Reviews - The Queensbury Hotel


58 Regency Square, ,, Brighton, BN1 2GB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (39)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • samantha c

  • January 2015

got what we paid for

Lovely little hotel very close to seafront, room was basic and done the job for one overnight stay, beds where comfy, rooms could of done with a little bit of work but as its an old building in some ways added character breakfast was nice and was always maintained.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Check out time of 11 was ideal rather than alot of the other hotels as we didnt have to rush, especially after breakfast. The only downside was the parking but as it is so close to the sea expensive rates apply. Overall a lovely little hotel

  • N Mitra

  • December 2014

Great value for money and better than we hoped

One of us is vegan and I called the hotel prior to our visit to make sure they could accommodate us.

They bought in Soya milk especially and tried to get a vegan spread, but bought an organic, vegetarian (it had a v) but non-vegan one by mistake. Still we both appreciated their efforts, especially as we were only staying for one night, We were told in the blurb that our standard double room would be 3rd or 4th floor, with no lift, and asked for the 3rd, but were pleasantly surprised to be placed on the 1st floor - 1a, not sure if we were upgraded without realising it. The breakfast lady was very cheery, and we felt that all the staff went out of their way to help us/cater to us. It's a continental breakfast, but considering it's free & you can take as much as you like. It's all great value for money. The room was small but clean, and despite the scaffolding, which we were told about, still had a nice view of the sea. Would definitely stay here again. The d├ęcor was worth seeing.

  • N Madden

  • November 2014

Nice and clean and quite pretty

Lovely location and nice and clean.

The room was small but adequate, with a shared bathroom downstairs. Slightly annoying that the bathroom only had a bath and no shower. Otherwise, I am very happy with my stay

  • Vilma C

  • November 2014

Too many stairs

The room was ok - it was clean.

We left before breakfast time as we needed to be somewhere early. There were no fire instructions in the room. There wasn't a phone so we had to go down 3 flights of stairs to talk to reception (twice).

  • Gary L

  • October 2014

Very basic - not overly impressed

It came as a suprise to me that the toilet was down two flights of stairs and that the shared shower was a bath.

The guy moved me to a room with a shower for one night which was fair but the toilet was a pokey little room a little way along the corridor. Both rooms were very basic and not so clean. One of the duvets had blood stains on it but I only noticed that in the morning before I left. I probably should have said something but I was glad to get out of the place in all honesty. The room was small, hot and the window wouldnt stay open. It's not a cooked breakfast so I skipped that on both nights. The price I thought was expensive for what it was. I wouldn't return to it. The staff were very pleasant.

  • S Davey

  • October 2014

basic but clean

no good for disabled people

  • S grant

  • September 2014

Ok for price

  • William C

  • September 2014

A little more effort would be worthwhile

Cleanliness, or the lack of it, is very important and this place was spotless.

There are no public rooms other than the dining room but the owner has made an effort to hang attractive pictures appropriate to the period of the building. I am a little disabled so appreciated having only one flight of stairs to my room, but the concierge did not offer to carry my two bags. There were the usual minor irritations - no plug in my basin, and no towel in the communal loo. But the position of the hotel is central, in the square adjoining the now burned out West Pier, and the breakfast, like the place, was perfectly acceptable for someone on a very strict budget. You get what you pay for and I did choose this place because it was cheap.

  • Courtney R

  • September 2014

Lovely little b&b staff very friendly, in great location.

Only issue is we was on the top floor and there was only stairs, problem for elderly, unfit or asmatic. Apart from that everything was great.

  • R Williams

  • August 2014

a happy and jolly time away

Good location, helpful and friendly staff.

Breakfast brilliant for what they offered, just a few knives needed to be cleaned a little more.

The room was big, the beds were comfy and hardly any noise came through to the ground floor from other rooms.

Radiators worked perfectly and shower was strong and did the job.

No added tea bags or milk the next day once we had used the initial ones, but not far from a shop to get more milk. 3 women went on this holiday and we had no complaints as it did the job for somewhere to get ready, sleep and have breakfast in the mornings as Brighton had so much to offer during the day.