cheese etc. A full English breakfast is available at the Regency Restaurant just across the square for which we can provide vouchers at a discounted price.

Parking - Free on-street parking is available between 20:00 and 09:00 but underground parking is also available underneath Regency Square at a charge of £20 per 24 hours, £22 at weekends. Limited local private off-street parking available from £10 via email request.

Please note…
a) The hotel does not accept stag or hen parties or other potentially rowdy groups
b) There is no lift in this Listed Building
c) To confirm the reservation a deposit of the cost of the 1st night will be debited from the card provided. Please see the 48-hour cancellation policy for more details.
Picture of The Queensbury Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money and better than we hoped
One of us is vegan and I called the hotel prior to our visit to make sure they could accommodate us. They bought in Soya milk especially and tried to get a vegan spread, but bought an organic, vegetarian (it had a v) but non-vegan one by mistake. Still we both appreciated their efforts, especially as we were only staying for one night, We were told in the blurb that our standard double room would be 3rd or 4th floor, with no lift, and asked for the 3rd, but were pleasantly surprised to be placed on the 1st floor - 1a, not sure if we were upgraded without realising it. The breakfast lady was very cheery, and we felt that all the staff went out of their way to help us/cater to us. It's a continental breakfast, but considering it's free & you can take as much as you like. It's all great value for money. The room was small but clean, and despite the scaffolding, which we were told about, still had a nice view of the sea. Would definitely stay here again. The décor was worth seeing.

Reviewed by
N Mitra

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and clean and quite pretty
Lovely location and nice and clean. The room was small but adequate, with a shared bathroom downstairs. Slightly annoying that the bathroom only had a bath and no shower! Otherwise, I am very happy with my stay

Reviewed by
N Madden

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too many stairs
The room was ok - it was clean.
We left before breakfast time as we needed to be somewhere early.
There were no fire instructions in the room. There wasn't a phone so we had to go down 3 flights of stairs to talk to reception (twice).

Reviewed by
Vilma C

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic - not overly impressed
It came as a suprise to me that the toilet was down two flights of stairs and that the shared shower was a bath. The guy moved me to a room with a shower for one night which was fair but the toilet was a pokey little room a little way along the corridor. Both rooms were very basic and not so clean. One of the duvets had blood stains on it but I only noticed that in the morning before I left. I probably should have said something but I was glad to get out of the place in all honesty. The room was small, hot and the window wouldnt stay open. It's not a cooked breakfast so I skipped that on both nights. The price I thought was expensive for what it was. I wouldn't return to it. The staff were very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Gary L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but clean
no good for disabled people

Reviewed by
S Davey

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for price

Reviewed by
S grant

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little more effort would be worthwhile
Cleanliness, or the lack of it, is very important and this place was spotless. There are no public rooms other than the dining room but the owner has made an effort to hang attractive pictures appropriate to the period of the building. I am a little disabled so appreciated having only one flight of stairs to my room, but the concierge did not offer to carry my two bags. There were the usual minor irritations - no plug in my basin, and no towel in the communal loo. But the position of the hotel is central, in the square adjoining the now burned out West Pier, and the breakfast, like the place, was perfectly acceptable for someone on a very strict budget. You get what you pay for and I did choose this place because it was cheap.

Reviewed by
William C

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little b&b staff very friendly, in great location. Only issue is we was on the top floor and there was only stairs, problem for elderly, unfit or asmatic. Apart from that everything was great.

Reviewed by
Courtney R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room
We had a beautiful room overlooking the Regency Square. Loved the period features of the room - huge windows with drapes, high ceiling and chandelier. No problems with noise, had 2 good nights sleep. Simple but good breakfast. Altogether very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Susan F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a happy and jolly time away
Good location, helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast brilliant for what they offered, just a few knives needed to be cleaned a little more.
The room was big, the beds were comfy and hardly any noise came through to the ground floor from other rooms.
Radiators worked perfectly and shower was strong and did the job.
No added tea bags or milk the next day once we had used the initial ones, but not far from a shop to get more milk.
3 women went on this holiday and we had no complaints as it did the job for somewhere to get ready, sleep and have breakfast in the mornings as Brighton had so much to offer during the day.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next