No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queensbury Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
58 Regency Square, , , Brighton, BN1 2FF
This splendid 1815 Grade II Listed hotel is centrally located in sea-front Regency Square opposite Brighton’s West Pier. Just 2 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the Conference Centre, restaurants and shops and, with easy parking, the Queensbury is one of the most popular hotels in Brighton.

Superior Rooms are more spacious, located between the ground and second floors with original high ceilings retaining 19th-century features and chandeliers. Two Superior family rooms have sea views and one has a balcony.

With the exception of our Basic Twins, all rooms are fully en suite and sea views are enjoyed by two Superior Family rooms, two Standard Doubles and all four Standard Family rooms.

The Basic Twin rooms are on the lower ground floor and have an en suite shower with a lavatory just along the corridor shared with one other room.

All guests enjoy free wi-fi, Freeview TV/DVD/CD, gels, shampoos and hospitality tray with tea, coffee and biscuits.

Breakfast - A simple but healthy buffet continental-style breakfast is included in the price – a choice of juices, teas, coffee, cereals, toast, spreads, ham, cheese etc. A full English breakfast is available at the Regency Restaurant just across the square for which we can provide vouchers at a discounted price.

Parking - Free on-street parking is available between 20:00 and 09:00 but underground parking is also available underneath Regency Square at a charge of £20 per 24 hours, £22 at weekends. Limited local private off-street parking available from £10 via email request.

Please note…
a) The hotel does not accept stag or hen parties or other potentially rowdy groups
b) There is no lift in this Listed Building
c) To confirm the reservation a deposit of the cost of the 1st night will be debited from the card provided. Please see the 48-hour cancellation policy for more details.
Picture of The Queensbury Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality
Excellent location. Friendly and accommodating staff. Clean comfortable room. Value price for top quality. Breakfast continental but plenty of it. 2nd time I have stayed there. Intend to go back.

Reviewed by
David S

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

abit disappointed
had no problems with the room or shower like others in the building. we wouldn't use this hotel again as we were looking forward to our breakfast (full English), but didn't get that. instead all we got was toast with jams or cereal and juices so very disappointed in this. we went out for breakfast the next morning and feel we shouldnt of had to as we thought we paid for breakfast which was included in the hotel price!!! 278 pound for 3 people for 2 nights, definitely not worth it!!!

Reviewed by
louise armstrong

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel i have stayed in Brighton, and i have stayed in most.
The title basically says it all.
Looking for a cheap hotel room at the last minute, this was among them. It was the first time i have stayed at the Queensbury. I have stayed in most of the hotels in Brighton. As i really do enjoy breaks at the city, I thought it was worth a try. But it will defiantly be the last time.
First of all it was fortunate i did not bring any heavy or large suitcases, as there was no lift. The Building has 7 floors! And we were on the top floor.
The room it self was adequate for a budget hotel. But it suffered from MAJOR problems. The shower did not not work properly. Even on any warm setting, the water fluctuates between boiling hot and ice cold and last about 2mins of each.
The hot water tap did not work properly. When turned to the max, the water only dribbles out.
Nothing to comment much about the food, as it was continental breakfast only.
Good points -
Good Location.
I would find it hard to recommend this hotel, as it was barley liveable. Even if it was ridiculously cheap, which it is not. Therefore i would warn people to stay clear of this place.

Reviewed by
m tang

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 2013
My 'superior double' room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in a great location close to the sea front, with ample convenient (but expensive) parking. The inclusive continental breakfast was disappointing. I would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
K Beesley

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of serious upgrade and a good clean

Reviewed by
M Sinclair

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was basic, but pleasant - we just needed a bed for the night. Realistically room we stayed in needed a bit of an overhaul - very central, staff pleasant and value for money. Not expecting 5* at that rate.

Reviewed by
Carol D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
it was a nice hotel with great location, 10 minutes minimum from bars etc, but for the price I paid I was expecting a better breakfast. was a bit expensive but I had a pleasant stay and would happily come here again

Reviewed by
E Feeney

From Wokingham, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the poorest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in
For the price this basement room with a shared toilet represented very bad value for money. Whilst clean, the furnishings were very basic and the beds uncomfortable with very thin mattresses and pillows. We spent as little time as possible in our rooms and were glad to get home.

Reviewed by
J D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but everything we needed
Everything you need if you don't plan to spend too much time in the hotel. Slightly irritating having to run across the stairs to go to the loo, but it was advertised as shared bathroom so thats fine. No extra bells and whistles here. My only complaints are that there was no shelf in the shower so nowhere to put the soap - and on the topic of soap, there wasn't enough in the room, no tissues either, and on the first night no soap in the toilet!
Breakfast again, basic. Toast, coffee and some cereals. Enough to cover the walk to go out for breakfast!
Overall, great location, clean, no real problems, so yes we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Abby M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guest house, great location!
Myself and a few friends booked a triple room for a weekend in Brighton here, and the Queensbury utterly exceeded our expectations! Really friendly helpful staff, lovely large room, super clean and comfortable. The location was awesome, right near the see front, and only 10 minutes from the pier and lanes shopping, so we were able to walk everywhere. Would absolutely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Leigh G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next